We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good base to explore Seattle”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Seattle
Ranked #8 of 101 Hotels in Seattle
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
297 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 159 helpful votes
“Good base to explore Seattle”
Reviewed 10 June 2014

The hotel is a great location to get to the main tourist attractions, the staff were friendly and helpful and willing to offer advice and views on where to visit and how to get to various locations. (as expected from a Kimpton Hotel but it is always welcome). The rooms were a good size (we were upgraded as we were in touch members) although we were advised that due to the hotels location and size that there is a limited number of rooms with views which is a shame when in such a pretty city, although our trip was to explore the city and not to look out of a window. Prior to our trip we contacted the hotel for recommendations about tour companies to use for a trip to the Boeing Factory and around Pike Market, the recommended Customized Tours and Savor Seattle Food Tours both of which were excellent and could not be faulted, (many thanks Jeffery and Daniel the hotel Concierge‘s).
We used the restaurant only for breakfast but this was a very high standard and not overly expensive (for a hotel).

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Davetheaddick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMatthehotel, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Monaco Seattle, responded to this review, 11 June 2014
hey Dave! thanks for the great notes - you are right, you should sign up as an In Touch Member either before you get here or at least while you were here kimptonhotels.com will get you all the info you need. Jeff and Daniel are rock stars and know that they will so appreciate you reaching out and mentioning them! Sazerac is a great breakfast choice, the eggs in hell dish is something I dream about!
Tom.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,355 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,612
    546
    138
    37
    22
See reviews for
447
877
136
517
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (457)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Montana
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 June 2014

From the personal email I received after booking my stay online, to the friendly greeting at the front desk, to the over-the-top "Will do!" attitude of every staff member, to the comfy beds, to the let-me-hold-your-door valet, to little Simon (our pet goldfish in our room), to the surprise bottle of champagne from the concierge, to the perfect downtown location... Well, I could go on and on! Generally, hotels are a necessary evil for those of us who travel often and we're happy if we get a decent room with an attentive staff. Hotel Monaco and its team were, in a word, incredible! And to get a personal email from the GM after my stay, well... Let's just say that I will intentionally travel through Seattle just so I get to spend some time at Hotel Monaco. Well done!!

Room Tip: We could hear a business traveler on a conference call through our wall at o-dark-thirty, but that i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravellerLisa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMatthehotel, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Monaco Seattle, responded to this review, 10 June 2014
Dear Lisa, thanks for the nice note, that GM deserves a raise! Simon sends his best regards and thanks you for the DVD finding Nemo you left him. The staff here have a great deal of fun at work and I think it shows with the guest reaction to a great group of people. There are 2 other Kimptons in Seattle (soon 3 - the Palladian opening soon) and they all share the same great attitudes. I encourage you to try Sazerac next time you are with us, a bowl of gumbo or some local scallops will make any business trip almost bearable!
Tom.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auburn, Washington
2 reviews
Reviewed 9 June 2014

This past weekend we decided to take the kids on a little 'staycation' at the Hotel Monaco in Seattle. We all loved it but they especially loved the little things that were just for them (the toy box in the lobby was a huge hit - as was the stuffed otter in the room :) And they thought the animal print robes were just for them!! We stayed in a suite so the kids could sleep on the pull out couch (with their own TV) and the bedroom are was separated by curtains (we also had our own TV). This made life SO much easier. The staff were all SO friendly, especially to our girls, which meant so much. Comfy bed, lots of room, and great extras by being an In Touch member (which is free!). We'll definitely be back....maybe next time we'll bring the dog too!

Green Features: Love that they use large shampoo/conditioner/body wash bottles in the shower instead of the little mini bottles that end up being wasted.
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Denise O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMatthehotel, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Monaco Seattle, responded to this review, 10 June 2014
OK Denise, you made the GM smile! we really are great for a staycation and one of those Monte Carlo Suites are perfect for a family escape. - Yep the 2 TVs make my day as I have seen so many Sponge Bob episodes that I sometimes talk like him in my sleep. Sure, sign up for the in touch program, its free! and there are all sorts of goodies available, just go to kimptonhotels.com before you arrive and you will be amazed. Come back soon, there are 60 other Kimptons to try!
Tom.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
amsterdam
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2014

Just back from two nights at the Monaco. Had an overall great stay. Room is -!- roomy and nicely stacked with amenities. Sat on the top floor, looking over 4th ave and beyond.
Biggest downer where the completely useless blinds in front of the windows, taking most of the view - and the light out. A total waste of the sofalike windowsill, Only one blind could slide out of the way completely, the others stuck so it was impossible to reach the blackout curtains behind them. Plus one of the blinds was broke and couldn't close. Had a very early wake up, because of the light.
Bathroom is ok, but've never been a fan of showering in the bathtub. Room and linnen were clean save for some rust in the bathroom,
There are so many outlets on the desk and nightstands, you could power mission control. Wouldn't have been a bad idea to swap some of them for european/english outlets, but usb option is nice. Firing up the TV is a bit of a bummer, trying to lead you through endless payed options.
The somewhat shady teddy on the bed was a nice touch, the yogamat a tad overdone.
Staff was good, used the restaurant only for breakfast, which was decent.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank yourimika
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMatthehotel, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Monaco Seattle, responded to this review, 10 June 2014
But I love those plantation shades! I am so sorry that yours werent working the way they should, but we should have been on those. This would be the first time someone noted too many outlets in the room, but good to know as well we have European converters downstairs at the desk, which is mission control, you need it, just ask and we will get it! Hope you make the big trip back from Amsterdam, I think you were here to collect a plane, if it was you and part of your group, the issue in the restaurant has also been addressed. Thanks so much.
Tom.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Olympia, Washington
1 review
Reviewed 7 June 2014

