We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The brasserie we've been looking for in a 2 week tour of France”

Brasserie l'Embellie
Ranked #9 of 71 Restaurants in Morlaix
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Business meetings
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“The brasserie we've been looking for in a 2 week tour of France”
Reviewed 20 August 2014

We've heard so much about 'typical' low cost, good quality, excellent value French brasseries and our previous expereinces in our French tour have been very mixed. We've had some very good restaurant meals, but quite pricey. Whenever we'd tried the brasseries previously we felt the food quality wasn't up to much. Maybe we'd been in toursity places that didn't rely on repeat business.

This place was the first that lived up to our expectations. Typically French, excellent food, good value and what's more a lively sense of humour and some menu guidance provided in English. This helped when we were considering the andouillette, which turned out to be tripe sausage. We were told (with a wide beaming smile) this was 'banned' for the English. Clearly a restauranteur who understands English tastes!

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Annie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

155 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    66
    63
    18
    6
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Yeovil, Somerset
Level Contributor
159 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Excellent value, very good food”
Reviewed 7 August 2014

Had a casual lunch here with my wife; all the outside tables were reserved by French patrons, so that seemed like a good sign, although the seats we took inside were a little snug!

Didn't take long before the whole place was full so I judged it as a popular place, and it certainly proved so. Service friendly and efficient, with a good balance of attentiveness whilst still leaving us alone to chat and enjoy the food. Patron was a big friendly man who genuinely seemed interested that we had a good meal.

We had the 'entree et plat' formule for €15 and it was really good. My rognons de veau were a little salty but otherwise the sauce was lovely. My wife's brochette was cooked exactly as she wanted it; the house white wine was most acceptable!

All in all, very pleasant couple of hours in the midst of the locals (who can't be wrong?) and I would definitely go back.

Recommended.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SomersetSpud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Excellent brasserie”
Reviewed 30 July 2014 via mobile

Had a lovely lunch ("formule du midi") for less than 15Euros sat outside in the old square. The desserts are gorgeous. Highly recommended.

Helpful?
Thank Andyinmagny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
427 reviews
263 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 146 helpful votes
“The locals must be right”
Reviewed 29 July 2014

Great food in a great brasserie /restaurant. My hotellier friend always eats here in Morlaix and he is a great judge of cooking being a chef himself. The patron is a great character who often likes a drink with the customers after hours. Food is solid french and well prepared. Service is professional and first class. If in Morlaix having a break from the beach there are loads of places to choose from - this is top of the list in my opinion.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank swpratt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
“Dining Highlight”
Reviewed 2 November 2013 via mobile

We would have been happy to have eaten here every night of our five day break, had we been lucky enough to have found this gem earlier. Good food at realistic prices, served efficiently, with helpful good humour, in a friendly, lively and unpretentios atmosphere. Not to be missed unless you happen to be a food / restaurant snob.

Helpful?
Thank timculmer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Brasserie l'Embellie also viewed

 
Morlaix, Finistere
Morlaix, Finistere
 

Been to Brasserie l'Embellie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing