We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The most awesome hostel in Alaska!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Skagway
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Alaskan Sojourn Hostel
Houston, Texas
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“The most awesome hostel in Alaska!”
Reviewed 12 August 2012

I have stayed in almost all the hostels in Alaska. But this one is special. The owners, Janilyn and Gary are friendly, kind and simply awesome! I also met some very interesting travelers who are open to sharing their travel experiences and made my short time in Skagway memorable. The hostel is cosy and almost homely. It is also very clean, quiet, professionally maintained, and rich in character. Its only a short walk from the Alaska Marine highway terminal, downtown shops and eateries and close to the trailheads if one is planning on hiking the great Alaskan outdoors in SE Alaska. Its a great value for money as well as for experience. I wish I could spend few more days there.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank petepas05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    32
    4
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
3
7
14
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Norwalk, Ohio
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 August 2012

I have been staying at the Alaskan Sojourn Hostel for a couple of years now. Janilyn is a great hostess and the atmostphere is very relaxed. This is not a youth hostel; the guests tend to be older and the laid-back lifestyle of Skagway is very evident. It is a great place to stay and the only place I will stay in Skagway. Both locations are within walking distance of the main drag, which is Broadway. During the summer, Broadway is clogged with cruise ship passengers. Being off the beaten path is a nice touch. Affordable, clean, and quiet, I highly recommend it! Just remember to bring cash to pay for your stay!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jennifer250
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2012

Janilyn and Gary were very friendly, warm, socialable and welcoming hosts and run a wonderful hostel in a great location in Skagway. It's close enough to easily walk over to the main part of downtown but also away from the noise so a tranquil haven too. The rooms are very clean and comfortable and there is lots of information available for onward travel from Skagway as well as local info. Showers and kitchen were great and it was easy to pick up the free wi-fi for internet from the hostel at the nearby library. After a tiring boat trip I found this hostel to be an excellent place to rest before heading up into Yukon, Canada. Would definitely stay here again next time I come to Skagway.

Room Tip: I stayed upstairs in the mens dorm and had no complaints - clean and comfortable beds and good showe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ajit V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 August 2012

Having been travelling around Canada for a month before arriving at the hostel I needed to stop for a few days and re-group. This didn't feel like a hostel but like staying in a friends home. Clean, quiet and very comfortable. I would recommend a stay here if you are South East Alaska.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ogblogg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Healy, Alaska
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2012

The Alaskan Sojourn Hostel was our starting off and ending place for hiking the Chilkoot trial. Originally attracted by the low price and proximity to downtown Skagway, we were pleasantly suprised to find not only lovely and clean accomodations, but also increadibly friendly and helpful hosts, Jan and Gary. Visitors enjoy full use of the kitchen, living room, and outdoor areas. There are two clean bathrooms where you can enjoy a long hot shower (this was particularly important after 5 days on the trail). There are many different options; two rooms with four bunks and one private room in the main house and a couple of outside buildings where you can enjoy private lodgings as well. The service is personal and the owners have created a comfortable and lovely atmosphere. I highly recommend this hostel, even to travelers that are generally more comfortable in a B and B or hotel.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kassandra72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lakes Entrance, Victoria, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2012

We found the hostel a lovely place to stay, it has a real "homey" atmosphere. We were treated like family by our hosts Jan & Gary. The hostel is in a great location for walking to see the town, but is a quiet haven away from the crowds. It was our first stay in hostel accommodation, & we loved the experience.

Room Tip: We had a private room, there are also shared rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robin W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2012

Take a moment tawny from the madness of cruise ships and the gold rush and relax in this home away from home. It was clean, the owners were great, and the location is perfect.

No wifi on site, but available from the library about 20 meters down the road for free 24/7 so no drama. I would stay here again in a heart beat

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sfit_50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Skagway
0.3 mi away
Westmark Inn Skagway
Westmark Inn Skagway
#2 of 2 in Skagway
221 reviews
16.6 mi away
Halsingland Hotel
Halsingland Hotel
#2 of 4 in Haines
132 reviews
0.1 mi away
Historic Skagway Inn
Historic Skagway Inn
#4 of 5 in Skagway
189 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.7 mi away
House No. 1 Fort Seward B&B
16.2 mi away
Aspen Suites Hotel Haines
16.0 mi away
Captain's Choice Motel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alaskan Sojourn Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alaskan Sojourn Hostel

Property: Alaskan Sojourn Hostel
Address: 488 8th St, Skagway, AK 99840
Region: United States > Alaska > Skagway
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Speciality Lodging in Skagway
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hostel has no curfew or lock out. Linens and towels are provided. Within Walking distance to Historic Downtown. There is a quiet, private yard. Located on the pick up route for transportation to the Chilkoot Trail. This is a spotlessly clean facility. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Alaskan Sojourn Hostel Skagway, Alaska

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing