We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Aux Terrasses
Nearby Hotels
US$207
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$94
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$86
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$80
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$73
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
La Montagne de Brancion(Martailly-les-Brancion)
US$147
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$86
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$82
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Le Rempart(Tournus)
US$153
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$146
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$86
Booking.com
View Deal
Hotel Le Kolibri(Tournus)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Le Terminus(Tournus)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (169)
Filter reviews
169 results
Traveller rating
87
59
19
1
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
87
59
19
1
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewspourquoi pasone star michelin restaurantgreat restaurantother hotelswell worth a visitwineeurosstopovertownsupermarketcheeseautoroutefrance
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
29 - 34 of 169 reviews
Reviewed 23 January 2013

Comfortable hotel just off the autoroute and very convenient for those of us who travel UK to/from Med several times a year. The hotel has been totally refurbished since our last stay. Restaurant has bee extended - neede because there have been times we found it full. It remains an excellent meal but wine prices have risen perhaps to pay for improvements. Only drawback to hotel is proximity to N6 which is noisy especially in rooms backing onto parking (and road).

Room Tip: If you are a light sleeper choose rooms without windows to car park and N6
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pierre83120
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2012

We stayed here enroute to the south on the recommendation of previous Tripadvisor comments, and were so pleased we did. The hotel is just on the outskirts of the town, not a particularly attractive area but as we planned to eat in the hotel the location was fairly unimportant. The room we had was on the first floor, we were offered a second floor room but as we had a fair bit of luggage and there is no lift, the first floor was a better option.

The room was large and very comfortable. It was no way luxurious (neither was the room price at €84), however it was spotlessly clean with a very comfortable bed, great quality bed linen and a good bathroom - again with quality towels. We sleep with our windows open and as a result did suffer from traffic noise, however shutting the windows would have solved this issue.

We ate in the hotel restaurant that night having booked a table prior to arrival. Wow! Fabulous meal in lovely surroundings with attentive but unobtrusive staff. The set menu prices started at €35 and €48 which we felt to represent truly excellent value considering what you got for your money.

Private parking is available alongside the hotel but if you prefer not to pay €7 then presumably you could easily park in the supermarket car park in front of the hotel.

All in all would most definitely return to the hotel, and would love to eat in the restaurant again. Great value for money and both and hotel and restaurant strongly recommended

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JanBristol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2012

I'd score this a 3.5 if I could. Have rounded it down eventually because of location.

Essentially I like this hotel - very helpful and pleasant staff, great food (though pricey), a good amount of character and quaintsy Frenchness about it, clear investment in things like the car park and new rooms, pleasant patio area to have pre-dinner drinkies.

Negatives - small & pretty tired-looking rooms, breakfast is all crammed into a small corner table so everyone gets in each other's way. As above, the location tipped it for me as it directly faces a supermarket and adjoining car park so the view is not frankly that appealing, which just took the edge off things for me.

However, could easily be a solid 4 with a few fairly minor changes.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Peter G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2012

Tournus has many hotels as it is just off the main north/south motorway and an excellent stopover. There are also some very good and well-known restaurants. We have stayed in two other hotels in this town and wanted to try Aux Terrasses this time.

Our renovated room had lovely colourful covers and curtains but way too much furniture for its size. The beds did not feel new and were not comfortable. We felt claustrophobic and had to move around the extra bed (there were three) - two chairs, table, desk, two side tables - gingerly to go to the loo or to get our clothes out of the cupboard etc. The bathroom was still the old-style French hotel bathroom - with very little room to manoeuvre. If you are a tall person, this room (14) is not for you. The double or triple glazing of the windows keeps out the road noise very well but you can hear other residents through the doors.

Our main reason for choosing this hotel was to sample the cuisine. There are two dining rooms and a terrace outside to have your drinks before dinner. The place was packed and we realized that to turn up on a Friday night in July when the schools were just out for the summer holidays was insanity. We enjoyed our meal but feel that we must return in October or November to get the real sense of what the chef can provide. However, we would not stay in the hotel again. Having said that the people were charming and the parking in an enclosed courtyard perfectly acceptable. The price for the room was exceptionally reasonable. I just think we need bigger!

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank casden8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2012

We have been staying at this hotel for several years and it continues to be so good. Run by Mother and her son with his wife this Hotel is small but growing as they are having 8 more bedrooms added.
One should book in advance as it gets very busy. Safe parking for your car. Madame Henriette is very welcoming as is her daughter in-law. Michel the son is a wonderful Chef and the food is very good and interesting, not cheap. Wine list is extensive.

Room Tip: There are stairs so one can request a room on the first floor.
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank margendy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews