We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Horrible place old and dirty”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel la Mirandole

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel la Mirandole
Ranked #8 of 12 Hotels in Tournus
Dover, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Horrible place old and dirty”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 February 2013

We arrived at the La Mirandole at 5.00pm on Sunday 3rd February after a long day driving from Tarragona Spain (Hotel SB Express - see separate review). First of all we couldn't get in - no one on reception had to use automatic check-in but it wouldn't a accept our Internet booking details. Was just about to leave when a man turned up (on hind sight we wished we had left!). First of all the hotel looks quite nice from the front but as soon as you go in you realise it's old and dated which is not necessarily a problem but it was also dirty, again we should have walked away then but by this time we were really tired so we stayed with it. We then made our way round to the back of the hotel. There is a central courtyard with the rooms set around it "motel style" this is good as it means you park right outside your room. We had Room 16 in the corner. The room was absolutely awful! Small, dark, old fashioned and smelt badly of stale cigarette's. Carpets tiles on the floor which were worn and dirty. Terrible decor striped wallpaper badly in need of redecorating, picture on wall which was a jigsaw made up! Old net curtain on window no curtain on that window and a broken dirty blind on small window by bed. Light switches had dirty finger marks all round them. All of the furniture including the bed should have been skipped 20 years ago. The bathroom was tiny and again in need of complete refit. The sheets were clean (absolutely amazed by this!) but the blankets and bed cover had dodgy marks on them and worn. We took off all bedding and bought in our own from car. Towels threadbare. Light next to bed not working. We decided to stay to get some much needed rest but left at 4.00am the next morning because we couldn't stand it any longer. How given a rating of 1 but don't think it even deserves this.

Room Tip: Don't book this hotel - go somewhere else!
See more room tips
Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
5 Thank Anne1741
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mirand0le, Gérant at Hotel la Mirandole, responded to this review, 18 February 2013
Google Translation
bonjour
je tiens à donner des précisions sur cet avis d' une méchanceté certaine
deja cette dame , n' a pas su se servir de notre borne de réservation , mais çela a été une géne de courte durée puisque je suis arrivé 4 minutes aprés leur arrivée
que cette dame parle d' endroit trés sale et déverse son venin sur notre établissement, et qui laisse ses 2 chiens déanbuler en liberté devant les portes des chambres , faire leur besoin et laisser les excréments sur la pelouse ! sans commentaire!!que les chambres soient démodées , je vous l' accorde , mais trés propres avec une sdb de taille correcte
je tiens à préciser que nous avons repris cet établissement le 4 décembre 2013, beaucoup de travaux ont déja été réalisés( changement de toutes les portes fenetres pour une meilleure isolation , la salle des petits déjeuner a été refaite, il y a , à présent un buffet à volonté pour un prix trés correct de 6.90€, les couvertures vont étre changées pour des couettes, la robinéterie a été changée,la vidéo surveillance pour le parking a été installée, 4 chambres entiérement refaite vont ouvrir fin février ,et ensuite les 16 autres suivront, afin d' offrir le meilleur accueil et séjour à notre clientéle pour un prix pour 2 personnes à 48€
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    5
    26
    11
    0
    5
See reviews for
13
20
4
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2012

I spent 3 nights in this "motel" while visiting family in nearby Tournus.
The rooms are spacious and have a double bed and sofa which can be
made up into another bed. A full length window gives access to an outside
grassy area with plastic table & chairs. The motel also has a small swimming
pool which is closed out of season (outdoors).
The 20 rooms overlook a central courtyard with ample parking.
The restaurant area is pleasant and you can have breakfast for an extra €6
but I didn't bother, preferring instead to walk into nearby
Tournus with its riverside cafés.
The location is ideal for both the motorway (A6) and the
R.N.6. trunk road. If you have time to explore, nearby Tournus
is delightful and Saturday is market day in the Grande Rue with
something for all tastes.
I recommend this motel to anyone whether passing through
in a hurry or with time to explore. At €45 a night it's
cheaper than most local alternatives. You need to add on to the
cost a €0,60 tourist tax (per night).

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Frango6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hythe, Kent, UK
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2008

I have stayed three times here and found it perfect for my needs so did my many other Veteran comrades attending the SAS ceremonies at very nearby Sennecy-le Grand where there is a magnificent memorial to all SAS, - British, French & Belgian killed in World War 2 .Each individual name embossed including all British SAS killed not just in Franceand the other European countries, but also worldwide including in the Middle East and Italy, Greece, all the islands (including Crete), Albania & Yugoslavia. I'm staying there again in Sept '08.
There is an excellent Spanish Restaurant immediately opposite for dinner - or a short walk towards the Tournus centre is the unforgettable Station Hotel Restaurant.

  • Disliked — Quiet and secluded with car right outside your door so no need to unload much for security
  • Stayed September 2006, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank whodares
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tournus hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Le Kolibri
Hotel Le Kolibri
#1 of 12 in Tournus
4.0 of 5 bubbles 161 reviews
0.6 mi away
Le Saint Philibert
Le Saint Philibert
#10 of 12 in Tournus
3.5 of 5 bubbles 44 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel - Restaurant de la Paix
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Hotel Aux Terrasses
Hotel Aux Terrasses
#2 of 12 in Tournus
4.5 of 5 bubbles 132 reviews
0.5 mi away
Le Relais de l'Abbaye
Le Relais de l'Abbaye
#9 of 12 in Tournus
3.5 of 5 bubbles 20 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel de Greuze
Hotel de Greuze
#3 of 12 in Tournus
4.5 of 5 bubbles 110 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel la Mirandole? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel la Mirandole

Property: Hotel la Mirandole
Address: Avenue du Clos Mouron, 71700, Tournus, France
Region: France > Bourgogne-Franche-Comte > Saone-et-Loire > Tournus
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 12 Hotels in Tournus
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel la Mirandole 2*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel La Mirandole welcomes you in Tournus, in Burgundy, just 800 meters from junction 27 of the A6 motorway. It offers free Wi-Fi quality, completely redone in November 2015. A garden with an outdoor pool, a play area (pin pong, trampoline) Its rooms have flat-screen TV and a garden view. Each room includes a desk, a bed with a duvet, a telephone and a private bathroom with a shower or bath and toilet. Guests can enjoy a breakfast buffet served daily in the space provided for this purpose. A fast food type of restaurant is just 100 meters from Mirandola and a Grill 50 meters. Free indoor parking and monitored video is available on site. Hotel La Mirandole is 1.1 km from the Saint-Philibert and 20 minutes drive from the city center of Chalon-sur-Saône. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel la Mirandole reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing