We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A special meal”

Alexander Restaurant at Padaste Manor
Ranked #1 of 10 Restaurants in Muhu
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$28 - US$112
Cuisines: European, Contemporary, Scandinavian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: View, Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Validated Parking, Waitstaff
hong kong
Level Contributor
86 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“A special meal”
Reviewed 16 July 2014

This is really one of Estonia's best restaurants. The menu options range from seven to five to three course menus, and watch out for the many amuse bouche and palate cleaners offered in between. Produce is locally sourced and dishes created and presented imaginatively, using local references and materials. Breads are to die for!!! High quality and highly recommended. Staff known their food and wines and are attentive and well trained.

Visited July 2014
Thank coffeeglutton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
Rating summary
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
42 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Amazing cuisine in an amazing setting”
Reviewed 14 July 2014

Exquisite farm-to-table cuisine in an absolutely beautiful setting. Top-notch service was attentive without being intrusive. Dinner was a real event, with ample spacing between courses. We did the three-course dinner, which changes every day, but there were so many extra courses/amuse bouche-s that we were stuffed by the end!

Visited July 2014
Thank LadyLawNYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamina, Finland
Level Contributor
88 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Just what we were looking for!”
Reviewed 1 July 2014 via mobile

We were with small children so we booked a separate room at the cellar to dine in, qhich was very beautiful, and we sis not have to stress about the noise..
We got our personal waitress who was pampering us! She got answers to all our questions, and fullfilled our all wishes.
The food was delicious! The menu that was prepared for us, was just perfect.
Will I return? Sure, right after winning in lottery.it is the best restaurant in Estonia, and the price is accirding to that...

Visited June 2014
Thank Katja A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Riga, Riga, Latvia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Not as good as expected”
Reviewed 24 June 2014

Visited yesterday this restaurant. Were hoping to get best service and food. Instead got student waitress who did not know the menu (very poor service in general). Waitress brought bottle of water and simply put on a table, not even bothered to pour to the glasses. Someone spilled souce on the floor close to our table, no one could clean it for 3 hours. Had to wait 2 hours till we got our first order! Was told they had some problems in the kitchen. After 2 hours of wait got lamb medium rare instead of well done, rest of the food tasted weird as well.
I don't know what happened today in this place, but we're definately not going back there. Just it's a pity we've waisted our time travelling from Tallinn to this remote island. Waitress deducted some from our bill because of the long wait and that we've refused to pay for the some of the badly cooked food, but we went there not for this, we went to have a good time, not this kind of nonsence!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Alex P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
63 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Could be much better !”
Reviewed 8 June 2014

First of all the place is lovely but in the middle of nowhere. It took us over an hour to get there from Saarenmaa. We had a three course dinner al fresco in a charming park. Unfortunately the food was only average for Estonia' s best restaurant. First course was gravad fish, too salty and didn't taste fresh at all. For next course we had either fish ( perchpike ) or meat. Tasted both and was very disappointed, fish almost tasteless and the meat chewy , not succulent .
The waitress spoke good English but could have been more friendly and amiable. Now we were almost afraid of her.
With a couple of glasses of wine we paid c. 100 € per person.
So definitely not worth the long drive !

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank UMW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MartinBreuer, Hotelier & Restaurateur at Alexander Restaurant at Padaste Manor, responded to this review, 11 June 2014
Dear UMW, Dear Madam, Sir,

I thank you very much for taking the effort and time to share your feedback!

Our location in pristine surroundings on the shore of the Island of Muhu comfortably tucked away and far from the treaded path of ‘mass tourism’, is actually the very reason why our clients visit us. We cannot change that and are actually proud of it it as it offers a unique experience to our clients.

We very much value feedback from our clients and as you mention we set our standards high. I like to look into your critical remarks about your dining experience at Alexander Restaurant in more detail.
In order to do so, I would need some more information regarding your visit. May I kindly ask you to send me an email with your contact details so that I can contact you directly?
You can reach me at martin.breuer@padaste.ee

With best regards,

Martin Breuer
Hotelier & Restaurateur
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Alexander Restaurant at Padaste Manor also viewed

Muhu, Saare County
Muhu, Saare County

Been to Alexander Restaurant at Padaste Manor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing