We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“You will want to go back to this place again and again”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Domaine de Coat Amour
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“You will want to go back to this place again and again”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2014 via mobile

What a fantastic place this is. A wonderfully restorated house with beautiful rooms, most tastefully decorated. When you enter this house, it feels like stepping back into the times of Jane Austen. The house is comfortable, welcoming and the hosts make you feel as if you are a very special guest. Modern facilities like the really good bathrooms and kingsize beds are there and of course the swimming pool is modern too. But they are all very nicely and discretely blended into the the tasteful surroundings. When can we go back?

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Gerbrand B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
staffordMorlaix, Owner at Domaine de Coat Amour, responded to this review, 10 August 2014
Thank you so much for the lovely things that you have said about your stay at Coat Amour. We are really pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us ~ do come again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    47
    4
    3
    3
    0
See reviews for
15
29
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Cornwall
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2014

An excellent place to stay, conveniently situated next to the velodyssey cycling route. Stafford and Jenny made us welcome even if we were togged out in cycling kit, they let us use the hose to clean off our bikes, asked if we had anything that needed washing drying or fixing and provided locked storage for our bikes. The house is to die for, worth every penny of the cost, breakfast excellent, the first croissants we had been served in 10 days. Would definitely go back again, a great place for a special weekend.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bodminmoor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
staffordMorlaix, Owner at Domaine de Coat Amour, responded to this review, 3 June 2014
How very kind to say such lovely things about your visit to Coat Amour. We enjoyed having you to stay very much, particularly the little soiree in the sunshine and a glass of wine. We hope to see you again sometime.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pennington, NJ
Level Contributor
347 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 May 2014 via mobile

We arrived here very late after a very long drive along the cote de granit rose (well worth it) and Stafford and Jenny were on the terrace, sipping some wine after a hard day in the garden (I am imagining this, yes?). They gave us such a warm welcome and a bit of wine (we must have looked so desperate!) and generally treated us as guests in their home - which is their philosophy. Such a pleasure. The room was large and the shower was superbly modern. The gardens are lovely and their were fresh flowers in our room and at our breakfast table. Breakfast was continental- bread, yogurt, croissants and confitures made by Jenny! We tried mulberry jelly which we had never tasted before and really enjoyed it. (Actually we tried some of each of them -only a bit, mind you- because they were so good.)

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Altonmann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
staffordMorlaix, Owner at Domaine de Coat Amour, responded to this review, 24 May 2014
How kind of you to write such a lovely report! We did enjoy having you both to stay with us and only wish that you could have stayed longer and talked some more about New York and some of the other fabulous places that you have visited. 10/10 for being such excellent guests. S & J
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exeter, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2013

I spent a great night at with my daughter at Manoir de Coat Amour last week, August 2013, we wished we could have stayed longer. Stafford and Jenny were wonderful hosts they were both warm and welcoming, on arrival they greeted us as old friends, we enjoyed the early sun and a bottle of wine in the garden whilst we chatted about Brittany & Devon.
Stafford booked us a table at a local restaurant and gave us tips on places to see in Brittany, and on leaving the next day provided us with maps and comprehensive directions. We had a lovely breakfast in the dining room served with silver cutlery, cut glass, linen napkins and fresh flowers.
The house and grounds are beautiful...Jenny and Stafford clearly work very hard creating a lovely home which they share generously with their guests, they made our stay extremely comfortable. We booked very late and stayed on the top floor in a very comfortable twin room, with ensuite bathroom, there was also a double room on this floor which would make a great family suite.
In order to get a feel for this wonderful place, watch a video by clicking on the YouTube link in Coat Amour's website: www.gites-morlaix.com....it gives a very true reflection of Jenny and Stafford and Manoir de Coat Amour.
I would would have no hesitation recommending and have started planning our return trip.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Geraldine B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Totnes
Level Contributor
54 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2013

Stafford and Jenny do the maison d'hotes experience to perfection. Wonderful house inside and out, lovely rooms, beautiful gardens and lawns (Stafford likes a nice lawn!) and they have the perfect light touch when it comes to being the ideal hosts. Breakfast is to die for with an assortment of fresh French bread and Jenny's jams which are legendary, try the peach and amaretto, heaven!

The manoir is just a mile outside the centre of Morlaix but feels like the countryside and just a half hour from Roscoff and the ferry. This is a fusion of British and French civilisation at it's absolute best.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, PA
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2013

My wife Robyn and I had a truly wonderful experience at Manoir de Coat Amour with our friend Jana during the last week of May, 2013. Owners, Stafford and Jenny Taylor, have beautifully reconstructed the old manor house, chapel, and two comfortable, elegant, independent cottages on 12 acres of beautifully manicured grounds - with flowering bushes, trees, gardens, etc. We stayed in the larger of the two cottages and couldn't have been more comfortable. The modern kitchen allowed us to prepare our own sumptuous meals every day.

On the edge of beautiful, historic Morlaix, a relaxed and relatively tourist-free town, Coat Amour is within walking distance of shops, markets, restaurants, etc. This lovely base of operations is perfect for exploring the many gems of Brittany such as the old city of Quimper and unforgettable villages along the shore. The fast and efficient TGV train connects easily to the Gare Montparnasse in Paris, with rental cars available across the street from the Morlaix train station.

In order to get a feel for this wonderful place, please watch a video by clicking on the YouTube link in Coat Amour's website: www.gites-morlaix.com

Manoir the Coat Amour is the labor of love of Stafford and Jenny. They are a warm and hospitable couple, very helpful with the French system, and committed to quality with an exceptional attention to detail. They both speak excellent French and, for English-only speaking guests, they are a great bonus. We visit France yearly, and can honestly say this was perhaps the best experience we've had in such beautiful, luxurious lodgings. It felt like a fairy-tale. Vive Coat Amour!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Echev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
staffordMorlaix, Owner at Domaine de Coat Amour, responded to this review, 14 August 2013
Oh wow, you have said some lovely things about us and Coat Amour. Jenny and I were so pleased that you enjoyed your stay here and appreciated all of the things that we try to do for our guests. As for volunteering to be film extras, that was very special and much appreciated by us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
75 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2013

My partner and I spent a relaxing week here, staying in one of the two gites. We also for a single night had a room (gorgeous, with a great bathroom) inside the main house.

The house itself is externally stunning, while inside it's pleasant and a little more modest. There are very attractive grounds - including a communal swimming pool. Everything feels well maintained, and the owners (British) are efficient, friendly and helpful but also not intrusive.

The gite we stayed in - the smaller of the two - was well equipped and comfortable, as well as being pretty cool even in hot July weather. Among the highlights for us was being able to sit out in our own secluded area barbecuing and drinking wine until darkness fell around 10.30.

Morlaix is a good base for exploring the western end of Brittany. The Maison de Coat Amour is about 15 minutes' walk from the centre of town, and we mainly had barbecues rather than going to restaurants, but there are some good places to eat in town.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank smoothtalk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
staffordMorlaix, Owner at Domaine de Coat Amour, responded to this review, 14 August 2013
Thank you for your kind words, Jenny and I so liked having you to stay, you were lovely guests. Knowing that you appreciated the cottage, our B&B room General Maxime Weygand, and the area is very encouraging. Naturally we think Morlaix is a fabulous base to explore the whole of Finistere and the Pink Granite coast!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Morlaix
0.7 mi away
Hotel de L'Europe
Hotel de L'Europe
#1 of 6 in Morlaix
4.0 of 5 bubbles 223 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Restaurant Saint-Melaine
1.4 mi away
L'Albatros
L'Albatros
#2 of 6 in Morlaix
4.0 of 5 bubbles 140 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Hotel du Port
Hotel du Port
#4 of 6 in Morlaix
4.0 of 5 bubbles 118 reviews
1.4 mi away
Cozy Hotel
Cozy Hotel
#1 of 1 in Plouigneau
4.0 of 5 bubbles 86 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Fontaine
Hotel Fontaine
#5 of 6 in Morlaix
4.5 of 5 bubbles 51 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Domaine de Coat Amour? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Domaine de Coat Amour

Property: Domaine de Coat Amour
Address: Route de Paris, 29600 Morlaix, France
Region: France > Brittany > Finistere > Morlaix
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Speciality Lodging in Morlaix
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are the new owner of the Domain of Coat Amour, we are leaving on the manor of the property with our three children. Come and stay at Coat Amour, we have three gites/holiday cottages in the grounds, one for a couple and two for a family of six people. All cottages are rented for a week on self catering mode only. We do not propose anymore bed and breakfasts. Two cottages are on the property of the 12 acre park and the other is a full property in a middle of 5000 m2 with you private swimming pool. Enjoy these wonderful properties, there swimming pools, park and proximity to the coast an the magnify coast between Roscoff and Locquirec, countryside and Morlaix, make Coat Amour a perfect base for a holiday in Brittany. Elisabeth and Franck look forward to welcoming you to the domain of Coat Amour. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Domaine de Coat Amour reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Domaine De Coat Amour Morlaix, Europe - France

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing