We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely stay in Provins”
Review of Le Clos de Provins

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Provins
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Le Clos de Provins
Ranked #2 of 8 Provins B&B and Inns
Mpumalanga
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Lovely stay in Provins”
Reviewed 14 October 2013

I can only eccho the sentiments of the other reviewers - Francine was extremely accomodating from our initial emails, our arrival and our stay. We regret it was only one night! The house and rooms are lovely, spacious, beautifully appointed, and it is very central. It is clearly a labor of love and not profit, as could be seen from all aspects from our stay. We really enjoyed it!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ESTIE S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

113 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    105
    8
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
31
65
1
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
piedrasblancas
1 review
Reviewed 14 September 2013

All my family, I mean apart from myself, my husband, my two kids (8 and 5) and my parents in law, enjoyed a lot our stay in late August. The house was so charming and clean. The rooms were so beatiful and the breakfast was excellent.
Mercy beaucoup a Francine et Jean Jacques pour votre attention.
Sonia and her family from Asturias (Spain).

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sonia g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsburgh
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2013

The owner, Francine, was extremely sweet and accommodating. She gave us great recommendations for sight seeing around Provins. The room was very luxurious and the bed was the most comfortable we have ever slept in (no hyperbole). There was a very generous spread of foods available at breakfast - delicious croissants and pain au chocolate; fresh fruit; yogurt; breads and jam; coffee; and fruit juice. If we ever go to Provins again, we will surely stay with Francine.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Zachary K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2013

After driving through the beautiful countryside of France, we had booked this B&B because of the wonderful reviews. We were not disappointed - we were met by Jean Jacques who could not have been more accomodating, didn't speak a lot of English but with my school girl French we were able to communicate. We had a gorgeous bedroom, lovely bathroom, very comfortable. Jean Jacques had to leave early in the morning for work and he had prepared a tremendous breakfast. It was very close to the Old Town. Would love to come back and stay longer. Brenda and Gary - November 2012

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mawsonAdelaideAust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hastings, England, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2013

My wife and I had two nights at Le Clos de Provins in June. The hosts are delightful, the house & garden charming and peaceful, and the room (we had La Romantique) beautiful and very comfortable. Breakfast is superb - everything home made. The house is very well situated for exploring Provins. Some really interesting visits - don't miss Les Souterrains down the hill, and La Grange aux Dîmes in the centre. Just a lovely medieval town, with a surprisingly authentic feel so near Paris. (Look for A la Croisée des Chemins, amazing shop devoted to herbs and spices.) Good just to wander around the ramparts etc. The food and service at Au Terroir were on the grim side, but the next day we tried La Table de Jean: looks posher, but was no more expensive and far, far better.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robin G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
299 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 164 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2013

Francine and Jean- Jacques offer a warm welcome to this small two room chambres dhôtes in its quiet walled garden setting. It has secure parking within the pleasantly laid out garden and is very close to the centre of this historic medieval town. Perfect!

The spacious room on the first floor was immaculate and full of charm, decorated in a homely traditional French style. The bathroom with a shower is clean, modern and has everything well set out.

The breakfast in the morning was very good with home made products.

For value for money it is difficult to beat particularly when you consider its location. Well worthy of its award.

The hosts were extremely helpful in advising us where to visit in the town and on the best restaurants open on a Sunday evening (few). The town was lovely even in the rain though you feel the staff in most of the restaurants were not particularly interested in serving or providing a meal of a quality to match the setting. But this was not our host's fault.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FoodieArch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dammam, Saudi Arabia
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 April 2013

We stayed here for 4 nights in late March on the strength of the reviews on here and I can only agree with what other reviewers have said. The house is delightful and very comfortable with lots of rustic charm but all mod cons (hairdriers in the bathrooms and wi-fi) and also has a great location tucked quietly away from the town centre but within easy walking distance.

This lovely B and B would ideally suit a family or two couples as there are only two rooms and, if you're the only people staying here the wonderful hosts, large garden, living room, two dogs and a cat really make it feel like a home from home. Francine and her husband Jean-Jacques are great hosts and made us feel very comfortable, from the amazing home-made breakfasts to helpful advice on where to go in the town. In fact, Jean-Jacques even offered to drop us off at Fountainbleau Palace on a Sunday which is an hour's drive away - way above and beyond the call of duty! Les Clos De Provins really was a home away from home and I can't recommend it highly enough.

Just a note on the town itself... Small but perfectly formed, there's not a huge amount to do so adrenaline junkies should probably look elsewhere. For families or recharging your batteries in beautiful surroundings, however, Provins is just the ticket.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank losmochileros
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Provins
0.2 mi away
Le Cesar Hotel
Le Cesar Hotel
#1 of 5 in Provins
247 reviews
0.3 mi away
Aux Vieux Remparts
Aux Vieux Remparts
#2 of 5 in Provins
759 reviews
10.7 mi away
Hotel Le Beau Rivage
Hotel Le Beau Rivage
#1 of 1 in Nogent-sur-Seine
37 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.1 mi away
Hotel du sauvage
Hotel du sauvage
#1 of 1 in La Ferte-Gaucher
68 reviews
20.2 mi away
Logis Auberge de Nicey
Logis Auberge de Nicey
#1 of 2 in Romilly-sur-Seine
101 reviews
0.1 mi away
La Demeure des Vieux Bains
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Clos de Provins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Clos de Provins

Property: Le Clos de Provins
Address: 4 rue des Jacobins, 77160 Provins, France
Region: France > Ile-de-France > Seine-et-Marne > Provins
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Provins
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dans la cité Médiévale de PROVINS classée au Patrimoine Mondial de l’Humanité par l’UNESCO, nichée au creux de l’épaule de la Collégiale Saint-Quiriace, entre la Roseraie de Provins et les souterrains, cette belle maison avec ses chambres d'hôtes, vous séduira par son calme et sa sérénité, tout en vous faisant bénéficier de son emplacement privilégié.Le Clos de Provins par sa situation, ses jardins et ses murs vous protège des bruits de l'agglomération, tout en étant dans le centre historique et à 250 mètres du Centre de la ville. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing