We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“They made my special event spectacular!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Kimpton Hotel Monaco Seattle

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Seattle
Ranked #13 of 100 Hotels in Seattle
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Edgewood, Washington
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“They made my special event spectacular!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2014

I plan tons of events at various venues and with various caterers and my experience with Hotel Monaco on Feb. 6, 2014 was one of the best. The staff was beyond competent and professional during the entire event. They arranged/hired A/V specialist to help set-up our presentations and the price was pretty affordable. I received many comments and emails in the days after the event raving about the dinner that was served. Our event had over 120 PR professionals in attendance to receive awards. This venue was very elegant and fit right with our look and feel. Thanks for the great service!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kslate2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMatthehotel, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Monaco Seattle, responded to this review, 10 April 2014
What a great thing to read! this is one of our special touches, we have some great meetng space in the hotel and loads of people have discovered that those rooms are not only beautiful but oh so quiet and staffed by a wonderful group of folks. The meeting room food is fantastic, I should know as my office is next door to the kitchen and yep, part of my job is official food taster!
tom.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,236 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,528
    521
    131
    36
    20
See reviews for
426
831
134
494
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (435)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Oregon, United States
Level Contributor
74 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 February 2014

I have stayed in Monaco in DC and Portland several times. I'm happy to have been able to now add Seattle to the list. I only got to stay for one short night, but as always the staff and rooms were amazing. I got stuck on a train for 2 hours longer than I was supposed to and the staff was kind enough to provide me with 2 wine vouchers because I missed the happy hour in the lobby. I plan on having to travel to Seattle a lot over the coming months and will make this my home away from home.

Room Tip: I've stayed in many and they are all great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Melody B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMatthehotel, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Monaco Seattle, responded to this review, 10 April 2014
Well Melody, never hesitate to connect with the hotel if you are coming this way on a regular basis, we have our own in house staff to help you with any special arrangements, or needs. the train is a great way to connect Seattle and Portland, 3 hours, wifi and a bar car - what a way to travel!
Tom.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2014

The staff at this hotel was attentive and was eager to make my stay a positive experience. My room was well appointed and welcoming. The drink hour with live music on Saturday night was a treat. A home away from home.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nina B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMatthehotel, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Monaco Seattle, responded to this review, 21 February 2014
Thanks Nina!
Travel for the most part is kind of a drag unless you are doing it for fun or heading to Waikiki, so my goal here is to try and make it a little less horrific. The wine hour, fun people and a goldfish, what else could you want! Next time add in a dinner in Sazerac, the catfish will make any journey a treat!
Tom.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, PA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2014

Stayed here on a long weekend with my boyfriend. It was our first trip together as a couple and so we wanted to stay somewhere unique and special. I love boutique hotels and have had great experiences at other Kimpton properties so I felt confident it would be a great stay for us.

Room was beautiful and extremely clean. Biggest surprise for us: being on east coast time, we were both awake by 5. Went down to the lobby in hopes that they could point us to a coffee shop open at that hour and found that morning complimentary coffee was already set up for guests, even on Saturday and Sunday morning when most other guests were sleeping in.

One thing I wasn't crazy about-- instead of personal travel size shampoo/conditioner/body wash, they had dispensers in the shower like you might see at a fitness center locker room. This feels less sanitary to me. While it may save money, I'd recommend the hotel do away with this. If it's a rule in Seattle (due to the city's green initiatives?), it would be nice to have a placard up that explains the shared toiletries are a "save the earth" thing.

Room Tip: We had a room looking at the wall of another building-- maybe request a view?
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DarkWriter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMatthehotel, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Monaco Seattle, responded to this review, 21 February 2014
hello Philly, thanks for the nice note, appreciate that you appreciated the early morning coffee ready to go, its actually just out to keep the night staff awake but if it worked for you, so much the better! Those wall dispensers are my idea and while they may take away from the joy of loading up on little bottles of shampoo for your house, we have save over 100,000 little plastic bottles from going into the landfills each year! thats alot of plastic, so here I am saving the whales. We also have a note in the rooms saying if you would like personal sized bottles, they are available as well. Being in the middle of the city, views are a tad challenging, but hey ask and we will do what we can for you, however the crashing surf isnt going to be seen from the Monaco, console yourself with a cocktail and some fritters in Sazerac or wander up the street to Tulio at our Vintage hotel and you will fall in love with old world Italy. Good to go.
Tom.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oahu, Hawaii
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 February 2014

I love ALL Kimpton properties. We stayed here during the Valentine's Day and everything was AMAZING!! I requested a corner room, that was granted, extra pillows, that was granted. Everything went fine until the fire alarm went off at 2 am. Of course we had to evacuate and we were outside standing in the cold for 10 minutes and it was just a horrible night after that. I had to be at work by 9am and the entire night, I just couldn't sleep after having to evacuating the building. The young lady who worked the night shift, was calm, and caring making sure her guest was doing good. You owned it!!! Way to go!!
During our check out, the young man, I believe whose from Chicago, just didn't seem to care nor did not ask how was our evening. He probably had a bad morning to start off with.
Any who, Hotel Monaco is in the heart of downtown Seattle close to everything. I highly recommend Hotel Monaco! One more thing, I rate the pool & spa terrible because I haven't tried any of their amenities yet ... so don't quick to judge :)

Room Tip: Call in advance for any room request if your looking to get a nice room. In this industry, I've...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jae206
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMatthehotel, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Monaco Seattle, responded to this review, 20 February 2014
Hey Jae, appreciate the notes and certainly appreciate your understanding when the alarm went off in the middle of the night, we had a tiny smoke issue in the kitchen and as horrible as getting out of bed at 2 am is, the whole system worked the way it should. Claire our Night Mgr, did all she could to make the guests happy and as always - your safety is number one.
hmmm.... we dont actually have a pool or spa, but if we did I know it would be awesome! thanks for the notes, come back soon.
Aloha Tom.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wausau, Wisconsin
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 February 2014

I travel to Seattle quite often for business and this hotel is the one hotel I will always go to. Compared to the other hotels I've stayed at in Seattle, Hotel Monaco by far exceeds in customer service. The level of professionalism at Hotel Monaco never wanes. Staff is always respectful, polite, and caring to ALL hotel guests.

A special shout out to Peter who works at Hotel Monaco's reception desk - Great job and thanks for your respectful manner! It's because of employees like you that I'd choose to return to this hotel! ;)

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Y L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMatthehotel, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Monaco Seattle, responded to this review, 20 February 2014
Thanks Wisconsin, appreciate your thoughts on the hotel and staff, Peter is a rock star! he has just received a little promotion just because of all the stuff he accomplishes around here. The hotel staff here are chosen for their ability to make guests feel special by finding out what you need and making it happen. Come back soon, check out the latest and greatest in Sazerac, there is a blackened salmon sandwich which will change your life! Tom .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mokena, Illinois
Level Contributor
32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 February 2014 via mobile

Love this Kimpton! Location is perfect...walking distance to restaurants, shopping, pikes market, monorail to space needle, lite rail from airport university street station stop is a short two block walk...restaurant is outstanding! Everyone makes you feel welcome! Rooms are immaculate and beds are super comfortable. Wine reception is always good! Our flight was cancelled and we had no problem booking our same room for two more nights. Everyone was very accommodating! You won't be disappointed!

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank DebbieInMokena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMatthehotel, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Monaco Seattle, responded to this review, 20 February 2014
Thanks Deb, what a treat to be able to stay in a great hotel when your flight is canceled vs. sleeping in the airport! The location of this hotel really is one of the great aspects of our success, across the street from the library, which while just a library is also listed as one of the top 10 most important buildings in the country, you can also walk up the street to the hotel Vintage and experience the best Italian restaurant around - Tulio will make you come back to the city for the roast chicken everytime! Look forward to seeing you at wine hour!
Tom.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Seattle hotels
Inn at the Market
#1 of 100 in Seattle
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,527 reviews
Downtown
Kimpton Alexis Hotel
Kimpton Alexis Hotel
#5 of 100 in Seattle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,960 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel 1000
#11 of 100 in Seattle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,938 reviews
Grand Hyatt Seattle
#6 of 100 in Seattle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,797 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kimpton Hotel Monaco Seattle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kimpton Hotel Monaco Seattle

Property: Kimpton Hotel Monaco Seattle
Address: 1101 Fourth Avenue, Seattle, WA 98101-3003 (Formerly Hotel Monaco Seattle - a Kimpton Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Washington > Seattle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Seattle
#4 Spa Hotel in Seattle
#6 Business Hotel in Seattle
#7 Romantic Hotel in Seattle
#8 Luxury Hotel in Seattle
#17 Family Hotel in Seattle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Kimpton Hotel Monaco Seattle 4.5*
Number of rooms: 189
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Be among the first to experience the fully renovated Hotel Monaco Seattle. A 4-diamond luxury property, Hotel Monaco embraces the spirit of international travel in sophisticated style. Walk through the doors and escape into a world of sensory indulgence. The Hotel Monaco, with its warm welcome and exceptional service, is within walking distance of Westlake Center, Pacific Place, Pike Place Market, Benaroya Hall and many other iconic attractions. The wildly popular Sazerac restaurant is also conveniently adjacent to the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Southall Travel so you can book your Kimpton Hotel Monaco Seattle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Monaco Seattle Kimpton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing