We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I don't want to pay 4 euros for a small beer!!!!”
Review of Le Rempart

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Le Rempart
Ranked #6 of 12 Hotels in Tournus
OSWESTRY
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“I don't want to pay 4 euros for a small beer!!!!”
Reviewed 8 July 2010

We stayed in this hotel because of good location off the motorway. The rooms are nice and clean but lack character. We paid 145 euros for our room - only to find this did not include breakfast at 16 euros extra each!!! After a hard days driving my first priority was a few beers in the bar - found the prices an absolute joke, 4 euros for a 25ml glass of beer - NO
I hate people taking the p**** with prices like that so it really put me off the place. There is nothing wrong with Tournus town but it is not a tourist hotspot so I don't know why the hotel thinks people are stupid enough to pay inflated prices like they charge. We went into the town square had had a fabulous meal for 10 euros each with glasses of Macon blanc for 1.50 euros.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JOandSI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

213 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    69
    93
    37
    8
    6
See reviews for
42
128
3
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Marlborough, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
151 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2010

We spent two nights at this four star town centre hotel. The hotel burnt down in 2005 and has been completely rebuilt, much in the original style. The result is a very comfortable hotel with modern amenities such as air conditioning. We were fortunate to have a suite which overlooked part of the Abbey. Although centrally located the hotel was quiet. There is a free open air car park for the hotel over the road, although the road can be quite busy so access can be tricky.

We took the half board option. Both service and food were good. However as we were there for two nights we would have hoped for a different menu on the 2nd night as there were only two choices for each dish. The quality, however, was good and the restaurant ambiance pleasant.

One of the best things about the hotel was the breakfast where cooked eggs were offered, which is unusual in many French hotels. There was also an excellent buffet breakfast on offer.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ashnick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 September 2009

Another overnight stop on a road trip through France. Perefctly nice hotel - very large bedroom, good bathroom, but everything about it says that it's trying to be a 4* luxury hotel and it's not quite getting there. Ate in the bistro on the covered terrasse - food was ok, but again trying to hard. Stir fry of calamar had no calamar but lots of sauce and veg, cheese course was mean (small) and stale (I'm fine with smelly over-ripe cheese, but dried up camembert is not OK). Glad we did not go for the restaurant Gastronomique, as I suspect we would have paid 3 times as much for similarly underwhelming food...

Interesting to note that I paid €135 for a room here, and the next night €130 for a room in the fabulous Chateau d'Etoges - Le Rempart could learn a thing of two from their peers in Etoges.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Caroline_Taylor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buckingham, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
131 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2009

While Le Rempart did not match Hotel d'Angleterre in Chalons-en-Champagne (see that review), it certainly did not disappoint.

Apart from the immediate area around the 10th century abbey, Tournus really does not have great deal to commend it. However, if you find yourself in that area, this is certainly a good place to stay, with an excellent restaurant and wine list, and at least more than adequately comfortable.

To locate this hotel, find the abbey - difficult not to! - and you'll find the hotel a couple of streets away, parrallel to and further away from the Saone. Avenue Gambetta is actually the main drag that also runs past the station, which is about 3 minutes walk away.

The rooms are more than adfequate without being luxurious, and both the a/c and double-glazing worked, which is always a good start when the hotel fronts onto a main road!

The hotel has its own garage, though with limited space - we only had bicycles to park, so that wasn't difficult - but there is a large car park immediately opposite.

Apart from the main restaurant, there is also a brasserie, with a somewhat limited menu, but it is very prettily located in a semi-covered courtyard in the back part of the hotel.

The food here was very good indeed, though certainly shaded by Hotel d'Angleterre (see above + review), and as son often if France, the wines were of high quality with a respectable mark-up.

We very much liked the fact that the main restaurant, though "serious", had no problems at all in coping with some young children who were "attached" to a couple of families - but then European parents generally bring up their children to eat in restaurants and behave at least acceptably

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank veloiste
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2009

We stayed here for an overnight stop on the way to Northern Italy having driven from Calais. The hotel is very good. The rooms looked recently decorated and we had a very large bathroom, which also looked recently refurbished.
We paid extra to park in the garage although we found when we got there that the hotel has a huge car park opposite, so that may not have been necessary.
We ate in the Bistro in the evening rather than the formal restaurant and had a very good meal.
Tournus is a very pleasant town to wander round so this made a good start to our holiday.
This was a very good stopping off point and we would definitely use it again.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank IntrepidPenguin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NE England
Level 6 Contributor
407 reviews
99 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 158 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 November 2008

I have not stayed in this hotel, but had lunch there one day when travelling back to the UK. We only wanted a light lunch, so ate in the bistro. The surroundings were comfortable. The food, wine and service were good.

Its position on the Route Nationale and proximity to the autoroute is very convenient for travellers looking for a quiet, pleasant interlude in their journey.

Stayed November 2008
Helpful?
1 Thank travellerNEEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level 6 Contributor
172 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 September 2008

Got this hotel as an alternative to the Terminus hotel which was full. More than we wanted to pay but we definitely got what we paid for. Staff were very helpful and charming, the room was beautiful, bathroom immaculate and food at the hotels restaurant was of an extremely high standard. The breakfast was relatively disappointing but then again most hotels are. Leaving we felt pampered and refreshed would definitely stay here again!

  • Liked — The crisp high quality sheets and the comfort of the bed!
  • Disliked — archaic arrangements for internet access, expensive and complicated at this level should be free.
  • Stayed June 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank milktray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tournus hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel Aux Terrasses
Hotel Aux Terrasses
#3 of 12 in Tournus
146 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel de Greuze
Hotel de Greuze
#4 of 12 in Tournus
115 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel - Restaurant de la Paix
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Le Saint Philibert
Le Saint Philibert
#10 of 12 in Tournus
46 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Le Kolibri
Hotel Le Kolibri
#1 of 12 in Tournus
177 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel la Mirandole
Hotel la Mirandole
#8 of 12 in Tournus
51 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Rempart? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Rempart

Property: Le Rempart
Address: Entree 2 2 avenue Gambetta, 71700, Tournus, France
Region: France > Bourgogne-Franche-Comte > Saone-et-Loire > Tournus
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 12 Hotels in Tournus
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Le Rempart 4*
Number of rooms: 33
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, 5viajes2012 S.L., Agoda, TripOnline SA and HRS so you can book your Le Rempart reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Rempart Tournus

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing