We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“BEAUTIFUL SECLUDED PROPERTY FOR A "GET AWAY FROM...”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
22 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Private Room, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 9
Provins, Seine-et-Marne, Ile-de-France

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 22 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
hadden23
northern ireland
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“BEAUTIFUL SECLUDED PROPERTY FOR A "GET AWAY FROM IT ALL" HOLIDAY”
Reviewed 12 July 2016 for a stay in June 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Our family, consisting of Grand Parents, Mother Father and two daughers aged 18 months and 20 years old stayed in La Marvilie for 10 days from June 13 until June 23. I must say we all enjoyed our holiday very much in its tranquil surroundings situated in the middle of golden barley fields on the outskirts of the twin villages of Marvilie and Savins. My son and I were there for the European football championships and the girls were there for the adventure, sight seeing and of course the shopping in Provins and Paris. The vilages are within a short walk from the accommodation but have no shops of any kind, the nearest being in Longville, about 5 miles away. The nearest large town is Provins where there are a good range of shops ans restaurants so a car is essential if you are staying in La Marvilie because of its isolated situation. The accommodation is in a 18 th century converted farm house beautifully restored by its owner, the delightful, if somewhat wonderfully eccentric, owner Marele. Large French breakfasts are the order of the day with homemade jams and a variety of breads and cakes, orange juice, strong French coffee or tea. As there were 6 of us we had the whole place to ourselves and this included the kitchen plus dining room with large screen television. The weather during our stay was very poor with lots of rain as well as low temperatures so we were glad of the TV and board games available for our use.
The nearest tran station is in Longville about 5 miles away and the paris train will get you to the capital in around one hour........there is also a supermarket in Longville selling most of the things you will require.
La Marvilie is quite difficult to find unless you have sat nav as it is tucked away in a cul de sac right out on the edge of the village. If you are looking for a relaxing holiday and are not bothered about the isolation then you will enjoy it here, but as I have already said....a car is essential.

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
Families with young children
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tiffany F
Zurich, Switzerland
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A Home Away from Home”
Reviewed 3 May 2016 for a stay in April 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We are a 3-generation family (6 people ranging from 9 to 83 year's-old) who spent 3 nights and 4 days with Maril. We all loved our time there.

The bedrooms and en-suite bathrooms are quiet, generous in size and nicely decorated. Very, very clean in all parts of the house. No unpleasant orders (e.g., dog). House rules help keep it that way: no shoes in the bedrooms and no smoking in the house.

We didn't test Maril's dinners, but if her breakfasts are any indication of her culinary talents, then we are certain you will not regret it. Breakfasts are copious and really homemade: eggs from the property, homemade jams, yogurts, crepes, madeleines, cakes. Then not to be passed-over: the freshly pressed orange juice, fresh fruit salad, croissants and pain au chocolats, warm milk and strong coffee. All you can eat, and we never succeeded in finishing everything.

The children (9,11, and 12 years) were particularly happy to help collect the eggs from the chickens, feed the goats, play with the dogs, etc.. Happy children = happy parents

The grandfather (83 years) was equally content. His room was on the ground floor, in a quieter part of the house (although the whole location is quiet). He really liked the bathrobes and slippers along with the TV in his bedroom. Also convenient was Maril's shuttle service (small fee) to the local train station, which he used to go to Paris.

Maril is an excellent hostess; friendly without being overbearing, helpful without being complicated. In fact, there was nothing complicated about our stay. We will be returning.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: All the things to entertain the kids: animals, billiards, pool, balls, etc. and the breakfast
Liked least: No Wifi; inconvenient when traveling from abroad. The owner also currently cannot call her non-French clients because she doesn't have an international dialling plan.
Travelling group: En famille élargie
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 May 2016
Chers patrick et Tiffany et les enfants
Merci de votre venue à La Marvilie, et votre gentillesse. sachez que pour moi ce fut un plaisir de vous accueillir et ce qui est de la table d'hôte aucun problème ce sera pour une autre fois. Vraiment avec un grand plaisir de vous revoir en famille à la Marvilie à Savins
Maril
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zou2b
Bastia, France
1 review
Reviewed 10 May 2018 for a stay in May 2018
Google Translation

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
12 May 2018
cher christopher et Zou merci grandement pour ce magnifique temoignage et cela me va droit au coeur, un gros travail en amont pour que tout soit impecable pour mes hotes et comme je le dit tout le temps ce nest que de magnifiques rencontres a chaque fois.Gros bisous et a tres bientot
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marie L
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2018 for a stay in April 2018
Google Translation

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
25 Apr 2018
Quelle belle attention, c'est avant tout moi qui vous remercie de votre gentillesse, et ce n a été que du bonheur de vous rencontrer sous un week-end ensoleillé. A très bientôt en espérant que le beau temps sera au rdv et ça j'en suis sur.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BÉNÉDICTE...
Fontenay-sous-Bois, France
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 October 2017 for a stay in October 2017
Google Translation

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joël R
1 review
Reviewed 24 August 2017 for a stay in August 2017
Google Translation

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
24 Aug 2017
Chère Maria et Joël, merci pour cette belle appréciation qui me touche beaucoup vous avez marqué l esprit de La Marvilie mais surtout le mien, vous êtes adorable et hâte de voir l arrivée de ce que la vie donne de plus, on peut dire que La Marvilie et moi aurons le plaisir de vous revoir, je vous embrasse tendrement et encore merci à vous deux
Maril
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stef D
Paris, France
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2017 for a stay in August 2017
Google Translation

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
14 Aug 2017
bonjour et comment vous dire que sans vous La Marvilie ne serait pas, chaque client, me motive a toujours etre la pourvous
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
;