The hotel accommodations and attentive service throughout our experience was absolutely wonderful :-). For those considering an event with Hotel Monaco catered by their restaurant Sazerac, we have no doubt your expectations will be exceeded! The boardrooms and ballroom are beautiful; the hotel staff and catering manager show tremendous pride in their work. Several wedding guests mentioned that the food was the best they've ever had at a wedding. We'd strongly recommend Seattle's Hotel Monaco and Sazerac!!

Room Tip: Suites have two tv's and quite a bit more room to roam. Worked great for all the bridesmaids to...
See more room tips
Green Features: We distinctly remember the option to decline maid service in the middle of our two-night stay. This eliminated the unnecessary washing of towels, etc. The hotel provided a $5 incentive to do so. Great idea/program in our opinion!
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMatthehotel, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Monaco Seattle, responded to this review, 10 June 2014
Congratulations, that was quite a wedding, the party looked like such a good time I was pretty hurt you didnt invite me! We have 189 rooms in the hotel and over and over again I hear from guests having meetings here about the quality of the food and how great their meetings turned out to be. I am so pleased that your special day will be one to remember. Thanks for the great notes!
Tom.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2014 via mobile

I'm writing this review during my last night of a six night stay at the hotel. Usually my reviews hash out all aspects of a hotel stay...the good, bad and the sometimes ugly. But this time I'll get straight to the point. My stay consisted of sending back loads of thinned, stained and dirty towels, finding suspicious stains on bed sheets, and dealing with half hearted attempts by staff to "correct" the problem. Too bad the Four Seasons was booked. If you care about hygiene and customer service, simply look elsewhere. It's just not worth it. Counting down the hours until I go home.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
3 Thank msritajd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMatthehotel, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Monaco Seattle, responded to this review, 10 June 2014
Dear Mrs. T, As you are well aware this review is false and I am asking you to please remove the posting. Your room had a do not disturb on it for 5 days and you only contacted us on your last day to advise that your towels had not been changed. It is my hope you will do the right thing and remove this offensive statement.
Tom.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ojai, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 June 2014

We had a mini-family vacation to celebrate my brother's birthday and thoroughly enjoyed the hotel. The staff are amazing, very friendly and genuine, the room was very comfortable with every amenity we needed, the "vibe" of the hotel was upbeat and fun, and the location is perfect. Can't recommend highly enough for someone looking for the quintessential Seattle experience!

Green Features: We loved the options you provided and kudos to you for placing emphasis on something so important.
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lynne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMatthehotel, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Monaco Seattle, responded to this review, 5 June 2014
Thanks Lynne! Great that you could use our hotel to connect with family, what a brilliant idea! the vibe comes from the staff and they actually have alot of fun here which really helps. The Green focus is a Kimpton special and that is very kind that you noticed. We estimate that we have eliminated 90,000 little plastic bottles each year from going in the trash. Thats alot of plastic!
Hope you took the family into Sazerac, great meeting for business or family, think i will head up there for a bowl of gumbo now!
Tom.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Seattle hotels
Downtown
Kimpton Alexis Hotel
Kimpton Alexis Hotel
#3 of 101 in Seattle
2,042 reviews
Grand Hyatt Seattle
#6 of 101 in Seattle
3,080 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Inn at the Market
#1 of 101 in Seattle
2,671 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kimpton Hotel Monaco Seattle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kimpton Hotel Monaco Seattle

Property: Kimpton Hotel Monaco Seattle
Address: 1101 Fourth Avenue, Seattle, WA 98101-3003 (Formerly Hotel Monaco Seattle - a Kimpton Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Washington > Seattle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Seattle
#3 Green Hotel in Seattle
#6 Luxury Hotel in Seattle
#6 Business Hotel in Seattle
#7 Romantic Hotel in Seattle
#17 Family Hotel in Seattle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Kimpton Hotel Monaco Seattle 4.5*
Number of rooms: 189
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kimpton Hotel Monaco in Seattle is a 4-diamond luxurious, yet playful property that embraces the spirit of international travel in sophisticated style. Walk through the doors and escape into a world of sensory indulgence. Kimpton Hotel Monaco, with its warm welcome and exceptional service, is within walking distance of Westlake Center, Pacific Place, Pike Place Market, Benaroya Hall and many other iconic attractions. Guests can enjoy hosted wine hour featuring local Washington wineries every night in our lobby between 5-6pm. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Southall Travel, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Kimpton Hotel Monaco Seattle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Monaco Seattle Kimpton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing