We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Warm welcome and good food” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of La Cocotte et la Marmite

La Cocotte et la Marmite
Ranked #2 of 124 Restaurants in Clichy
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: French, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Child-friendly, Business meetings
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Paris, France
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Warm welcome and good food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2014

Discovered this restaurant through reviews on this site and was not disappointed. A proper French bistro experience coupled with good humoured service. Food was unfussy, well presented and good eating. Highly recommended -a real find and true boui boui.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank stevemacl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

215 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    140
    63
    6
    2
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York
Level Contributor
103 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“My favorite in Clichy”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2013

Having lived in Clichy for 40 years, I can truly say that that Olivier and his chef have the best restaurant in Clichy. I have eaten in most of the restaurants in Clichy and none can approach the quality for such a reasonable price. This is true traditional cuisine which is based on quality ingredients and inventiveness. Olivier has a background in world class kitchens and combines this experience with down to earth from scratch cuisine. Not to be missed when in Clichy or Paris!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank FPWhitePlains
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris
Level Contributor
58 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Give it a try even if you're not in Clichy”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2013 via mobile

The French bistronomy is alive and kicking, and you'll taste it fully when you are seated in the little La Cocotte et la Marmite. The venue is simple and cosy. But your are not here for that, you're here for the food: fresh, inexpensive and really home made. From the herrings as an appetizer to the meats, ducks, poultry and fish of the day, Olivier and his team know how to treat you well. And if you speak at least three words of French, the Chef will explain with his thundering voice how they prepared the meal you're enjoying. They always have an idea for the desserts, fresh of the day, savorous and sweet. Wines : you'll find easily a good wine to match the food. If you look for a warm and welcoming place to see what's about French food, give it a try. With a dash of roughness, this place is a real, non fake, restaurant, and definitely is worth the detour. Meal of the day 16€, menu around 22/25€.

Helpful?
Thank Frank75116
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Well worth the visit”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 January 2013

I was looking for a (any) restaurant in the Clichy area to make a change from eating in the hotel.
Based on other reviews on this site, La Cocotte seemed like the best first choice and I'm glad to have chosen it.
As with other reviewers, the restaurant was a little difficult to find, but that's more the sat nav's fault.
I hadn't reserved but we got a table anyway, next to the radiator, so that was a good start.
We got some smoked ham for nibbles as we were reading the menu. Chose the rib of beef to share with my friend, and it was a great choice: the waiter brought the meat out on a chopping board to present it to the table, then took it away to slice it up and add some seasoning. The smell of the meat stayed with us at least 2 minutes. It was, by far, the best bit of beef I've had in a long time: cooked just right and full of flavour. There was some meat left on the bone, and the owner brought a sharp knife over and told us to get stuck in. He wasn't going to tell us off for eating with our fingers & enjoying ourselves.
Then I had chocolate mousse with lemon marmalade hidden in the bottom which was pretty good too.
All in all, it was a long walk for some fine food. I think I'll need to go back some day

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Graham617a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newton Abbot
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Off the Beaten Track but Definitely Worth It!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2012

We went to this restaurant at the recommendation of a friend, got very lost along the way, got off at the wrong Metro station (Place de Clichy is very different to Porte de Clichy) and were tired, hungry and a bit bemused about the location of the restaurant before we arrived.

The restaurant itself was a revelation, yes it is quite far out of town and not on the tourist trail but the food was exceptional - the service was brilliant and we were very pleased that we had pressed on despite our tired feet!

For starters we embarked upon 6 Escargot - well it's got to be done once. All very good and fresh.

The Chateau Briand was the best steak my husband had ever eaten. I had a beautifully balanced duck dish with exquisite flavourings of cumin and a carrot and sweet potato mash. Everything was cooked to perfection, and perfectly seasoned. Our friends enjoyed a lovely monkfish stew.

For desert we had creme brulee and I had a lovely chocolate mousse cake (not it's proper name). All of these were lovely and not a morsel was left on anyone's plates.

This is a lovely restaurant where you can enjoy a truly exceptional meal for around 100 Euros per couple (with a bottle of wine).

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Chrysten C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed La Cocotte et la Marmite also viewed

Clichy, Hauts-de-Seine
 
Clichy, Hauts-de-Seine
 

Been to La Cocotte et la Marmite? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing