We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Private Tour of the Area”

Beyond Skagway Tours - Private Tours
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: We offer private, customized sightseeing tours for friends and families. 2-14 seat in each of our vehicles. Your local and personal guide shares stories of the 1898 Klondike Gold Rush and their present day lives. All of our guides have lived in Skagway for 3 summers or longer. Join us for sightseeing and adventurous fun! You may choose from a visit at Michelle Phillip's dog mushing camp, panning for gold from a lake or creek, crossing the Yukon Suspension Bridge, Scavenger Hunting for the kids, taking a hike and/or enjoying a wilderness picnic.
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Activities for older children
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Private Tours are the way to go when visiting ports and Beyond Skagway is one of the best we’ve ever done. Between the great email communication beforehand answering all our questions to the amazing customized tour (May 24, 2018) that we extended by an hour to a full 8 hours...the tour was perfect for our party of seven. What made our tour so perfect was our amazing guide Sam. You could tell that Sam has a love of the area and not only wanted to share it with us, but took the time to really cater the tour to our three daughters.

We saw all the sights and did all the activities. It was a perfect way to see Skagway, BC, and the Yukon. We crossed the Yukon suspension bridge, panned for gold, had a good lunch, and even held sled dog puppies. Sam didn't steer us wrong.

Each time we hopped out of our private van and saw a large tour bus drive by we were so thankful that we opted for Beyond Skagway and the more personalized tour. This allowed every member of our three generation tour to go at their own pace. The options for the kids to engage in scavenger hunts and eye spy throughout the tour kept them so entertained. Even the fact that Sam had a headset that fed the audio through the van sound system was perfect...no one struggled to hear.

We just went through 1,400 photos from our Alaskan Cruise and the kids all agreed that the Skagway day was their favorite (beating out a helicopter ride to a glacier)!

Thank you Beyond Skagway and Sam!

Thank Chris B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
T2193JUbeckym, Owner at Beyond Skagway Tours - Private Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Ah, what a nice review! We have to agree. Sam is pretty amazing, as are all of our guides! What a great team of guides, handpicked partially because of their love of Alaska and you, the clients.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (636)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"scavenger hunt"
in 50 reviews
"emerald lake"
in 159 reviews
"hour tour"
in 56 reviews
"our tour guide"
in 57 reviews
"mountain goats"
in 45 reviews
"cruise ship"
in 61 reviews
"great tour"
in 45 reviews
"booked a private tour"
in 13 reviews
"picnic lunch"
in 16 reviews
"carcross desert"
in 25 reviews
"suspension bridge"
in 24 reviews
"bison burger"
in 7 reviews
"private van"
in 13 reviews
"black beans"
in 35 reviews
"yukon territory"
in 27 reviews
"sled dog puppies"
in 14 reviews
"take pictures"
in 30 reviews
Filter

30 - 34 of 637 reviews

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We arrived in Skagway via a cruise ship on May 17th. We were met by Sam who was warm, friendly and very informative. He drove us around town and showed us a few interesting sites relating to the gold rush, and gave us general information about Skagway. It was easy to tell that Sam loves Skagway and the people who live there. We then went to the train station where we rode the White Pass Scenic railway to Fraser BC. It was a ride with spectacular views and should not be missed. There Sam met us in a van large enough for our group of eight. He had a headset that made it easy to hear all the interesting things he had to tell us. We walked a suspension bridge, drove past beautiful lakes, viewed mountain goats running down a mountain and stopped in Carcross in the Yukon Territory for lunch and some fun shopping. We then drove to Emerald Lake which was stunning. The drive back to the ship was beautiful as it gave us a chance to see more of this beautiful country and from a distance see the railway we traveled on in the morning. Sam was an amazing tour guide and if you go to this area, ask for him. He is the best!

Thank SandraH1882
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
T2193JUbeckym, Owner at Beyond Skagway Tours - Private Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Sandra, Thank you for your 5* review of your day with Sam. He does a great job of making our world "Beyond Skagway" come alive. The scenery is spectacular, but having Sam throughout the day, is even more special!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

A group of us were in Skagway like most tourist would via a cruise ship. Being a full day and if you want to spend 3 - 4 hours go outside of Skagway and to the Yukon, they do a good job.

Our guide is Stephanie who picked us up and heads towards Yukon. The scenery is breathe taking and a long the way we saw the train passing through the mountains. That was a spectacular addition since the timing was just right that we were there observing the water pipe line that feeds Skagway residents.

Then we saw a bear just lazying around on by the road side and we managed to go close without harming us or the bear.

We then proceed to a lake that the locals would go fishing and again the fresh air and the scenery is beyond words.

Along the way we saw a family of mountain goats by the YUKON road sign.

The private tour is was well worth it if you like to explore the Tongass National Forest at your own pace.

Thank Yonnie E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
T2193JUbeckym, Owner at Beyond Skagway Tours - Private Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you, Yonnie, for your kind words. We are so happy that you enjoyed your tour with Stephanie. She loves showing off our backyard and how beautiful our wilderness is. It sounds like you had an amazing day, with the timing of the train and bear sighting. I'm glad you got the experience of bear viewing from the safety of the van!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2018

We had a great experience! Loved our guide. He made the effort to make sure everyone from 5 years to 75 years in age had a great trip. He was wonderful with our children and we felt this was one of the highlights of our trip! Thank you!!!

Review collected in partnership with this attraction
1  Thank crimaj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
T2193JUbeckym, Owner at Beyond Skagway Tours - Private Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 31 January 2018

Thank you for your 5* review! We fully appreciate hearing back from our clients, who take tours with us. I'm glad to hear that all ages were happy and that it was enough of a highlight for you, to write about it months after the tour happened. Thank you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 4 December 2017

Beyond Skagway is the way to do iit. We couldnt have asked for more. Our tour guide EMILY was cheerful, full of energy and well read. We were a group of 11 people and started of early in the day from the port . She drove us through skagway town covered in ice off onto to the highway enroute to Yukon territory ,crossed the canadian border enjoyed the picturesque views of the emrald lake, enjoyed a local burger and beer near yukon. On our way back we stopped at the carcross desert, spotted a bear while we were driving and our tour guide stopped to take us back for a better view and waited until it ran off into the wild. I was a wonderful experience thanks to emily.

2  Thank Anurag P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
T2193JUbeckym, Owner at Beyond Skagway Tours - Private Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 31 January 2018

Thank you for your review about your tour with Emily. She is coming back to guide tours again in 2018. It makes me glad to read about your day with her, and that even got to see a bear!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Beyond Skagway Tours - Private Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing