We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“1 Nite, 2 Dogs, Lots of Smiles” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Kimpton Hotel Monaco Seattle

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Seattle
Ranked #13 of 100 Hotels in Seattle
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Camas, Washington
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“1 Nite, 2 Dogs, Lots of Smiles”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 May 2013

We only stayed for one Saturday night but left feeling like we were valued regulars. I've read up on many of the reviews here and feel that travelers must READ the hotel details in order to have a satisfying stay. The hotel is priced very well for the central location, excellent decor, extremely gracious staff and the ease of having a hardworking valet securely park your car. Many other high-end hotels in the area appear worn out - but the Hotel Monaco is fresh, clean and has a youthful vibe. Every guest that I saw was smiling and relaxed, which made me feel the same. There is obviously great attention to details - including wonderful dog beds and bowls. Note to dog owners - the Freeway Park is about two blocks away but is a very nice grassy, well landscaped park. Since this is a business district, so there are very few spots for pets otherwise. But it was a pleasant and easy walk. So our trip was excellent!!!

Room Tip: Note - room windows do not open but air flow in the room was great. Windows are large for lots of li...
See more room tips
Helpful?
Thank nwmary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMatthehotel, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Monaco Seattle, responded to this review, 29 May 2013
Thanks for the nice note about the smiles and the staff! they are a pretty happy bunch and it shows with every guest who stays with us. - and dogs! we love 'em our founder Bill Kimpton would always travel with his and struggle finding a place where he could stay with Fido, soooo he made it a policy to always welcome them, and we do. (the occasional cat makes it in here too). Come back soon.
Tom.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,236 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,528
    521
    131
    36
    20
See reviews for
426
831
134
494
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (435)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 May 2013

The Hotel Monaco is a conveniently located, well-maintained hotel in Seattle with a friendly staff. When I checked in, I was given a complimentary upgrade to a a very spacious, clean, and nicely appointed suite with a very comfortable bed.

Within minutes of settling in, the front desk called to ensure everything was in order in the room and asked if I needed anything. The following morning, I needed a late check-out time, and they obliged without penalty. The staff was helpful in finding taxis, making local recommendations, and storing my things after check-out. I would highly recommend the Hotel Monaco.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Amy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 May 2013

4 of us travelled to Seattle for Black Friday shopping...what a awesome stay. The service was excellent from the time we entered until the time we left. The staff were great and also gave us some great suggestions for dinner.Loved the rooms and very clean too. Will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cher V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canada
Level Contributor
20 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2013

We stayed here for 6 days for a family vacation, all adults. This hotel is conveniently located within walking distance from the LINK light rail station (5 min walk), in between Pioneer Square and Pike Place Market (10-15 min walk) thus both tourist locations are within short walking distances, and near car rental locations (Alamo, National). It does get a little quieter at night compared to a few blocks down at the PIke Place Market, but that didn't bother us at all.

Our room was on the 7th floor near the elevator faces another building at the back (south). Thus we didn't have any view from our windows at all. This didn't really bother us since we were out for most of the day. The room was booked via Hotwire. There was no noise concerns whatsoever and we all managed to sleep through the nights. We got 2 comfortable queen size beds in our room. I wouldn't say the room is spacious compared to 2 other hotels that I've seen/stayed in downtown Seattle since there wasn't much space between the end of the bed and the desk in the room. If you pull the chair out, it leaves pretty much no space to walk. The room was generally clean except the bathroom when we first checked into the room. Housekeeping should pay more attention to the walls inside the shower and the bathtub since I found multiple strands of hair on the wall and in the bathtub. I didn't want to make a big deal out of it and didn't complain to the front desk. But it was kinda gross and I did question about the cleanliness at other parts of the room not visible to the eyes. Other than that, other parts of the room in general look relatively clean.

Staffs at the front desks were extremely friendly. Complimentary coffee/tea were served in the lobby in the morning which was convenient for those on the go. Overall, I would recommend this hotel to others for its location and convenience. I'd give this a 5* if they pay closer attention to the cleanliness of the room.

The walls are nicely decorated. The next few lines are just random observation: Why would anyone put a piece of art/photo right behind a TV? I'm not an artsy person, but the 1 large + 2 small pieces of art pieces placed next to each other on the wall with one small one right behind the tv did not please the eyes since they could have been placed at better locations in the room :)

Room Tip: We stayed on the 7th floor near the elevator and facing another building in the back (south side). I...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cookiedoughy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
52 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2013 via mobile

So I stayed at this hotel for May long weekend and it was very nice, the location was good if you want to go downtown lots and not bother driving. Valet was 40$ which to me seemed a bit outrageous, but I guess it kinda matched the cost of the room.

The room was very clean, tidy, lots of space but for the amount of money you spend the bathroom wasn't anything to be excited about. The tub was tiny and it was just meh. The resteraunt downstairs was good, and the staff were great. However, I don't think I would come back, unless the price per night dropped

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SamanthaL975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
76 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 May 2013

Great central location . Rooms spacious and great decor. Space needle / Pike Place Market all in walking distance. Service excellent . We were celebrating our wedding anniversary and a nice bottle of bubbly was delivered to our room.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank marymac13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roslyn, Washington
Level Contributor
52 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 May 2013

We stayed at the Monaco the weekend of May 10th. We love Kimpton hotels because the let us bring Sushi our Boxer Lab mix. The hotel is a wonderfully renovated hotel central to everything. The remodel was done in a quasi deco style and everything blends perfectly. The staff goes beyond the bar to make you feel welcome and at home. They treated Sushi like one of the family. I love Kimpton and I love this place.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank OrientationsTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Seattle hotels
Inn at the Market
#1 of 100 in Seattle
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,527 reviews
Downtown
Kimpton Alexis Hotel
Kimpton Alexis Hotel
#5 of 100 in Seattle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,960 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel 1000
#11 of 100 in Seattle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,938 reviews
Grand Hyatt Seattle
#6 of 100 in Seattle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,798 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kimpton Hotel Monaco Seattle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kimpton Hotel Monaco Seattle

Property: Kimpton Hotel Monaco Seattle
Address: 1101 Fourth Avenue, Seattle, WA 98101-3003 (Formerly Hotel Monaco Seattle - a Kimpton Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Washington > Seattle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Seattle
#4 Spa Hotel in Seattle
#6 Business Hotel in Seattle
#7 Romantic Hotel in Seattle
#8 Luxury Hotel in Seattle
#17 Family Hotel in Seattle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Kimpton Hotel Monaco Seattle 4.5*
Number of rooms: 189
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Be among the first to experience the fully renovated Hotel Monaco Seattle. A 4-diamond luxury property, Hotel Monaco embraces the spirit of international travel in sophisticated style. Walk through the doors and escape into a world of sensory indulgence. The Hotel Monaco, with its warm welcome and exceptional service, is within walking distance of Westlake Center, Pacific Place, Pike Place Market, Benaroya Hall and many other iconic attractions. The wildly popular Sazerac restaurant is also conveniently adjacent to the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Southall Travel so you can book your Kimpton Hotel Monaco Seattle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Monaco Seattle Kimpton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing