We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Most comfortable beds in France!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel de Greuze

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel de Greuze
Ranked #3 of 12 Hotels in Tournus
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Most comfortable beds in France!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2012

We stayed here in July on our way to Cannes. The hotel was recommended by a friend. It is located near the motorway and ideal for splitting the 800 mile journey from Calais to the south coast. It is quiet although situated in the town, next door to the Abbey and a short walk to the shops and the river. The windows are double-glazed and the bells do not ring at night. Our room overlooked the Abbey but we were not disturbed. The room itself was a reasonable size and spotlessly clean. The bathroom was a bit small but very well-equipped. The bed was so comfortable that when we arrived in Cannes, we immediately booked the hotel again for our return journey and were not disappointed. We stayed in a different room but it was just as nice as the first. The staff were unfailingly charming and helpful. We are planning to return for a longer stay as Tournus is a destination in itself.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DrGran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChristianBELLET, Owner at Hotel de Greuze, responded to this review, 11 January 2014
Mister Dr GRAN, we thank you for having taken time to express this comment. We always have pleasure to welcome you in our beautiful Burgundy. Looking forward to seeing you again.We wish all the best to you. Best regards, Mr BELLET
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

109 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    56
    40
    8
    2
    3
See reviews for
11
71
8
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wisconsin
Level Contributor
28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2012

I stayed here with a tour group and loved every minute of it. The staff was helpful and courteous, the room beautiful, and the view of the church from our window was breathtaking. (We left our window open so we could look out at it with the lights on most of the night - and it was quiet enough that we could do that comfortably. The street side has a beautiful walled courtyard between the hotel and the street so I expect rooms on that side would be quiet too.) Breakfast was good. The location is a bit away from the town center so it's not very near most of the restaurants but it's a pleasant walk.

Room Tip: We loved our room on the back side overlooking the church.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank WI_roam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huntingdon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
112 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2011

We have stayed here twice before and love the welcome when they are at the car to collect luggage almost before the engine is turned off. The same gentleman in his wonderful traditional clothes is still giving great attention. The rooms are quite and comfortable. We do pay the extra to have the view over the abbey and think that it is worth it. You can enjoy a quiet drink in the front or back terrace or inside if wet.
Breakfast is ordered before retiring and is beautifiully served wither on the rear terrace overlooking the abbey or inside. Very enjoyable. The bed, sheets and pillows were the best we have found.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bugling_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Castro Urdiales, Spain
Level Contributor
52 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2009

We stayed here, because our favourite place in Tournus, Aux Terraces, was full. Le Greuze is on the main road through town, but set back as the hotel photos show. The rooms are comfortable, but not spectacularly decorated. Clean, but a bit boring. The hotel photos are fairly accurate. The staff were very helpful and the concierge insisted on carrying in our bags because he was bored! Bathrooms newly tiled and clean and light. Breakfast seemed a bit expensive ( 16 or 26 Euros) as we only usually want a cup of coffee and a croissant, so they just brought coffee and croissants and charged us 6 Euros. The restaurant was closed, but that didn't matter as we had already booked into the restaurant at Aux Terraces for dinner.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lce2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tournus hotels
0.1 mi away
Le Rempart
Le Rempart
#4 of 12 in Tournus
4.0 of 5 bubbles 200 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Aux Terrasses
Hotel Aux Terrasses
#2 of 12 in Tournus
4.5 of 5 bubbles 132 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Le Kolibri
Hotel Le Kolibri
#1 of 12 in Tournus
4.0 of 5 bubbles 158 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel - Restaurant de la Paix
0.1 mi away
Le Saint Philibert
Le Saint Philibert
#9 of 12 in Tournus
3.5 of 5 bubbles 42 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel la Mirandole
Hotel la Mirandole
#8 of 12 in Tournus
3.5 of 5 bubbles 47 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel de Greuze? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel de Greuze

Property: Hotel de Greuze
Address: 5 Place de l Abbaye, 71700, Tournus, France
Region: France > Bourgogne-Franche-Comte > Saone-et-Loire > Tournus
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 12 Hotels in Tournus
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel de Greuze 4*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Tournus, next to the 10th century Abbey Saint Philibert, the Hôtel de Greuze with its 21 bedrooms, including 3 suites and 2 apartments offers you a warm welcome. The furniture in all of our rooms consists of selected antiques for your greater pleasure, Empire, Florentin, Directoire, Louis XIII, Napoleon periods.. The hotel is opened all the year. Restaurant Greuze is located at 50 meters. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Hotel.de, Agoda, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Hotel de Greuze reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Tournus
Tournus Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing