We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We were very glad to leave this property.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Domaine de Coat Amour
Reviewed 10 August 2011

We stayed in one of the gites within the grounds. We found it a tired and sad cottage. It obviously had not been properly cleaned for some time. The electrics were a worry to me as great emphasis was placed on pulling plugs out of sockets when appliances were not in use. The lights dimmed if the kettle was in use. The house smelt damp and areas of the plaster were crumbling. There was considerable black mould on the shower curtain. There was considerable black mould on the grout within the shower cubicle area. The roof above the bedroom where my children were sleeping was quite bowed. The loft hatch above their beds looked warped and insecure. The main windows within the living room had no curtains. There is a public path that runs beside the house, therefore we would have appreciated the privacy that curtains provide. I would not of dreamt of using the washing machine which was to be found at the back of a dark cupboard hidden behind the cleaning equipment. The washing machine looked antiquated. Miserable, unloved place. When we reminded ourselves of the 1400 euros we had spent on it, it put us right off our croissants.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RachelSur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
staffordMorlaix, Owner at Domaine de Coat Amour, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2011

Following the sudden illness of your father in Scotland and your early departure from Coat Amour after only 3 nights, we hope that things are progressing well at home. We are sorry that you did not have holiday insurance cover to help with the financial aspects of your crisis. As one might imagine, Jenny and I were disappointed to receive your comments, but nonetheless we will examine the gite carefully and see what issues need to be addressed.
We were particularly surprised as we have received a number of super comments this year dating from before and since your brief time here.
11 – 18 June 2011 ~ family P from Kent ~ Lovely gite, lovely place, lovely holiday.
18 – 25 June 2011 ~ family B from Glasgow ~ Thank you for a lovely week walking the coast of Brittany. Gite great – love the gardens with great variety of trees.
16 – 30 July 2011 ~ family R from Essex ~ Super holiday had by all. We can recommend the family beaches of Carantec, Crozon. The labyrinth at the Crozon peninsular was fun. The children enjoyed Huelgoat, Château de Taureau, and the Château de Kerjean. Great gite and well advised by Jenny & Stafford. Thank you.
6 – 13 August 2011 ~ family V d H from Holland ~ We came from the Lot and Garonne and did a lot of sightseeing so the children could not get enough of the badminton, croquet (and ‘Fibi’ the dog!) We loved it here and loved the beaches. Very friendly hosts and fine place.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (58)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

35 - 41 of 58 reviews

Reviewed 13 June 2011

I stayed at the smaller gite, called La Maison du Jardinier, for a week's holiday with my partner and our 7 month old daughter. Overall we enjoyed our stay in Brittany, but didn't really feel that the gite was quite right for us, and was expensive.

Good points - good location, short walk (down a steep hill) to Morlaix, which is a lovely town with a great market on Saturdays. The kitchen is tiny, but well equipped, with views out over the garden. The main house is very pretty and while we were there they had an "open garden" day with lots of visitors. The washing machine wasn't working, and the owners were very apologetic, did a load of washing for us and replaced the machine with a brand new one the following day. The double bed was very comfortable and we slept well (when our baby would let us...). There is no TV or internet access so evenings are quiet and good for a relaxing holiday. Jenny left a lovely vase of fresh roses for us in the living room.

Bad points - generally we didn't feel that it was very good value. We paid 595 euros for the week and had to pay a supplement for our daughter of 50 euros. Cleaning of the gite isn't included and if you're not willing to clean it yourself at the end of your stay, you have to pay 25 euros. We also had to leave a cheque for £200 as deposit, which made us petrified of breaking anything. I'd checked with the owners that it would be suitable for a baby, but it really wasn't (the owner said several other couples with babies had stayed and enjoyed it). We were lent a very old cot, baby bath, and cutlery, but if we hadn't brought our own blanket and quilt our daughter would be playing on a hard wood floor in front of the log burning stove. We were offered a high chair but had brought our own. There is a nice BBQ area and sun loungers provided but on the first day, we realised there were lots of flies, due to quite a lot of dog mess on the grass, so we decided not to eat there.
The living room is very small and dark, as is the bedroom downstairs (which also contains a cupboard with the boiler and washing machine). The main part of the gite is very old (so not for anyone scared of spiders and other creepy crawlies) with a modern glass extension on the side (containing the kitchen and stairs). The bathroom is fairly basic, with no bath but a good shower.
So, in summary - great surroundings and location, gite small and rather expensive. I would only recommend it to other parents if your baby is not yet moving around, and you prefer rustic charm to modern comforts.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Clare L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2011

An over priced B&B that is starting to look a bit shabby. Do not stay here if you would object to a dog constantly rubbing up against your person. Do not stay here if you object to communal dinning, having to be socialable to strangers first thing in the morning is not my idea of a relaxing holiday. When booking you get offered dinner, this is to be avoided, it is severly over priced,you will get no choice of menu, and you will probably be served 1970's duck a l'orange.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JUSTIN15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
staffordMorlaix, Owner at Domaine de Coat Amour, responded to this reviewResponded 15 June 2011

We are very sorry that you did not enjoy your stay with us and mixing with the other guests. The concept of Chambres d’hotes is that guests pay to stay in private houses, eat collectively and where an evening meal is served there is no choice of menu. We aim to provide nutritous home cooking, and where possible, the ingredients come from our garden. The price is all inclusive of aperitifs, nibbles, the meal, wines, and coffee afterwards. On Sunday and Monday nights, at this time of year, it is difficult to find a restaurant open in the town. It is for this reason that we ask guests if they would like to eat in house on those nights. We are not and do not pretend to be an hotel. A recent inspector commented on how well the house and gardens were maintained.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2011

This is the second time in two years that we have stayed at Coat Amour. Three wonderful days/nights over Easter weekend. Jenny and Stafford are marvellous hosts with genuine concern for the total satisfaction of their guests. Coat Amour is within walking distance of the centre of Morlaix yet the park like gardens surrounding the house gives the impression of being in the countryside. My Wife and I are certainly looking forward to our next visit.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank PilgrimsRest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2010

We selected this wonderful "Chambres d'Hote" because of the unanimously favourable reviews on Trip Advisor and it more than lived up to our expectations. The manoir is a delightful old building, sensitively furnished and decorated and Jenny and Stafford Taylor are hosts "par excellence". We stayed for 2 nights to enable us to explore this part of Brittany and will undoubtedly seek an excuse to return just so that we can enjoy staying here again. We were made to feel incredibly welcome from the first phone call I made to check availabilty to the point when we bade farewell to our hosts.The Taylors have done a wonderful job of making this old house a comfortable place to stay and are rightly proud of their achievement. They made us feel more like valued house guests than customers and nothing was too much trouble for them.
On arrival they offered us tea, which we enjoyed sitting with them on the terrace overlooking the beautiful gardens and we finally walked into Morlaix for dinner (to a splendid restaurant recomended by them) after we had been treated by our hosts to glasses of Kir. Jenny even came to fetch us from the restaurant when the hitherto fine weather turned into a serious downpour!
Our room (the General Weygand room) was superb-the bath is almost as large as a small swimming pool-and the four poster bed was very comfortable. Breakfast was ample and varied and served in the dining room where we met and chatted with our fellow guests. I simply canot praise this place too highly. It is certainly not cheap but my wife and I thought it was worth every penny.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank peterwarne3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2010

Our welcome to the Manoir de cote Amour was good,the room fair (not ensuite)and the bed very comfortable.We ate an evening meal which I kindly describe as average,but certainly not worth the 88 euros we paid for it.I don't mind paying a higher than average price for dinner if I think the meal worth the money,but this meal was too expensive for it's quality and content.For example we dined in a Michelin stared restaurant the evening before, in Dinan, for 40 euros each.During the night I had a walk, full of trepidation, to the bathroom,down a flight of stairs, in the dark, as there was no light on the landing,this I feel might have been quite dangerous for an elderly,or partially sighted person.The facilities in the room consisted of a hair dryer,no tea,coffee or water.When charging higher than usual tariff I believe this establishment could have provided a much better service.I could only recommend this hotel to another if perchance they were given a better room than ours and a higher standard of cuisine.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bobbydazzler76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2009

We stayed for one week at one of the gites of the Manoir called La Maison du Jardinier and absolutely loved it. The whole property is exquisite with a large garden and grounds to walk through. The gite was perfect for two and felt like a home, not like a rental. It is exquisitely furnished and decorated, has everything you need and the kitchen has wonderful views over the grounds. Jenny and Stafford are very welcoming hosts and spent time explaining the history of the house. Plus you are close to some fantastic beaches and coastline. We can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank irenetwyning
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Morlaix hotels
1.1 mi away
Hotel du Port
Hotel du Port
#3 of 5 in Morlaix
144 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Restaurant Saint-Melaine
1.4 mi away
Hotel L'Albatros
Hotel L'Albatros
#1 of 5 in Morlaix
190 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Hotel Fontaine
Hotel Fontaine
#5 of 5 in Morlaix
63 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel de L'Europe
Hotel de L'Europe
#2 of 5 in Morlaix
251 reviews
13.5 mi away
No photo provided
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Domaine de Coat Amour? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Domaine de Coat Amour

Address: Route de Paris, 29600 Morlaix, France
Region: France > Brittany > Finistere > Morlaix
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Speciality Lodging in Morlaix
Price Range: £75 - £100 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are the new owner of the Domain of Coat Amour, we are leaving on the manor of the property with our three children. Come and stay at Coat Amour, we have three gites/holiday cottages in the grounds, one for a couple and two for a family of six people. All cottages are rented for a week on self catering mode only. We do not propose anymore bed and breakfasts. Two cottages are on the property of the 12 acre park and the other is a full property in a middle of 5000 m2 with you private swimming pool. Enjoy these wonderful properties, there swimming pools, park and proximity to the coast an the magnify coast between Roscoff and Locquirec, countryside and Morlaix, make Coat Amour a perfect base for a holiday in Brittany. Elisabeth and Franck look forward to welcoming you to the domain of Coat Amour. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Domaine de Coat Amour reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Domaine De Coat Amour Morlaix, Europe - France

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing