We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We loved it and will be back”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Chateau de Courtebotte
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 August 2011

It is nice , warmly gjest house with outdoor swimming pool. Dinner in hotel is delicious. It is cheaper than the restaurant . It is not far from Saint Emilion, which is small village we like very much. We, all families , were enjoying our vacation there.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank dalian66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (393)
There are newer reviews for Chateau de Courtebotte
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

192 - 198 of 393 reviews

Reviewed 15 August 2011

We spent 5 days here. All the recent positive reviews of the Chateau under Isabelle and Pascal are entirely correct. The rooms have been very well and tastefully modernised. We stayed in the Capri suite with magnificent views over the Dordogne. We enjoyed relaxing in the pool, or beside it on unusually comfortable loungers.

Excellent leisurely breakfasts were taken on the terrace, with many ingredients - jams, yoghourts, panna cotta - home made by Isabelle. The same goes for her lovely dinners, with some imaginative touches like the foie gras creme brûlée; we ate in twice and enjoyed our hosts' company, and plentiful local wines. Isabelle was also invaluable as a guide, booking a very rewarding visit to a local vineyard, Chateau de Bonhostes, and restaurants and a tour of St Emilion, which greatly added to the relaxation.

We will be back.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nigel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2011

My partner and I stayed here for a night on our road trip through Europe. I was extremely impressed by the loving care that is lavished on this small chateau. Our room was exquisitely appointed, making the most of the original buildings features, while adding modern glamour touches. It is boutique hotel in every way - smart and elegant, yet also personal.

Isabelle and Pascal were fantastic hosts. They take genuine pleasure out of meeting new people and good conversation. We enjoyed an excellent meal, accompanied by some fantastic local wines.

Isabelle also booked a visit to their local wine farm. This was a small, generations-old, family run establishment where we tried local wines we would never dream of getting in any shops in London. The owners were incredibly hospitable, and I expect we will be ordering some more wine from there shortly!

All in all, a thoroughly enjoyable experience - stylish and elegant while still incredibly relaxed. Our only regret is not having booked more nights there! We will definitely be back.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Triplover34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2011

First of all, please don't pay much attention to reviews before 2010. The property changed ownership a year ago and those reviews(2010-2011) reflect much better the experience you may have at the Chateau. We stayed at the pavilion, a very comfortable 2 story guest house Overlooking the Dorgdone. 2 baths, full kitchen, huge living room, murphy bed downstairs and another bedroom upstairs. The new owners did an excellent job with the property. The sorroundings, the decoration, the village, everything was beautiful. But most important of all is that we felt like special guests, as in friends, not as in tourists. Our kids became friends with Margot and Valentin the owners children, and they wanted to stay playing until late (they were jet lagged) while we could have a delicious dinner or share a glass of good wine and adult conversation with Isabelle and Pascal and the other guests. Their hospitality was so exceptional that leaving was more like parting with friends ( my 3 year old still asks to go back to the castle and see Margot). You don't need to go far to have dinner, Isabelle makes the best coquilles that my husband still remembers as one of the best dishes of our 16 days european roadtrip, and Pascal would bring really good french wines to pair up each course. If you want to go out you may walk to the restaurant 3 blocks from there that they recommended, it's very good gourmet french cuisine. Next time (there will be a next time of course) we will stay longer since there is so much to explore in the area and also the chateau is a great place to slow down for a few days.
Thank you Isabelle and Pascal for your amazing hospitality!

  • Stayed: July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gabywilly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2011

This is a small bed and breakfast operation in an old castle. The building is within a large yeard overlooking the Dourdogne river. A very serene and beautifull setting. The location was great for sightseeing in the areas around Bordeaux. Each guest room in the hotel is different, but they are nicely appointed. The couple that runs the hotel speaks good English and are very friendly and helpful. The continental breafast is very good. They offer dinners with advance notice, we would recommend trying one Table d'hote at the hotel, we had two very enjoyable dinners.

Room Tip: Rooms of differnet sizes and prices, even the smaller rooms are rather large.
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Osloboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2011

We stayed in this lovely Chateau only for 1 night and it's definitely one of the best impressions we brought home from France. The place is just outside a very little town not far from Bordeaux and close to Saint Emilion. It is charming itself but also decorated by the present owners with taste and love. Expensive garden furniture and luxirious interior of a fireplace dining room are just great. Guest rooms are very big and with wonderful view. We stayed in vintage room. Bathroom was brand new with big towels everything we needed and a window to the river. I was told that the room will be soon renovated but for the money we paid it for sure exceeded our expectation as is. Many thanks to a very friendly family who treated us as friends and personally to Isabelle. I recomend this place to all romantic people and will do my best to return there with my family !

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Happy_Wife_of_Alex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2011

My wife and I had the great pleasure of spending a long weekend at the Chateau de Courtebotte in early June. Isabelle and Pascal are wonderful hosts (and they speak excellent English). The food, wine and ambience were outstanding. The Chateau was built in the early 1600’s. Pascal and Isabelle have done an amazing restoration keeping the historic feel while adding contemporary touches. The Chateau de Courtebotte is located along the river on the edge of a typical small French village. Well located however for tours of the surrounding wine country and interesting places such as Saint- Emilion. We are happy to give the Chateau de Courtebotte our highest recommendation (and we will definitely be back!).

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bobolan92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saint-Jean-de-Blaignac
7.2 mi away
Chateau Grand Barrail
Chateau Grand Barrail
#1 of 7 in Saint-Emilion
880 reviews
5.7 mi away
Hostellerie de Plaisance
Hostellerie de Plaisance
#2 of 7 in Saint-Emilion
397 reviews
22.2 mi away
Yndohotel
Yndohotel
#1 of 174 in Bordeaux
380 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.2 mi away
Hotel Le Saint-James Relais & Chateaux
9.6 mi away
Petit Garros
Petit Garros
#1 of 2 in Fronsac
242 reviews
2.9 mi away
Chambres d'hotes Saint Emilion Bordeaux: Beau Sejour
Chambres d'hotes Saint Emilion B...
#1 of 3 in Naujan-et-Postiac
537 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chateau de Courtebotte? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chateau de Courtebotte

Address: 1 Lieu Dit Courtebotte, 33420 Saint-Jean-de-Blaignac, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Nouvelle-Aquitaine > Gironde > Saint-Jean-de-Blaignac
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Saint-Jean-de-Blaignac
Price Range: £87 - £167 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Let yourself be won over by the charm of this magnificent Chateau located in Saint Jean de Blaignac in the heart of Bordeaux wine lands. Built during the reign of Henri IV, this estate offers a beautiful view overlooking the Dordogne River. A tranquil haven situated near the vineyards of Saint Emilion, Pomerol, Medoc, Sauternes, Castillon and the Entre-Deux-Mers. Courtebotte Chateau is dated from the XVIIth Century.…Recently renovated, we have kept the authentic architecture, combined with classic and contemporary furniture creating its charm. This property, where we hope our guests will be comfortable and find relaxation both inside and outside the domain. The five spacious rooms differ from one another: each with a unique ambiance and different style. The Pavillon and the loft welcome you and your family or friends for an attractive stay, sharing in the simple pleasures of life. Enjoy your breakfast or diner outside on the terrace, near the swimming pool, in the six hectare landscaped garden; if you prefer in the beautiful dining-room with its grand fire place. The outdoor pool (10X5 meters) is heated from mid-May to end of September. For your comfort, there are sun loungers, small tables and parasols. The open air Jacuzzi is situated in the pool area: maximum 6 people. By law, the pool is safely enclosed. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Chateau de Courtebotte reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing