We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“worth a visit” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Restaurant L'Etoile

Restaurant L'Etoile
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$14 - US$37
Cuisines: French, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Cheap Eats, Bar Scene, Business meetings, Kids, Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Dinner, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“worth a visit”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2014

a very welcoming experience, lovely food and good value for money.We had the menu du jour with soup, starter,main course and dessert with local wine included for 13.50 euros. There was also an a la carte menu with some very interesting choices which we will definitely be back to test. Thank you Michel (french) and Michele (english)

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank betty g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    71
    15
    4
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Norwich, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“a gem among the vineyards of bergerac”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 February 2014

We enjoyed an amazing meal combining fantastic traditional french cooking with a hint of english flavours in this lovely restaurant within easy reach of bergerac. Though a little bit off the beaten track we would recommend this restaurant to anyone looking for authentic french food and exceptional service. We know that we will be returning!

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank jordana b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“warm welcome & good food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 February 2014

Minutes from Bergerac airport with easy access & parking, L'Etoile is easily located opposite the church in the village of Saint-Nexans. A warm welcome awaits & English is spoken if needed. The menu is varied, well cooked & served, & excellent value .The perfect location for airport visitors & Bergerac but well worth seeking out anyway if you are in the area. You will not be disappointed!

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank James C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
michele w, Owner at Restaurant L'Etoile, responded to this review, 16 February 2014
Thank you for your lovely comments. We are really pleased that you enjoyed your visit and we hope to see you again. Merci
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bury St Edmunds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Lovely atmosphere and excellent hosts”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 October 2013

Went with friends and had a lovely meal al fresco.
Attentive service and a good though not too extensive choice on the menu.
Great food, great restaurant, great hosts. Chef came out to see that we were ok. They did a special menu for the kids which they loved.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Tudd53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Very friendly, but food barely acceptable (for this price)”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2013

We really do not understand all the five-star ratings for this restaurant on Tripadvisor. The food is, except from the chips, very mediocre and some of the courses even tasteless (ugly is somewhat too harsh). The desserts were very simple and much too expensive for the quality we got. Some dishes we ordered appeared not to be available anymore, because the kitchen 'run out of ingredients'.
The ambiance was acceptable but simple. Funny little village in the middle of nowhere, rather plain. Nice medieval little chapel across the street. Very friendly and helpfull English lady, but not enough to compensate for the food.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
5 Thank LekkerBekend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Restaurant L'Etoile also viewed

Monbazillac, Bergerac
Bergerac, Dordogne
 

Been to Restaurant L'Etoile? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing