We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A bit of a curate’s egg”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hostellerie La Briqueterie
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Vinay
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
145 reviews
145 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 217 helpful votes
“A bit of a curate’s egg”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2014

La Briqueterie – Vinay is a bit of a curate’s egg and was somewhat disappointing.

The hotel is pricey but the evening meal dinner in the grand dining room was excellent French “Fine dining”. Service in the restaurant was very good discreet but efficient. The wine list was extensive and well chosen from both the classic French vineyards but also further afield. Breakfast was reasonable but not brilliant and definitely not up to the standard of the evening meal. We sat in the outside area but the garden furniture was noticeably rusty and in need of urgent replacement.

The quality of the hotel team was good. However, we stayed on Saturday night and the place was very, very busy and the team in the bar could not cope with the demand. This resulted in long delays and a certain lack of an explanation of what was going on, or indeed what was not going on. Afternoon tea a few hours before had been entirely different in the quite, spacious and well appointed bar area.

The bedroom was good but in a “Fluffy” sought of a way. I have stayed in bigger and better rooms at this top end of the market. It was as clean as a whistle.

The hotel is located between two relative noise roads about 15 minutes drive from Épernay and about 40 minutes drive from Reims and the E46 motorway to Calais. The hotel consist of a number of similar interconnect buildings in a sought of European north German rustic style surrounded by dense trees and overgrown bushes and shrubby. The complex is well looked after but it is neither good looking nor ugly. The garden was well cared for but then again not that extensive. OK for a quick stroll but you will be back where you started in a few minutes. You can easily walk along the country roads into the vineyards in the surrounding hills.

In summary a good four star but not quite a five star.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Marc S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

536 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    289
    146
    70
    21
    10
See reviews for
63
318
6
33
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New Westminster, Canada
Level Contributor
51 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2014

I recently had the great joy of spending a night (wish it had been more than one!) at this beautiful property. As part of an Insight Vacation escorted tour, I did not personally choose to stay here, but was thrilled upon arrival to discover that it was part of the itinerary.

An amazing, extensive wine list - be prepared, it's not inexpensive.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HighExpectationsYVR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michigan
Level Contributor
211 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2014

La Briqueterie is beautiful and charming. It's a respite in the middle of the champagne region in France. How much better does it get? Each room is beautifully appointed. The food is amazing and the wine/champagne selections vast. The breakfast is lovely. The staff was helpful and friendly. It was a treat to stay here!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Doymo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aspendale, Australia
Level Contributor
97 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2014

Stayed here for 1 night as part of a tour, lovely setting and ambience, bed was great and excellent choice for breakfast, staff were wonderful.
The only downside was the drinks were very expensive.
I would defiantly stay here if I was in that region again.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DonnyMelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
56 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

This is our second visit to this hotel in a matter of months and we all had a wonderful time. The staff at the hotel were very friendly from the front desk manager Kingsley to the dining room staff. The hotel manager is a wonderful guy and very friendly we had lots of fun with him. The grounds that surround the hotel are fantastic.. We have stayed in a few Relais & Chateau hotels and we felt this one of the best. The food in the restaurant was very good and the breakfast was good to. We would definitely be back to this hotel.

Room Tip: The first time we went we had a deluxe room this time we had a classic room which had recently been...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Deborah C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luxembourg City, Luxembourg
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2014

We returned to La Briqueterie whilst visiting the area to buy champagne, after an 8 year absence. My better half negotiated a deal with them, but it is rather expensive for what they offer. However, we enjoyed our stay, the food was delicious but the sommelier had a bit of an arrogant air.

They wanted to charge us €50 for the privilege of having our dog in the room, that was negotiated to €20. As all of the standard rooms were full, we were upgraded at no extra cost, which was quite good of them (otherwise we wouldn't have stayed!).

The staff were polite and friendly and we had no problems whilst we were there. There is a very nice little Spa area which we profited from in the morning, before setting out on another bout of exhausting visits to the viticulteurs of champagne.

This was a nostalgic visit to a hotel we had used many times in the past.

It is a pity that this hotel and the Royal Champagne at Champillon have become so expensive, this is probably due to their proximity to Paris

Room Tip: Speak french and negotiate, Show them that you are prepared to go elsewhere if you cannot have what...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank paul45BC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York, New York, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2014

The following is the letter I wrote to Hostellerie de la Briqueterie regarding my honeymoon stay. They did not reply; another example of their lack of care!

I am writing you to discuss my experience at your hotel and to request a credit for my stay.

As you may recall, my wife and I were guests at your hotel arriving Friday, April 11 and stayed for 2 nights, departing on April 13, 2014. During that time, we were extremely disappointed with the service and care we received.

We arrived at the hotel at approximately 10:30 am. Our room was, not surprisingly, not ready. We had no expectation that it would be, as we arrived prior to check in. Though, we were told that our room would be ready shortly and were directed to the restaurant patio where we were then ignored for over 2 hours. Though someone initially brought us coffee, no one spoke to us, despite being in the area setting up other tables for lunch service. Our empty coffee cups were ignored, we were not offered any water, or anything for that matter.

At 12:30 PM, I went to check on our room again and was told it would be ready at 1:00 PM and that someone would get us shortly. As I returned to the patio, other guests had been seated in the restaurant beside us, who were being welcomed, waited on and served. At that time I requested to speak with you, the General Manager of the Hotel.

You assuaged my frustrations by offering my wife and I a glass of champagne and telling us again that our room would be available at 1:00 PM and that someone would get us at that time. We waited; no one came. At 1:20 PM I went to the front desk again and were finally shown to our room.

As you are a Relais et Chateaux property, I relied on your reputation as such. I requested advice on where we should tour while in Epernay, stating that I am a trained and certified sommelier. Your team made no effort to make any arrangements for us and directed us to take a train ride with an auto guide at Mercier; hardly the prize of the region.

Throughout our stay we also asked for you to arrange transportation for us, typically 5 star properties have a car available. This was not the case at your hotel. Instead your team called taxi’s for us which were consistently 2x as expensive as the return transportation that we arranged.

Upon checkout when reviewing our bill we discovered that we had been billed over 40€ per day for breakfasts that we had not eaten. We were also billed for the champagne we were offered late into our arrival disaster. At this point of our stay with you, we had come to expect being over charged and poorly served so we spotted the errors immediately.

We stayed at 4 other hotels throughout our 2 week honeymoon trip. None were rated as highly as yours. All gave us far better service and care. I cannot fathom how your are listed as a Relais et Chateaux property nor how you have 5 stars. I am a frequent traveler; have worked in the hotel industry and have never had a worse experience in any hotel, ever.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank Daniel J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LButin, Directeur général at Hostellerie La Briqueterie, responded to this review, 5 May 2014
Google Translation
tout ce avis n'est que déformation de la vérité et il n'aurait pas été publié si la Briqueterie lui avait donné de l'argent dans les 72 heures.

SANS COMMENTAIRES

L Butin
Directeur Général
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Vinay
9.1 mi away
Chateau D'Etoges
Chateau D'Etoges
#1 of 1 in Etoges
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,095 reviews
3.7 mi away
La Villa Eugene
La Villa Eugene
#1 of 14 in Epernay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 470 reviews
17.4 mi away
Chateau Les Crayeres
Chateau Les Crayeres
#1 of 69 in Reims
4.5 of 5 bubbles 647 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Hotel Jean Moet
Hotel Jean Moet
#2 of 14 in Epernay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 438 reviews
17.1 mi away
L'Assiette Champenoise
L'Assiette Champenoise
#1 of 10 in Tinqueux
4.0 of 5 bubbles 485 reviews
17.8 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Hotel de la Paix
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostellerie La Briqueterie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostellerie La Briqueterie

Property: Hostellerie La Briqueterie
Address: 4 route de Sezanne, 51530 Vinay, France
Region: France > Grand Est > Marne > Vinay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Vinay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Hostellerie La Briqueterie 5*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotel.de, Hotels.com, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hostellerie La Briqueterie reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Briqueterie Hotel Epernay
La Briqueterie Épernay
La Briqueterie Hotel Épernay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing