We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent food, lovely room”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hostellerie des 3 Pigeons
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Paray Le Monial
Certificate of Excellence
Campbell Town, Australia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Excellent food, lovely room”
Reviewed 17 July 2013

Stayed with friends and enjoyed our 4 days immensely, breakfast, lunch and dinner all just fantastic. Very high quality food and a lovely run hotel. Very friendly staff who did their best to assist with every request. Very central to shopping and all the monuments. Would recommend.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

114 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    41
    55
    15
    2
    1
See reviews for
24
55
2
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Dublin
Level Contributor
41 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2013

Just returned from 1 week in this lovely Hotel. Very comfortable and well run Hotel.
We were a large group and were very well looked after. Breakfast is wonderful and
Madame offers great variety and quality.
Centrally located with a nice little courtyard garden.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Diti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trenton, New Jersey
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 November 2012

This review does not address lodging here, or the food served in the new brasserie in addition to the restaurant. I'll review, here, the restaurant.

My title sums up my feels about this place, and I've eaten here at least ten times over the years. It's old-fashioned Burgundy from room decoration, to table settings, to service, to food. And it couldn't be more comforting -- especially on a drizzly early winter day, as today (November 6, 2012).

The family who runs the place is friendly, welcoming, and very charming conversationalists.

But for me, the real charm of the place is its excellent food accented to the local ingredients. Today for starters they featured a home made venison terrine ("game" is the theme in these places, in this time of the year), flavored with cognac, which was great. (Actually there were several choices, and this is what I took). For the main I had roast pintade (guinea hen), with a pepper sauce, which was juicy and perfect. And then ... guess what?

TROLLEYS! Yes, trolleys of cheese, and then desserts.

The wine list is good, and today we had a nice bottle of Macon Fuissé from the Domaine Daniel Pollier which was really appealing.

The prices in the restaurant are very reasonable and you really get your money's worth. I highly recommend it.

After lunch, you can walk over to the beautiful cathedral and try to imagine what Cluny was like, when the greatest church in Christendom was still standing. Such a beautiful town, Paray-le-Monial, and it just gets spiffier and spiffier.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank swr1951
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dijon, France
Level Contributor
88 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2012

The room was nicely decorated, a bit small but comfortable.There is a small hall to the toilets and bathroom so you're away from the corridor and lift noises.I have been really impressed by the attention everyone bears to customers.Typical French hotel for a very good price/quality ratio.The restaurant serves reasonable meals,the wine list was disappointing with no wines from the Macon region which is so close

Room Tip: A big public car park is just round the corner from the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank burgundian9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chalon-sur-Saone, France
Level Contributor
37 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2012

Have been eating in the restaurant approx. 6 times a year for the last 7 years with friends when they visit France. Great seasonal menus, service and a warm welcome each time. Tried other places in Paray but always return to the pigeons.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bressane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
52 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2012 via mobile

Wished I could be equally positive about the room. Our family of 4 stayed in a family room "chambre familial" which had 2 double beds. Nothing serious to be faulted except the furniture, carpet, lights were tired looking. The bathroom was the best because the water in the shower was hot and adequately strong. Maybe expecting too much as this is a small town in the provinces. The rate also reflects this correspondingly - EUR 71 for one night's accommodation for 4. If you don't stay here, come for the meals. There were 4 different kinds of chocolate cakes on the TWO dessert trolleys and I dare say 25 different types of cheese on the cheese trolley. The owners and servers are very nice and "sympa" and we enjoyed the charming courtyard dining very much.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank leevidaga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lyon
Level Contributor
146 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2012

This is a 2-star hotel, so no obligation to have an elevator, and indeed there isn't one, which is good to know when you're about to negotiate heavy luggage through a narrow and rather steep staircase. The room itself was rather a suite, as the more than adequate bedroom was preceded by a kind of anteroom with storage, a couch, a table, etc (with a kettle and an assortment of tisanes). All quite nicely appointed and very spacious, no complaints there. Bedding was good and the whole place was spotless.

However, the bathroom was more than beginning to show its age, and there were bad smells which an open window did not manage to chase away (some quirk in the city's sewer system, I was told...). Using the bathroom for any kind of business was therefore not a very pleasant affair.

I was also not able to connect to the internet, even though my room was on the first floor: the signal broadcast by the hotel's wifi router was too weak. I had to go down into the old fashioned tiled lobby to get my daily dose of the stuff. Oh, and don't forget the ear plugs, as the rooms directly overlook a very narrow little street.

Overall, for the price (a little over 60 euros), this hotel is a good deal but it would be so easy to make it a lot better that I feel compelled to encourage the management to fix the bathroom smells and to get a better wifi system. The bathroom also needed newer fixtures. Then, this hotel will really be excellent.

The lady at Reception was very kind and helpful --and knowledgeable, which is also to be mentioned.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Blue_439
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Paray Le Monial
1.1 mi away
Comfort Hotel Paray Le Monial
Comfort Hotel Paray Le Monial
#1 of 7 in Paray Le Monial
4.5 of 5 bubbles 125 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Restaurant de La Basilique
Hotel Restaurant de La Basilique
#3 of 7 in Paray Le Monial
4.0 of 5 bubbles 90 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Terminus
Hotel Terminus
#5 of 7 in Paray Le Monial
4.0 of 5 bubbles 26 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
B&B Hotel Paray le Monial
B&B Hotel Paray le Monial
#4 of 7 in Paray Le Monial
3.5 of 5 bubbles 17 reviews
6.7 mi away
Hotel-Restaurant Le Relais du Canalou
6.0 mi away
Hotel Restaurant Le Merle blanc
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostellerie des 3 Pigeons? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostellerie des 3 Pigeons

Property: Hostellerie des 3 Pigeons
Address: 2 rue Dargaud, 71600 Paray Le Monial, France
Region: France > Bourgogne-Franche-Comte > Saone-et-Loire > Paray Le Monial
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Paray Le Monial
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hostellerie des 3 Pigeons 3*
Number of rooms: 44
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotel.de, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Priceline, Evoline ltd, HRS, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hostellerie des 3 Pigeons reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing