We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A touch of class”
Review of Hotel de Greuze

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel de Greuze
Ranked #4 of 12 Hotels in Tournus
Certificate of Excellence
Amersham, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
196 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 146 helpful votes
“A touch of class”
Reviewed 4 February 2013 via mobile

Old established hotel in centre of the beautiful roman town of Tournus. Pity restaurant no longer part of hotel. Room comfortable and spotlessly clean modern bathroom. TV channels limited for non French clients although good wifi at no extra charge. Secure car parking. Excellent breakfast nicely presented. Feels like 5 star but needs a restaurant.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shardeloes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChristianBELLET, Owner at Hotel de Greuze, responded to this review, 15 October 2013
Hello, thank you for having relied on us. The restaurant greuze is not a part effectively any more of the hotel. We launched a young leader full of talent and the contract was to let him fend for himself. Thing that he does very well at the moment. We recommend his establishment to have dinner, but we can propose others restaurants also. I has no obligation there. We can reserve tables according to your desire. The parking is effectively privative, closed and watched. Best regards, Mr BELLET
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

115 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    61
    41
    8
    2
    3
See reviews for
11
76
8
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
West Yorkshire
Level 6 Contributor
109 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 October 2012

Having spent ages trying to find a conveniently situated hotel in lower Burgundy just when it seemed everyone else in Europe had the same idea I found the de Greuze. Just a short distance from the autoroute to Lyon it proved to be a wonderful find I shall return to. In spite of the busy main road in front it sits well back in attractive gardens. To the rear is the wonderful abbey, impressive in daylight but a stunning sight when floodlit at night. You can exit and enter the hotel from the rear which is convenient for the abbey, antique shops and nearby restaurants.
The welcome from the charming porter / front desk was warm and helpful and the room was spacious and quiet, overlooking the abbey. The bathroom was modern, spotlessly clean and well equipped. The price of the room was at the upper end of my budget but all in all I thought it good value. Breakfast at 16 Euros for continental seemed steep and we ate out. The onlt restaurant is the Greuze adjacent to the hotel with a Michelin star. A look at the menus revealed very high prices and we chose to eat instead at Aux Terrasses (also with a Michelin star) a short walk away. This was a great find with superb food at very reasonable prices.

Room Tip: Rooms at the rear get the wonderful view of the abbey
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MrToad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChristianBELLET, Owner at Hotel de Greuze, responded to this review, 11 January 2014
Hello Mister TOAD. We've got actually a good place at just 2 kilometers of the highway A6. We thank you for your opinion and we indicate you that we modified our formula of breakfast to meet the requirement people who eat less in the morning, while decreasing the prices. We passed from 16€ to 12€, by proposing supplements for the gourmands. Looking forward to having the pleasure to see you again. Mr BELLET
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2012

We stayed here in July on our way to Cannes. The hotel was recommended by a friend. It is located near the motorway and ideal for splitting the 800 mile journey from Calais to the south coast. It is quiet although situated in the town, next door to the Abbey and a short walk to the shops and the river. The windows are double-glazed and the bells do not ring at night. Our room overlooked the Abbey but we were not disturbed. The room itself was a reasonable size and spotlessly clean. The bathroom was a bit small but very well-equipped. The bed was so comfortable that when we arrived in Cannes, we immediately booked the hotel again for our return journey and were not disappointed. We stayed in a different room but it was just as nice as the first. The staff were unfailingly charming and helpful. We are planning to return for a longer stay as Tournus is a destination in itself.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DrGran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChristianBELLET, Owner at Hotel de Greuze, responded to this review, 11 January 2014
Mister Dr GRAN, we thank you for having taken time to express this comment. We always have pleasure to welcome you in our beautiful Burgundy. Looking forward to seeing you again.We wish all the best to you. Best regards, Mr BELLET
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wisconsin
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2012

I stayed here with a tour group and loved every minute of it. The staff was helpful and courteous, the room beautiful, and the view of the church from our window was breathtaking. (We left our window open so we could look out at it with the lights on most of the night - and it was quiet enough that we could do that comfortably. The street side has a beautiful walled courtyard between the hotel and the street so I expect rooms on that side would be quiet too.) Breakfast was good. The location is a bit away from the town center so it's not very near most of the restaurants but it's a pleasant walk.

Room Tip: We loved our room on the back side overlooking the church.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WI_roam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huntingdon, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
122 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2011

We have stayed here twice before and love the welcome when they are at the car to collect luggage almost before the engine is turned off. The same gentleman in his wonderful traditional clothes is still giving great attention. The rooms are quite and comfortable. We do pay the extra to have the view over the abbey and think that it is worth it. You can enjoy a quiet drink in the front or back terrace or inside if wet.
Breakfast is ordered before retiring and is beautifiully served wither on the rear terrace overlooking the abbey or inside. Very enjoyable. The bed, sheets and pillows were the best we have found.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bugling_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Castro Urdiales, Spain
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2009

We stayed here, because our favourite place in Tournus, Aux Terraces, was full. Le Greuze is on the main road through town, but set back as the hotel photos show. The rooms are comfortable, but not spectacularly decorated. Clean, but a bit boring. The hotel photos are fairly accurate. The staff were very helpful and the concierge insisted on carrying in our bags because he was bored! Bathrooms newly tiled and clean and light. Breakfast seemed a bit expensive ( 16 or 26 Euros) as we only usually want a cup of coffee and a croissant, so they just brought coffee and croissants and charged us 6 Euros. The restaurant was closed, but that didn't matter as we had already booked into the restaurant at Aux Terraces for dinner.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lce2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tournus hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel Aux Terrasses
Hotel Aux Terrasses
#2 of 12 in Tournus
146 reviews
0.1 mi away
Le Rempart
Le Rempart
#6 of 12 in Tournus
213 reviews
0.0 mi away
La Montagne de Brancion
La Montagne de Brancion
#1 of 1 in Martailly-les-Brancion
119 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel - Restaurant de la Paix
0.9 mi away
Hotel Le Kolibri
Hotel Le Kolibri
#1 of 12 in Tournus
176 reviews
0.1 mi away
Le Saint Philibert
Le Saint Philibert
#10 of 12 in Tournus
46 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel de Greuze? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel de Greuze

Property: Hotel de Greuze
Address: 5 Place de l Abbaye, 71700, Tournus, France
Region: France > Bourgogne-Franche-Comte > Saone-et-Loire > Tournus
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 12 Hotels in Tournus
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel de Greuze 4*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Tournus, next to the 10th century Abbey Saint Philibert, the Hôtel de Greuze with its 21 bedrooms, including 3 suites and 2 apartments offers you a warm welcome. The furniture in all of our rooms consists of selected antiques for your greater pleasure, Empire, Florentin, Directoire, Louis XIII, Napoleon periods.. The hotel is opened all the year. Restaurant Greuze is located at 50 meters. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline and HRS so you can book your Hotel de Greuze reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Tournus
Tournus Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing