We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel, great location, great service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Seattle
Ranked #8 of 101 Hotels in Seattle
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Denver
2 reviews
“Great hotel, great location, great service”
Reviewed 3 December 2013

We just returned from a 5 night stay over Thanksgiving at the Hotel Monaco. With both work trips and visits to family taking me to Seattle frequently, I've stayed at a lot of hotels downtown, and the Hotel Monaco is one of my favorites. It's clean, stylish, centrally located, and offers truly great service. I feel like the staff are genuinely happy that I'm there.

We stayed in a Monte Carlo suite with our 2 young boys, and it was perfect - my husband and I had a king bed, the boys shared the fold out couch, and we had a heavy curtain separating the 2 areas so the boys could go to sleep before we did. The kids loved having a goldfish in their room and the welcome gift bag they got upon arrival. My youngest had a cold while we were there, and at midnight one evening I called down for a humidifier. They sent one right up, and we used it for the rest of our stay, which helped our son sleep comfortably. You won't get that at just any hotel!

While it doesn't have a pool, the service, location, and quality of the room more than makes up for it. We will definitely return.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mwright2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,339 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,601
    541
    138
    37
    22
See reviews for
446
870
136
515
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (453)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Eastsound, Washington
Level 5 Contributor
90 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 December 2013

This is my new favorite hotel in Seattle-much nicer than the large business hotels in the same class. The location is excellent-you can walk everywhere-and the ambience classic Kimpton-friendly, sassy, excellent follow-through. Our room was large and lovely, very clean, and very though it was only on the third floor. The Kimpton amenities are great-good newspapers, robes, umbrellas, bar credit, and a smart concierge who listened.
I'll be back!

Room Tip: Really, they're all good, and In Touch members are upgraded whenever possible. Our room faced t...
See more room tips
Green Features: They're in place. they even give you a $5 daily credit if you don't want room service!
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gwen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Mateo, California
Level 5 Contributor
94 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 December 2013

It's a nice hotel, with friendly, helpful staff, and in walking distance of some great Seattle areas. I arrived to find that I had been upgraded in order to accommodate a person who was joining me later during my visit. There's free wine in the evenings, free newspapers, and overall a nice atmosphere. My only issue is that some of the "perks," like discount coupons for the bar, were never deducted from the bill. (It's only $10, but hey, it's $10.) This aside, it's a hotel I will definitely stay in again next time I'm in Seattle!

Room Tip: Don't expect a view, but if you can get upgraded to the top floors, it's quieter and the roo...
See more room tips
Green Features: There are efforts to curb unnecessary housekeeping, towel collecting, etc. There are recycling bins in each room, which I found very helpful, too!
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank craftyphd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMatthehotel, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Monaco Seattle, responded to this review, 2 December 2013
Thanks so much for hitting the high points of the stay with us, we hand pick those folks at the desk and door to make the experience that much better, and the location, what can I say! so close to the shopping, great eats and waterfront. If it is raining on one of the 300 days here that it does rain, just pop into Sazerac for a bowl of Gumbo, and you will never want to leave. Hey those Raid the Bar perks, if we missed it on your account just shoot me an email and we will get it right, it is most certainly not a test to see if you will bother to use it! Can't wait for you to come back, see you soon.
Tom.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Central California
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 November 2013 via mobile

First stay at a Kimpton property (5 nights - 2 adults / 2 children in a Monaco Suite). Having visited the Seattle area six previous times, trying a different hotel each stay, I read great reviews about the Monaco and decided to give it a chance. I joined their loyalty program and booked a great rate at $135 per night. Hotel location was great. Easy walking distance to downtown shopping / dining, as well as Pike Market. If you were venturing further than your legs would take you, the guys out front were great about grabbing a cab for you.
However: When it comes to housekeeping, things were lacking to say the least. We only received maid service 3 days of our stay, 4 occupants only received 3 towels each day and we had to make 3 calls for toilet paper & tissue during the stay??? I'm about a 7 on the high maintenance scale, but this was a bit much! If the housekeeping gets under control, everything else is good to go.

Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank MrsClanton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMatthehotel, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Monaco Seattle, responded to this review, 2 December 2013
Thanks for the great note, you certainly scored a terrific rate, bet you went right to the Kimptonhotels.com web site and read all about the rates, packages and special things going on. Glad you had such a good time, we routinely stock all our rooms for 2 guests with an extra supply for that 4th person in the room, just stop by the desk and let us know that you have 4 folks in there and we will pile the towels and TP inside the door. We have a wonderful program which allows you to skip housekeeping service for a little treat in Sazerac, as we never miss housekeeping service, and I mean we never miss doing a room, wonder if you used the card thinking it was gettin your room taken care. of? The housekeeping service is cracker jack on it, never hesitate to pick up the phone anytime you arent getting what you would like, from Toilet Paper to tissue to towels, we would rather you have it than us keeping it in the closet!
Come back soon, keep checking that web site for more of those great rates.
Tom.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Andover, Massachusetts
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 November 2013 via mobile

This hotel offers personalized and professional service, comfortable amenities plus the $10 credit for snacks in my room. Plus they have a store to stock up on anything you might need. Room service is punctual with a menu of local favorites.

Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank 9meredithb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMatthehotel, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Monaco Seattle, responded to this review, 2 December 2013
The Seattle Monaco is one of my favorites too! We also have a couple of other Kimptons for you to try next time you are in Seattle! The Alexis down on 1st avenue is a gorgeous hotel with all the elegance of the golden age of hotels, the Vintage up on 5th is a wonderful true boutique with the best dang Italian on the West Coast, one meal in Tulio and you will never look at Italy the same way and then there us us!
Come back soon.
Tom.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paradise Valley, Arizona
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 November 2013 via mobile

This is a gem of a hotel. We've stayed here a couple of times and have always had a great experience.
At check in, the front desk agents were very friendly and informative.
The rooms are very clean and decorated in a very chic way.
The wine/ beer hour is a very nice way to meet other guests. One night they had a fabulous musician performing solo on his guitar.
Lastly, we used the hotels bikes to ride around bainbridge island and had a blast.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank timhil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMatthehotel, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Monaco Seattle, responded to this review, 2 December 2013
you made it to Bainbridge Island on our bikes? Wow, that would be worthy of a glass of wine or two at our wine hour, that guitar guy is name Nate June and at some point people are going to pay a lot of money to see him, he is brilliant, or you could just get a room at the Monaco, have a glass of wine and sit in our stunning living room and listen to him for free. What a seriously terrific idea! Thanks for the nice note, glad you had such a good time with us!
Tom.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Seattle hotels
Downtown
Kimpton Alexis Hotel
Kimpton Alexis Hotel
#4 of 101 in Seattle
2,024 reviews
Grand Hyatt Seattle
#6 of 101 in Seattle
3,038 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Inn at the Market
#1 of 101 in Seattle
2,650 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kimpton Hotel Monaco Seattle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kimpton Hotel Monaco Seattle

Property: Kimpton Hotel Monaco Seattle
Address: 1101 Fourth Avenue, Seattle, WA 98101-3003 (Formerly Hotel Monaco Seattle - a Kimpton Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Washington > Seattle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Seattle
#3 Spa Hotel in Seattle
#5 Luxury Hotel in Seattle
#6 Business Hotel in Seattle
#7 Romantic Hotel in Seattle
#17 Family Hotel in Seattle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Kimpton Hotel Monaco Seattle 4.5*
Number of rooms: 189
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kimpton Hotel Monaco in Seattle is a 4-diamond luxurious, yet playful property that embraces the spirit of international travel in sophisticated style. Walk through the doors and escape into a world of sensory indulgence. Kimpton Hotel Monaco, with its warm welcome and exceptional service, is within walking distance of Westlake Center, Pacific Place, Pike Place Market, Benaroya Hall and many other iconic attractions. Guests can enjoy hosted wine hour featuring local Washington wineries every night in our lobby between 5-6pm. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Odigeo, Priceline, Southall Travel, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Kimpton Hotel Monaco Seattle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Monaco Seattle Kimpton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing