We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value Hotel, over-looking st jean de luz. Recommend it.”
Review of Hotel Agur Deneri

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Agur Deneri
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Ciboure
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great value Hotel, over-looking st jean de luz. Recommend it.”
Reviewed 13 July 2011

Stayed for 2 nights in July - 200euros total.
Took the balcony room with jacuzzi, very romantic- see the photo for the great view.

The hotel is a v.good 2*, only the cheaper bedding and lack of 24hr reception holds it back.

We let them know we were arriving at 11pm and they gave us the code for the door and told how to collect our room key. When we arrived, the manager was still there so it wasn't a problem anyway. I only speak basic french, but everything went smoothly.

The car park is tight, but we never had a problem, came back v.late one evening it was full so we parked 20m up the hill - never really an issue.

Breakfast is simple, but ample.

The best thing about the hotel for us was the location: quiet at night, great view over st. J. de L. and we had a car so getting around/sightseeing was never a problem.

Room Tip: Would recommend the sea view with balcony - jacuzzi mandatory :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank teamorange
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

216 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    67
    99
    25
    18
    7
See reviews for
30
158
4
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
climping
Level 6 Contributor
126 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2011

Stayed here after booking up at the last minute based upon minimal options and trip advisor feedback. We booked a garden room with jaccuzzi( unbeknown to us at the time as it was the last available room) and were very much pleasantly surprised. The views of St jean de luz bay were lovely, and whilst a steep walk down from the hotel to the road to the town was involved this was only about 15 minutes in total.
Hotel was very quiet and set back from the main road which does seem very busy and noisy.
The room itself was very clean, spacious and had separate toilet to the main bathroom which in addition to the jacuzzi had all mod cons including integrated music and radio!
If you are looking for a mid priced good quality hotel in this busy town it comes highly recommended. Have to say it beats the business type hotels and we would describe it more of a boutique hotel in terms of charm.
Did not have breakfast so cant comment..

Room Tip: Garden room with jaccuzzi with own entrance and patio area !
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LadesClimping
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Condom, France
1 review
Reviewed 8 October 2010

Hotel could be difficult to find if one had no internet access or, SatNav. Having said that, it is sign-posted. Keeps you fit with quite a few steps to negotiate.
Service very good, friendly and most helpful.
Breakfast excellent
Parking awkward but, not difficult, limited space.
We had two dogs so, took a room below reception, adequate and had a 'jaquzzi' bath and patio. In all, a very pleasant holiday week-end.
One problem for me. could not get onto the WiFi system even though all the staff had a go. Not terminal

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MaturecoupleEXRN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 September 2009

Really lovely alternative to staying right in the center of St. Jean de Luz. 15 minutes walk from this hotel in Ciboure down to St. Jean de Luz town center. We stayed in a small double room on the second floor, facing the harbour (so beautiful views). Other friends in our group stayed in larger rooms with balconies. The owners were very gracious and in addition to the wonderful French breakfast spread of croissants, baguettes, cheeses, hams and jams, the owners also served our group aperos on the terrace in the late afternoon.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FLgirlinLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Cod, Massachusetts
Level 6 Contributor
80 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 October 2008

At the Agur Deneri everything is brand spanking new. Situated high on a hillside overlooking St. Jean-de-Luz, attractive Basque-style architecture, gorgeous views on all sides: sea-side, port-side and garden side. We had a lovely room on an upper floor on the sea-side, left the door to the balcony open (even in mid-October) so we could hear the waves breaking on St. Jean-de-Luz's beautiful crescent beach.

Modern bathrooms with techie showers and/or spa tubs, absolutely squeaky clean. Very good bedding and comfortable bed.

Breakfast ample with usual offerings: croissants, good multi-grain bread, wonderful local dry-cured ham and cheese. There is a terrace for breakfasting outside.

Not exactly handy to swimming, a long walk or a short drive to either of two beaches. We greatly enjoyed a brisk October swim at one of them.

The limited parking is a concern as other reviewers have mentioned, but we had no problem and the proprietors seemed to have some solution for those who arrived late to a full lot.

The staff were all very friendly, but I am not sure how much English is spoken there since we both spoke French.

All in all, a delightful place and we would gladly return.

  • Liked — Views, hospitable atmosphere, 3-star comfort level at 2-star price.
  • Disliked — distance from beach – we knew but decided the compromise was worth it
  • Stayed October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rasha36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ciboure
0.9 mi away
Hotel les Goelands
Hotel les Goelands
#6 of 28 in Saint-Jean-de-Luz
438 reviews
0.4 mi away
Ibis Ciboure St Jean De Luz
0.1 mi away
Hotel La Caravelle
Hotel La Caravelle
#6 of 6 in Ciboure
207 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
La Reserve
La Reserve
#4 of 28 in Saint-Jean-de-Luz
675 reviews
0.7 mi away
Grand Hotel Thalasso & Spa
Grand Hotel Thalasso & Spa
#3 of 28 in Saint-Jean-de-Luz
543 reviews
2.5 mi away
Hotel Arena
Hotel Arena
#9 of 28 in Saint-Jean-de-Luz
251 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Agur Deneri? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Agur Deneri

Property: Hotel Agur Deneri
Address: 14 Impasse Muskoa, 64500 Ciboure, France
Region: France > Nouvelle-Aquitaine > Pyrenees-Atlantiques > Basque Country > Ciboure
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Ciboure
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Agur Deneri 2*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On the Basque coast, bathed in the Atlantic ocean and nested on the side of "la colline de Bordagain" (Bordagain hill), l'hotel Agur Deneri offers an unrivaled view over Saint Jean de Luz bay and the fishing ports. From the high terraces or balconies, you can watch the sea rolling in and out with the tides. The area's charm and serenity compliment each other fantastically. Inspired by their Basque origins, and by the peaceful atmosphere of the surroundings, Veronique and Xalbat have created an atmosphere which positively breathes relaxation, to receive their guests. Since the beginning of this adventure, in 2000, they've put their all into creating this "etxe" just as they wanted it and transforming it into an "etxetoa" Comfortable : Calm and quiet, the sea view, the terraces and the gardens to the south. Convenient : Private parking, close proximity to the beaches, to the nautical centre in Socoa and both Ciboure and Saint Jean de Luz city centres ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Agur Deneri reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing