We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overrated”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Seattle
Ranked #7 of 104 Hotels in Seattle
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 22 June 2014

Hotel is glitz with no follow through
Not clean enough for standard presented
Service in lobby was slow, behind on hot water/coffee, people routinely standing around looking confused.

Restaurant was not particularly tasty, understanding they have a couple signature dishes, regular menu items are bland.
Service was wayyyy too slow as well.
We were 1 of 3 in restaurant.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
3  Thank LumiLove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMatthehotel, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Monaco Seattle, responded to this reviewResponded 24 June 2014

Hello Tyler Texas, there are many things in life that are over rated starting with root beer floats which I persoally find a way to mess up two great things in life, but can't imagine where we went off with you, I did note that you didnt like us, Sazerac or Seattle Coffe works but enjoyed the Warwick hotel which isnt normally on any visitors top listings, interesting. Sazerac focuses on great flavors and a southern cuisine mixed with a Northwest flare. I have heard folks mention that it was creative, fun but never bland. As mentioned before, never hesitate to let us know when you are here where we can make your stay a little more focused, it is fun to write these reviews but wouldn't you rather talk to us in person? come back and give us another try, we really aren't overated.
Tom.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,438)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,162 - 1,168 of 2,438 reviews

Reviewed 21 June 2014

We've stayed at many place in Seattle, this is one of the best. our first time at Monaco and we will be back. All staff are very friendly and helpful. Daniel Salvatora, the concierge, responded to my email query about japanese restaurants in downtown with some great ones. Our taxi magic booked taxi did not come, so we asked the Valet attendant to get us and he literally ran across the street to hail us one. so nice. The bell staff & valet who got our car from the garage were very good. The morning coffee in the lobby is from Starbucks! even has little coffee tree planted in front of it. It was all very welcoming. the room was spacious and clean.

Room Tip: Very little city noise in our room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank robinlall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMatthehotel, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Monaco Seattle, responded to this reviewResponded 7 July 2014

thanks Robin, you are the first person to ever mention the little coffee trees we have grown from seed which we put out in the lobby with our coffee service. Somehow doubt we will ever give Starbucks a run for the money, but they are fun to watch grow. Those guys at the front door are the best, I really enjoy the group and they do tend to get things done, just like Daniel Salvatora the best concierge in the world. Come back soon, we love guests like you.
Tom.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2014

What a wonderful weekend we had at the Monaco. The hotel, staff & location are perfect. We do plan to stay again. This is a great place to stay to see the sights on Seattle and, of course, shop, plus the restaurant is great.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Coralinn K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMatthehotel, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Monaco Seattle, responded to this reviewResponded 7 July 2014

Coralinn, you are obviously a genius, thanks so much for the notes on your stay. the location is one of the great secret successes of the hotel, we are just far enough away from the circus which is the Market and close enough you can walk there easily. Sazerac is great, from a grilled cheese sandwich to scallops and salmon, it really is the place for everyone.
Tom.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2014

My 2 sisters and I spent the weekend with our Canadian cousins, sharing stories, memories and laughter. The Monaco was a wonderful place to do that. The Hotel staff were courteous and accommodating, making our dinner reservations for us at Tulio's. We truly felt that we were pampered and taken care of.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JoAnneBelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMatthehotel, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Monaco Seattle, responded to this reviewResponded 9 July 2014

Dear JoAnne, thanks for this, what a great note and idea to use the hotel for a family reunion. there are a great number of small rooms here for dinners and then big comfy rooms to hang out in. Tulio! is on my top 10 list, great that you made it there. Come back soon.
Tom.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2014

Everyone at the Hotel Monaco makes such an incredible effort to ensure that your entire stay is top notch. You are always greeted warmly and made to feel like a true guest. The rooms are furnished beautifully and are warm and inviting. I travel to the Monaco regularly for business and continue to be blown away time after time with their amazing service. I am already looking forward to my next visit.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank K_Santucci
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2014

First of all, I liked the Hotel - great lobby, rooms, location, etc. Loved the hosted wine bar. Really nice restaurant and lounge. But beware of a couple of things - parking is $40 and you pay for the internet - $15 per device - not per room! If your party has two smartphones and a laptop - add $45 to the bill.

The price for the room was fine but I am getting use to hotels that are all-inclusive and include the cost of a happy hour, breakfast and internet in the room rate. I want my life to be easier and uncomplicated. This kind of reminds me of the Las Vegas trick of adding a Resort Fee to every stay.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VimyBoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2014

Great location and fun atmosphere in such a great city. We really enjoyed it and loved having a "pet" fish in our room with us. Would definitely stay there again. The staff was friendly and had a great attitude.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank barb777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Seattle hotels
Downtown
Kimpton Alexis Hotel
Kimpton Alexis Hotel
#4 of 104 in Seattle
2,117 reviews
Inn at the Market
#1 of 104 in Seattle
2,758 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Paramount Hotel
#3 of 104 in Seattle
1,865 reviews
Grand Hyatt Seattle
#6 of 104 in Seattle
3,282 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kimpton Hotel Monaco Seattle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kimpton Hotel Monaco Seattle

Address: 1101 Fourth Avenue, Seattle, WA 98101-3003 (Formerly Hotel Monaco Seattle - a Kimpton Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Washington > Seattle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Seattle
#3 Green Hotel in Seattle
#6 Business Hotel in Seattle
#6 Luxury Hotel in Seattle
#7 Romantic Hotel in Seattle
#16 Family Hotel in Seattle
Price Range: £142 - £456 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Kimpton Hotel Monaco Seattle 4.5*
Number of rooms: 189
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kimpton Hotel Monaco in Seattle is a 4-diamond luxurious, yet playful property that embraces the spirit of international travel in sophisticated style. Walk through the doors and escape into a world of sensory indulgence. Kimpton Hotel Monaco, with its warm welcome and exceptional service, is within walking distance of Westlake Center, Pacific Place, Pike Place Market, Benaroya Hall and many other iconic attractions. Guests can enjoy hosted wine hour featuring local Washington wineries every night in our lobby between 5-6pm. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Southall Travel, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Kimpton Hotel Monaco Seattle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Monaco Seattle Kimpton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing