We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great weekend for families” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hostellerie La Briqueterie

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hostellerie La Briqueterie
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Vinay
Certificate of Excellence
Paris, France
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great weekend for families”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 September 2013

Just come back from an amazing weekend with my kids, and the staff really careful with them, so much attention given in the restaurant to make them happy with their meal! We ordered the gourmet menu and the kids also had amuse bouche, entree, plat etc etc... serving same size as adults! They said to me "mom, that is the best hotel in France!" ... the swimming pool is not giant but big enough to distract them, the junior suite is extremelly confort to fit 2 adults and 2 kids... when it was daddy's bday weekend.... we had a wonderful time... and please relax and enjoy the resto! No rush! you will recognise afterwards tha was in heaven...

Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Anne N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

523 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    280
    143
    69
    21
    10
See reviews for
62
310
6
30
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New Delhi, Delhi, India
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 September 2013

The experience of staying in this beautiful chateaux was blissful, comfortable bright rooms especially the ones overlooking the vineyards, excellent food by a great team of chefs 45 euros per head for dinner for a 4 course meal, expensive for me but not bad for a special memorable event, good front desk staff very helpful, ample parking area, nice open spaces with great views and last but not least its close to many champage houses. Expensive but worth every penny. My full thumbs up

Room Tip: Get a room with a vineyard view
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jasjit S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harpenden
Level Contributor
84 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2013

This is a well-located hotel, close to Epernay and the main champagne houses. We stayed in two adjoining deluxe rooms, which were comfortably furnished with French doors opening on to the garden, and with large bathrooms, though decor was a little dated. Service was good, though perhaps a little cool for British sensibilities (this is France!). Breakfast was a comprehensive high-quality continental buffet. The restaurant clearly sets its sights high as a gastronomic destination and, on the two evenings we ate there, it delivered. But the expense can build quite quickly and this can magnify any shortcomings in quality. The spa was reasonably well-equipped though we had trouble finding towels for the pool on one day. Perhaps given the expense, there are one or two details that probably need addressing.

Room Tip: If you're wasp-averse, avoid the rooms which open onto the garden.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robert L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2013

Stayed at the Hotel for 2 nights and went to the Restaurant. My wife and I found the restaurant pricey but quite good. The hotel was vert very disappointing. Our room felt like something from Fawlty Towers with a similar attitude from the guy on reception who couldn't care less when we asked to move room (we had a Wasp nest outside so couldn't use the nice looking terrace. I am amazed this place exists still. Shockingly expensive and yet below average!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Steve N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Briqueterie, Directeur général at Hostellerie La Briqueterie, responded to this review, 31 August 2013
Bonjour

I feel very sorry that we did not meet your expectations.

Regarding the problem that you had with your room, as the decoration is very original we of course try to remain available when one of our guest do not like it and want to change.
On the day you came, we were fully booked, and so had no possibility to switch.

I also have to tell that there was no wasp best (when you told us at the reception I immediately send our gardener to check), just countryside inconvenient and plant with some bees …

In any case I truly apologize if our front desk agent gives you the impression of arrogance, of course he should have explained and try to fix the problem better.

I really hope that we will have to chance to get another chance to welcome you again at La Briqueterie.

Best regards,

Maïté Berrier – Cybal
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
157 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2013

We only ate in the restaurant - 300 Euros for 2 people! We had the set menu and it was OK, with most of it being pretty disappointing. The prices seem to pay for the copious numbers of staff who all look like they could do with having there uniforms washed. The restaurant is not very relaxing with staff rushing about, it feels like you are in the middle of the kitchen during service. I wouldn't bother ever going here again, avoid if possible and spend your money elsewhere.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Matthew B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Briqueterie, Directeur général at Hostellerie La Briqueterie, responded to this review, 31 August 2013
Bonjour,

Regarding the review about our restaurant, I feel deeply sorry that you didn’t enjoyed this moment.

Maybe you were not informed that we were a Gastronomic Michelin star restaurant?

Because our prices (first menu for lunch at 40.00 EUR, 60.00 EUR for dinner / First bottle of wine at 29.00 EUR, first bottle of Champagne at 69.00 EUR) looks pretty reasonable to me …

Anyway I will take good note of your observation on the service, to try to do better if you ever come back to la Briqueterie.

Best regards,

Maïté Berrier – Cybal
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
62 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2013 via mobile

We stayed in this hotel twice before more than 10 years ago. It was brilliant. So we decided to celebrate my Mum's birthday there as she loved that hotel.
Sadly, the experience was not as good at all.
The hotel itself is nice with beautiful, comfortable rooms.
It has actually been renovated not long ago, and it looks great, especially the garden!
The restaurant serves good food, though not exceptional at all. And for sure not as good as it used to be.
The most disappointed aspect is (as often in France) : the service!
Lots of annoying moments with members of staff.
Example: when asked if we could have a table for 8 at breakfast (there were 2 free tables 1 meter apart next to each others) the answer was clear, sharp and direct : NO.
Was not exactly a surprise to them that we were a group of 8 as I had booked 3 rooms and a table for 8 at the restaurant the night before. So we decided to join the 2 free tables of 4. And they asked us to leave the breakfast place! And all this for around 2000€ for 1 night for 8!
Great!
In the end they did put the 2 tables together, but it spoiled it all.
So do I recommend this hotel : not really....sadly!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Murielle P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Briqueterie, Directeur général at Hostellerie La Briqueterie, responded to this review, 31 August 2013
Madame,

First of all, thanks for taking the time to write this review.
You enjoyed rooms and dinner and I’m very happy with it.

Regarding the incident on the breakfast room I have to give some more information to be fair.

Our biggest mistake, and you are totally right, is that we didn’t set up an 8 persons table for you, knowing that you will have a family breakfast.
There are no excuses for that.
When you came, the table was not ready then, the room was packed, so the waiter ask you to wait in the bar for few minutes, time to set everything for you.
So yes he sort of ask you to leave the place, but in a polite and professional way, and above all just for you not to move the tables by your own.
This is a major difference.

I really hope that you will give us a second chance, and please call me directly for any reservation.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
44 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2013 via mobile


This review mainly applies to the restaurant since it is not separated out. We spent an entire evening here and we plan to never return. I would also never recommend the location to anyone. It sits right on the road. Yes the gardens are pretty and the chateau has a quaint little feel.

This was the worst experience and service had on this trip. It took 45 min to get service and an aperitif. The quality of the food was decent but nothing to rave about.

The pricing of both food and the wines mainly champagne were insulting. So overpriced for the quality. The service was the worst part. It was apparent they couldn't have cared less it was a very frustrating evening that was disappointing. I would think twice before staying here. Noticeable differential in service was provided which is bad business for a luxury hotel and restaurant.

Food sat out and service staff left it to attend to other issues.
Bad service , mediocre atmosphere, way overpriced are the points to remember

All around bad....

Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
6 Thank Epfeagles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Briqueterie, Directeur général at Hostellerie La Briqueterie, responded to this review, 31 August 2013
Monsieur

Reading your feedback, I understand that something went really wrong on the time of your dinner …
I understand that you can be disappointed, but at this point, I would really appreciate to have your feedback directly.
If you have some time to call me or write an e-mail it could help us all to understand this huge discomfiture …

Thanks by advance,

Best regards,

Maïté Berrier – Cybal
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Vinay
9.1 mi away
Chateau D'Etoges
Chateau D'Etoges
#1 of 1 in Etoges
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,071 reviews
3.7 mi away
La Villa Eugene
La Villa Eugene
#1 of 14 in Epernay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 469 reviews
17.3 mi away
Chateau Les Crayeres
Chateau Les Crayeres
#1 of 69 in Reims
4.5 of 5 bubbles 637 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Hotel Jean Moet
Hotel Jean Moet
#2 of 14 in Epernay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 435 reviews
17.1 mi away
L'Assiette Champenoise
L'Assiette Champenoise
#1 of 10 in Tinqueux
4.0 of 5 bubbles 479 reviews
17.8 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Hotel de la Paix
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostellerie La Briqueterie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostellerie La Briqueterie

Property: Hostellerie La Briqueterie
Address: 4 route de Sezanne, 51530 Vinay, France
Region: France > Grand Est > Marne > Vinay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Vinay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Hostellerie La Briqueterie 5*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotel.de, Odigeo, Agoda, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Hostellerie La Briqueterie reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Briqueterie Hotel Epernay
La Briqueterie Épernay
La Briqueterie Hotel Épernay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing