We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Above excellence”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
La Tour du Tresorier
Ranked #1 of 9 Tournus B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 October 2013

We have been staying here a few times now on our way down to the south of France and back to UK it's about half way ! We now call it home from home Sophie and Thierry are the most lovely warm and friendly hosts ever. The house and bedrooms are fantastic the setting so picturesque the house is full of history but is warm and cosy in winter with a log fire it's also lovely sitting on the terrace for breakfast in the summer looking at the river ! The breakfast is simply delicious, Sophie makes the best fruit preserves.
The rooms are all individually decorated by a very clever mix of old and new all so lovely and homely .....
Writing this I am quite keen not to tell more people about our beautiful find but I can see we are not the only people who have fallen in love with it and are giving a 10 out of 10 !
We have been luckily enough to stay in some very beautiful hotels all over the world but La Tour Du Tresorier will always take some beating.
The town has three one star Michelin restaurants so you can eat like a king and sleep like a baby !! It doesn't get better than that !
Thank you to Sophie and Thierry for giving us a wonderful experience we will be back time and time again ! Kit and Shireen

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nailsworthshammy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (259)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

71 - 77 of 259 reviews

Reviewed 27 September 2013

Stayed as a couple in L'atelier room in September.
Advantages:
- Service was very professional and attentive but also warm and welcoming. Sophie really tried to understand what we like and give it to us with explanations and offers about what we can do in Tournus and Burgundy.
- The house and garden - very impressive and unique. It's very very nice to sit in this garden!
- The room - located in the garden but you do feel you have privacy though because the room has curtains and it's located at the end of the garden. It's very very beautiful, comfortable and well equipped room.
- The shower - yes, I write it as a separated section because it was a huge room, with many shelves (comfortable), big rain shower and hitting in the room. Even had l'occitane in the shower which was a nice touch.
- Breakfast - Good croissants and brioche, excellent cheeses, home made jams! It's so so nice to eat breakfast in the garden with the lovely view.

Disadvantages:
None (would add a body mirror though).

Bottom line:
Really really recommend this place in every way (and I'm a picky one). Excellent!

Room Tip: L'atelier room was good
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank O L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2013

A lovely, lovely house with a correspondingly warm and friendly welcome. I have only 2 regrets. The first is that we only stayed 1 night and that I didn't know that, if you request in advance, it is possible to have dinner in the house if enough of your fellow guests are also interested. On the basis of everything else in the house I know that dinner would have been a treat.

Breakfast was delightful - wonderful jams and delicious coffee.

The only small caveat I have is that the large and comfortable garden rooms which have lovely views through enormous windows also have no screens or nets curtains over the windows. This means that privacy is a bit difficult unless you pull the full curtains which makes things a bit dark.
However this will not stop me staying here next year but then I will saty for 2 nights and order dinner.

PS - the cat is a bit aloof but perfectly civil; the dog is a sweetheart!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sundayman2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2013

We arrived to a warm welcome from Sophie. We stayed for three nights in the Saone Suite, which was outstanding. The property is built into the old medieval abbey walls. The history is so interesting. We would sit on the terrace located at the back on the building for pre dinner drinks from the most wonderful array of wines. We would also have breakfast on the same terrace, breakfast was a delight. The welcome we received was wonderful, we were fortunate to meet and share some of the wine on offer with other guests and the wonderful Sophie. Great place to stay. Would return.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BrianCarole H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2013

As my father recommended La Tour we did not check it on trip advisor, which we usually do, and I am delighted its at the top of the Tournus ists, it deserves to be here. La Tour has stunning views from the terrace where you can have a pre dinner drink (from a great selection) or breakfast, which is simply delicious. The room we stayed in was large, clean, modern yet was part of the old barn so is in fact old. Sophie helped us by booking two great restaurants to eat in, reserving our bikes and generally maximize our stay. Honestly this place could not get any better, when you stay in a great hotel you sometimes say " it's like being at home" we'll La Tour is far better than home.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Harryhutch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2013

The bedroom in the tower was absolutely amazing. Each morning breakfast was served the terrace with homemade unique jams such as melon, quince and rhubarb. Being able to order wine from their private cellar made it even better! Make sure to try the Michelin starred restaurant Aux Terraces while you are in town.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank abremf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2013

We stayed 2 nights in April and unfortunately the weather was dreadful. Despite that Sophie ensured we had a warm welcome, coming out to the car to help us and having set the heaters on in advance. She was charming and happy to tell us about the property and its history. We stayed in L'Atelier in the grounds which was a lovely modern room and would have been fantastic had the sun shone and we could have made use of the private terrace outside. There is plenty of choice for eating in the village but I regret not having booked to have dinner with them one evening as I am in no doubt that it would have been wonderful food in great company. Excellent place to stay when driving with secure parking in the grounds.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CandStu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tournus
0.0 mi away
Hotel de Greuze
Hotel de Greuze
#2 of 12 in Tournus
127 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Aux Terrasses
Hotel Aux Terrasses
#3 of 12 in Tournus
157 reviews
0.1 mi away
Le Rempart
Le Rempart
#6 of 12 in Tournus
220 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Le Saint Philibert
Le Saint Philibert
#10 of 12 in Tournus
48 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Le Kolibri
Hotel Le Kolibri
#1 of 12 in Tournus
189 reviews
15.3 mi away
Hotel Le Saint-Georges
Hotel Le Saint-Georges
#1 of 17 in Chalon-sur-Saone
544 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Tour du Tresorier? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Tour du Tresorier

Address: 9 Place de l Abbaye, 71700, Tournus, France
Region: France > Bourgogne-Franche-Comte > Saone-et-Loire > Tournus
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Tournus
Price Range: £143 - £162 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This historical mansion built in the walls of Saint Philibert Abbey from the 10th and 17th centuries proposes four guestrooms from which to choose. All rooms restored with great care and attention have their own particular charm and are very comfortable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your La Tour du Tresorier reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing