We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely small hotel, beautiful harbour views from hilltop”
Review of Hotel Agur Deneri

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Agur Deneri
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Ciboure
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 September 2009

Really lovely alternative to staying right in the center of St. Jean de Luz. 15 minutes walk from this hotel in Ciboure down to St. Jean de Luz town center. We stayed in a small double room on the second floor, facing the harbour (so beautiful views). Other friends in our group stayed in larger rooms with balconies. The owners were very gracious and in addition to the wonderful French breakfast spread of croissants, baguettes, cheeses, hams and jams, the owners also served our group aperos on the terrace in the late afternoon.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FLgirlinLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (221)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Agur Deneri
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

24 - 30 of 221 reviews

Reviewed 18 October 2008

At the Agur Deneri everything is brand spanking new. Situated high on a hillside overlooking St. Jean-de-Luz, attractive Basque-style architecture, gorgeous views on all sides: sea-side, port-side and garden side. We had a lovely room on an upper floor on the sea-side, left the door to the balcony open (even in mid-October) so we could hear the waves breaking on St. Jean-de-Luz's beautiful crescent beach.

Modern bathrooms with techie showers and/or spa tubs, absolutely squeaky clean. Very good bedding and comfortable bed.

Breakfast ample with usual offerings: croissants, good multi-grain bread, wonderful local dry-cured ham and cheese. There is a terrace for breakfasting outside.

Not exactly handy to swimming, a long walk or a short drive to either of two beaches. We greatly enjoyed a brisk October swim at one of them.

The limited parking is a concern as other reviewers have mentioned, but we had no problem and the proprietors seemed to have some solution for those who arrived late to a full lot.

The staff were all very friendly, but I am not sure how much English is spoken there since we both spoke French.

All in all, a delightful place and we would gladly return.

  • Stayed: October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rasha36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 weeks ago
Google Translation

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Citotel Hotels
Thank 763carinec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago
Google Translation

Room Tip: Chambre 12 avec balcon et vue sur la baie de St Jean de luz
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank b0unty06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago
Google Translation

Room Tip: Les chambres avec vue directe sur la baie sont sûrement les mieux
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brigit B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Minou R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Citotel Hotels
Thank marie-christine p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ciboure
0.4 mi away
Ibis Ciboure St Jean De Luz
0.9 mi away
Hotel les Goelands
Hotel les Goelands
#6 of 28 in Saint-Jean-de-Luz
448 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel La Caravelle
Hotel La Caravelle
#6 of 6 in Ciboure
213 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
La Reserve
La Reserve
#4 of 28 in Saint-Jean-de-Luz
708 reviews
0.4 mi away
Ibis Budget Ciboure Saint-Jean-de-Luz
0.4 mi away
Hotel Txoko
Hotel Txoko
#5 of 28 in Saint-Jean-de-Luz
130 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Agur Deneri? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Agur Deneri

Address: 14 Impasse Muskoa, 64500 Ciboure, France
Region: France > Nouvelle-Aquitaine > Pyrenees-Atlantiques > Basque Country > Ciboure
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Ciboure
Price Range: £60 - £94 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Agur Deneri 2*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On the Basque coast, bathed in the Atlantic ocean and nested on the side of "la colline de Bordagain" (Bordagain hill), l'hotel Agur Deneri offers an unrivaled view over Saint Jean de Luz bay and the fishing ports. From the high terraces or balconies, you can watch the sea rolling in and out with the tides. The area's charm and serenity compliment each other fantastically. Inspired by their Basque origins, and by the peaceful atmosphere of the surroundings, Veronique and Xalbat have created an atmosphere which positively breathes relaxation, to receive their guests. Since the beginning of this adventure, in 2000, they've put their all into creating this "etxe" just as they wanted it and transforming it into an "etxetoa" Comfortable : Calm and quiet, the sea view, the terraces and the gardens to the south. Convenient : Private parking, close proximity to the beaches, to the nautical centre in Socoa and both Ciboure and Saint Jean de Luz city centres ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Agur Deneri reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing