We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A modern hotel”
Review of Le Cesar Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Le Cesar Hotel
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Provins
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 July 2014

We visited the town "by mistake" and it was a great surprise!
The hotel is very modern, very clean and within walking distance of all the attractions in Provins
There is a nearby public parking if you arrive in a car
The town is well worth a visit and the hotel is a great option for the night

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank drorl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (263)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

21 - 27 of 263 reviews

Reviewed 10 February 2014

Superb hotel. Stayed here twice for business. I believe its an old post office which has been renovated as hotel. Located near the centre but with quite a steep climb to the medieval part of town which has a big donjon, church and nice restaurants.

1st time in a superior room which I would definitely recommend. Spacey, modern interior, stylish. Nice beds and bathroom.

2nd time was a standard room. Also modern and nice but a lot smaller.

Personnel is helpful, friendly and speaks English.

I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jaap L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2013

Converted from the old post office, this modern hotel retains some of its original features and is in the centre of Provins, a very quiet town. Decor is minimalist white, grey, black. We stayed in a room overlooking interior courtyard which was a triumph of design over commonsense. Although a superior room, we had to be extremely tidy, and bend to the room's needs rather than ours. Examples are cannot open wardrobe doors fully, or work the safe easily because It is at floor level with tiny written instructions. I was the one who had to get on hands and knees with magnifying glass to read them. On the plus side, bed was lovely and firm, all linens good quality and housekeeping was excellent. The hotel is well situated in the lower "lived in" part of town. Close by are bars, bakeries, a Monoprix supermarket, all shops (closed Mondays) and many restaurants. We even found a self service launderette and a newly built public swimming pool here.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sue_the_traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2013

One reason for booking here was the nearby rstaurants offering a choice of places to eat. Sadly, in October, none were open on a Tuesday evening. Not was Cesar's own bar. A steady walk uphill (a long, steep hill) to the old town found a few stalwarts still open for business and we had a decent typically french provincial meal. As for Le Cesar yes, very modern, clean and comfortable, but the open plan 'wetroom' with loo, shower and wash basin area wouldn't suit some.
The young friendly chap on reception gave us room 201. 'Second floor?' I asked. 'Non', quoth he, follow me. As we neared the end of the corridor he realised that - yes, surprise - 201 is indeed on the 2nd floor, so back to reception.
Is there parking? I asked. Yes, quoth he, and pointed towards the public car park. We recceed this on foot and found that the Cesar parking needed a code at the gate. Back to the hotel. Oh yes, quoth he, and its €10 for the parking - lucky we didn't drive there and have to leave our car blocking the entrance while we found this out. It's 300 yards, so plonk the car on the corner near the hotel while you offload your bags.

Room Tip: Pretty good sound proofing, so rooms at the front looking at the lovely CXIII church are ok unless y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 295horace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2013

Pleasant well designed (almost over-designed) hotel. Our enjoyment much enhanced by Edouard on reception, who even brought in a friend to help get our computer online. Room smallish, but that's what we paid for. (And we paid last-minute prices: the full price we'd have thought expensive for a place that doesn't offer big-hotel facilities.)

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SusanC186342
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2013

This is a very stylish hotel in the centre of Provins. The entrance and reception is white with mirrored walls. Our room was fitted with superb style and a most comfortable bed with beautiful white linen. There is parking available a short distance away as is a public car park. Breakfast is very standard but adequate. Provins seems short on good restaurants in the lower town, especially on a Monday.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank frankafile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2013

We love modern, clean lines and this surpassed our expectations. Located in a quiet neighbourhoud a few steps from the lower town. We took the comfort room and it was perfect. Brand new. Super modern. Very comfortable bed. Bathroom small but wonderfully fitted out. Can't say enough about how delightful the hotel is. You'll be amazed at how new something can be in such an old town. Love it. Would definitely return.

Room Tip: We took 304, comfort room. Perfect for two people. Plenty of closet space. Love it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JudithWilson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Provins
0.5 mi away
Aux Vieux Remparts
Aux Vieux Remparts
#1 of 5 in Provins
822 reviews
15.2 mi away
Hotel du sauvage
Hotel du sauvage
#1 of 1 in La Ferte-Gaucher
72 reviews
24.1 mi away
Auberge de la Source
Auberge de la Source
#1 of 1 in Saint-Ouen-sur-Morin
169 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.5 mi away
Hotel Le Beau Rivage
Hotel Le Beau Rivage
#1 of 1 in Nogent-sur-Seine
41 reviews
19.4 mi away
L'Hotel du Marais Romilly
L'Hotel du Marais Romilly
#2 of 2 in Romilly-sur-Seine
44 reviews
20.2 mi away
Kyriad Design Enzo Cannes-Ecluse
Kyriad Design Enzo Cannes-Ecluse
#1 of 1 in Cannes Ecluse
67 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Cesar Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Cesar Hotel

Address: 13 rue Sainte Croix, 77160 Provins, France
Region: France > Ile-de-France > Seine-et-Marne > Provins
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Provins
Price Range: £84 - £198 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Le Cesar Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 27
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Le Cesar Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing