We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Goldfish!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Seattle
Ranked #7 of 104 Hotels in Seattle
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 2 July 2014

Like all Kimpton hotels, the Monaco is comfortable and stylish. The service is top notch and the hotel is wonderfully kid and dog friendly. We particularly enjoyed the goldfish they brought to our room (a perk for kids). I had only only one complaint this trip -- a long story involving the Pride parade and access to the hotel -- but the management resolved it quickly and to my satisfaction.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank patribad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMatthehotel, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Monaco Seattle, responded to this reviewResponded 3 July 2014

Thanks Canada, we so appreciate your understanding with this, the hotel sits on 4th Avenue which tends to be the peak way for people to get into the center of town. when there is something going on the street gets jammed, you can't imagine the Seahawks parade. Last year they opened the parade route to allow people to cross but then again that was last year. Anyway, so appreciate your trip down and crossing the border and the challenges of the city. Come back soon, we love our neighbors to the North!
Tom.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,425)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,137 - 1,143 of 2,425 reviews

Reviewed 2 July 2014

We always enjoy the Monaco. On this visit, our scheduled arrival was late at night. We appreciated the very warm and efficient greeting. The room was comfortable. The valets were all friendly and efficient and recognized us from our previous stay, even though it had been a while since we were here. Our early morning checkout was equally friendly and efficient. We wish we had been able to stay longer. This is a terrific hotel in a great location.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kupunakane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMatthehotel, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Monaco Seattle, responded to this reviewResponded 3 July 2014

Hey Hawaii!
Thanks for the great note, we really try to be consistent with the arrival whether noon or midnight you should find those smiling faces to greet you, appreciate you noting them for us. Next time stay longer, have breakfast in Sazerac and dinner up the street at Tulio - both are enough to make it back to the mainland soon!
Tom.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2014

This is a beautiful hotel. It is tastefully decorated, and elegant in style. The rooms are perfect, and the sleeping is comfortable and sumptuous. We had local Washington State wine to taste between 5 & 6pm, which was the perfect way to ease into dinner. Well located, the attractions of the city are within easy reach by foot, and they offer free bicycles for guests to use. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bizcoach27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMatthehotel, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Monaco Seattle, responded to this reviewResponded 3 July 2014

Do you know how far Perth Australia is from Seattle! Wow, you certainly earned that glass or two of Washington State Wine. We try and focus on local products and offerings from our beautiful state and with the amazing wines here in Washington, its pretty darn easy. Hope the rest of your trip was spectacular and we made it to your top ten list!
Tom.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2014

If you love the hipster sensibility but hate the attitude, this hotel is for you. We were able to early check-in by desk-clerk Ms. Pinball, where we learned about the Pinball Museum, a pinball app and other unknown facts about Seattle. The room was quiet and we enjoyed the company of Simon, our goldfish. Join the perks program, and wireless is free, strong and reliable. The morning Starbucks coffee was a bonus. It’s close to everything, and on the day of departure, the staff made arrangements for an ultra-early car to the airport. Top notch all the way, and gay-friendly to boot.

Room Tip: I think the higher rooms are nicer, but we were happy on the 5th floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank noodlejudah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMatthehotel, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Monaco Seattle, responded to this reviewResponded 27 June 2014

Hey Minneapolis, I watched the news this morning and saw the incredible rains happening out there, odd you would come out here for the sun! Simon sends his best regards and thanks you for that copy of Jaws you left him. you are correct of course, joining the perks program is always the way to go. kimptonhotels.com is the key.! speaking of keys, walking through the door in the lobby is the key to a great meal, Sazerac will never disappoint!
Tom.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2014

I've stayed at the Hotel Monaco many time before on many occasions. This was a birthday weekend in Seattle with my mom and including the Rock N Roll 1/2 Marathon on a Saturday. Even though I didin't check in with the birthday rate, they recognized me checking in for the birthday and then later we came back to the room and found the great bottle of wine for the birthday.

Peter and Brynn at the front desk and Colin on the front door... man... they made the trip the best. They were so helpful with information and all around good help... cheer to them!

My mom and I love to camp out at the Hotel Monaco... oh yeah, love the Mostardo at Sazarac (comes with the cheese plate)... I'm eating some right now!

Look forward to our next stay there!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MaryRupprecht
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMatthehotel, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Monaco Seattle, responded to this reviewResponded 27 June 2014

Thanks Mary, I am always delighted to have notes from return guests, you obviously know what you are talking about ! the hotel looks for guests having a special event and work hard to make it memorable. you hit on some of the best in the hotel, Peter, Brynn and Colin are a great collection of fun folks who really set the tone for the hotel. come back soon!
Tom.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2014

We enjoyed the complimentary wine tasting each evening after a long day of work. The room was very large, unlike some other Seattle hotels we've stayed in. Updated and funky decor, robes in the room. Good location - we easily walked to restaurants nearby. Will stay again.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AbbyFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMatthehotel, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Monaco Seattle, responded to this reviewResponded 27 June 2014

Thanks Canada! We are very thrilled to welcome our neighbors from the North to Seattle and of course if they write nice reviews like this we really like them! The location of the hotel is a key component as well as the number of great restaurants, just up the street you can find Tulio which will change your life with one order of gnocchi or at least make any day better. Come back soon!
Tom.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2014

Had a great experience at this hotel recently! Instant upgrade at check in, great decor, and super friendly staff. More over my keys got separated from my car keys when my car was with the valet and they sent someone on the ferry to Bainbridge Island to return them! Also, after filling out the survey they sent at the end, I was emailed back by the Regional Director who had clearly actually read my review. I love Kimpton hotels as a general rule, but this one is really exceptional. Will definitely stay again!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Erin1886
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMatthehotel, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Monaco Seattle, responded to this reviewResponded 27 June 2014

Thanks again Erin, that Regional Director is a great guy, I love working with him and hope he gets a big raise soon! We were so very sorry and frantic about the key chaos that the fact it worked out well and everyone pitched in was wonderful. Appreciate the nice note, come back soon!
Tom.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Seattle hotels
Downtown
Kimpton Alexis Hotel
Kimpton Alexis Hotel
#4 of 104 in Seattle
2,097 reviews
Inn at the Market
#1 of 104 in Seattle
2,743 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Grand Hyatt Seattle
#6 of 104 in Seattle
3,245 reviews
The Paramount Hotel
#3 of 104 in Seattle
1,836 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kimpton Hotel Monaco Seattle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kimpton Hotel Monaco Seattle

Address: 1101 Fourth Avenue, Seattle, WA 98101-3003 (Formerly Hotel Monaco Seattle - a Kimpton Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Washington > Seattle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Seattle
#3 Spa Hotel in Seattle
#6 Business Hotel in Seattle
#6 Luxury Hotel in Seattle
#7 Romantic Hotel in Seattle
#16 Family Hotel in Seattle
Price Range: £107 - £365 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Kimpton Hotel Monaco Seattle 4.5*
Number of rooms: 189
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kimpton Hotel Monaco in Seattle is a 4-diamond luxurious, yet playful property that embraces the spirit of international travel in sophisticated style. Walk through the doors and escape into a world of sensory indulgence. Kimpton Hotel Monaco, with its warm welcome and exceptional service, is within walking distance of Westlake Center, Pacific Place, Pike Place Market, Benaroya Hall and many other iconic attractions. Guests can enjoy hosted wine hour featuring local Washington wineries every night in our lobby between 5-6pm. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Southall Travel, Expedia, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kimpton Hotel Monaco Seattle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Monaco Seattle Kimpton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing