We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Love this property”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Seattle
Ranked #8 of 100 Hotels in Seattle
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
50 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Love this property”
Reviewed 6 July 2014

I have been here 2 times in June and will be coming back again next week. This Kimpton property does not fail. The staff is wonderful, the hotel and rooms are beautifully appointed and the restaurant attached is very good!
The location is terrific- close to everything and the price point is just as great..
Only downside: Slow service in restaurant, other than that an A+ all away around!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank the3hondos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMatthehotel, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Monaco Seattle, responded to this review, 7 July 2014
Thanks Denver, hey we have a great Monaco hotel in Denver and another Kimpton being built there, thats just a side note, Great that you like Sazerac, we need to find out what the food delivery issue is in there for you, never had that experience, but if you say it is, we will make it right! This Kimpton is very close to the other 3 in the city, the Vintage up the street is totally beautiful and Tulio the Italian restaurant will make you want to come back to Seattle every week!
Then the Alexis on first, is a classic and makes every best list in the city. Come back soon and try them all!
Tom.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,262 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,551
    522
    133
    36
    20
See reviews for
432
839
136
499
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (441)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cleveland
Level Contributor
29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2014

This is a very nice hotel in a good location. What sets it apart is the careful attention to detail. Prior to our arrival, the hotel sent an email asking if we were celebrating a special occasion. I responded back that I was traveling with my daughter and she had just celebrated her 18th birthday and graduated from high school. When we got to our room, there was a "happy birthday" balloon, some snack mix and a couple of drinks arranged neatly, together with a handwritten note from the head concierge. Nice touch. When I got home, I received a survey, which I filled out with consistently high marks. I got a personal email response from the Regional Director of Operations, thanking me for taking the time to acknowledge the great service we had received. Really nice touch. In a world of large, cookie cutter hotels where you are made to feel like a number, the Hotel Monaco Seattle really sticks out. If you want to be made to feel special, look no further.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ClevelandOhioTim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMatthehotel, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Monaco Seattle, responded to this review, 7 July 2014
Hey Cleveland, thanks for this, yep there are some great staff members at the hotel and they all seem to be having a good time all the time! That Regional Director is a real keeper, think I will give him a raise (pretty sure his name is Tom.) We really work very hard to be something other than one of those beige hotels, and anyway it works we are on it. I love working for Kimpton, and with my family I very much enjoy staying at them, hope you will come back soon, thanks for the great note.
Tom.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2014

Travelled from Vancouver BC to Seattle for 2 nights in Hotel Monaco in June. All staff, from the doorman to the front desk to the room staff are warm and exceptionally professional. We had our 2 kids with us and the staff were very accomodating. They even have a toy chest where the kids welcome to choose a toy to keep. That's never happened anywhere! The only downside is that the rooms can be quite noisy, you can hear everything next door. If you are a light sleeper bring earplugs. Definately recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank M W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMatthehotel, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Monaco Seattle, responded to this review, 7 July 2014
Dear MW, thanks so much for the great notes on the hotel! Having a couple of kids myself I know that the toy chest, gold fish and a room full of interesting things makes a kid smile. and that is what we are about. smiles. Sazerac is a brilliant family restaurant, my children dream of the chicken and fries quite frequently! We dont normally have noise issues, but you can never predict what the room next door to you will get up to, just give us a call at the desk and we are on it!
Tom.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2014

Like all Kimpton hotels, the Monaco is comfortable and stylish. The service is top notch and the hotel is wonderfully kid and dog friendly. We particularly enjoyed the goldfish they brought to our room (a perk for kids). I had only only one complaint this trip -- a long story involving the Pride parade and access to the hotel -- but the management resolved it quickly and to my satisfaction.

Green Features: Most hotels request that you decline room and towel service; Kimpton actually provides perks for doing so.
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank patribad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMatthehotel, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Monaco Seattle, responded to this review, 3 July 2014
Thanks Canada, we so appreciate your understanding with this, the hotel sits on 4th Avenue which tends to be the peak way for people to get into the center of town. when there is something going on the street gets jammed, you can't imagine the Seahawks parade. Last year they opened the parade route to allow people to cross but then again that was last year. Anyway, so appreciate your trip down and crossing the border and the challenges of the city. Come back soon, we love our neighbors to the North!
Tom.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hawaii
Level Contributor
660 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 237 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2014

We always enjoy the Monaco. On this visit, our scheduled arrival was late at night. We appreciated the very warm and efficient greeting. The room was comfortable. The valets were all friendly and efficient and recognized us from our previous stay, even though it had been a while since we were here. Our early morning checkout was equally friendly and efficient. We wish we had been able to stay longer. This is a terrific hotel in a great location.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kupunakane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMatthehotel, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Monaco Seattle, responded to this review, 3 July 2014
Hey Hawaii!
Thanks for the great note, we really try to be consistent with the arrival whether noon or midnight you should find those smiling faces to greet you, appreciate you noting them for us. Next time stay longer, have breakfast in Sazerac and dinner up the street at Tulio - both are enough to make it back to the mainland soon!
Tom.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
444 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2014

This is a beautiful hotel. It is tastefully decorated, and elegant in style. The rooms are perfect, and the sleeping is comfortable and sumptuous. We had local Washington State wine to taste between 5 & 6pm, which was the perfect way to ease into dinner. Well located, the attractions of the city are within easy reach by foot, and they offer free bicycles for guests to use. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bizcoach27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMatthehotel, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Monaco Seattle, responded to this review, 3 July 2014
Do you know how far Perth Australia is from Seattle! Wow, you certainly earned that glass or two of Washington State Wine. We try and focus on local products and offerings from our beautiful state and with the amazing wines here in Washington, its pretty darn easy. Hope the rest of your trip was spectacular and we made it to your top ten list!
Tom.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
25 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2014

If you love the hipster sensibility but hate the attitude, this hotel is for you. We were able to early check-in by desk-clerk Ms. Pinball, where we learned about the Pinball Museum, a pinball app and other unknown facts about Seattle. The room was quiet and we enjoyed the company of Simon, our goldfish. Join the perks program, and wireless is free, strong and reliable. The morning Starbucks coffee was a bonus. It’s close to everything, and on the day of departure, the staff made arrangements for an ultra-early car to the airport. Top notch all the way, and gay-friendly to boot.

Room Tip: I think the higher rooms are nicer, but we were happy on the 5th floor.
See more room tips
Green Features: Total Eco-Rock-Stars. $5 voucher if you skipped the cleaning, which was a nice incentive. The front desk even took my bag of cans to recycle them.
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank noodlejudah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMatthehotel, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Monaco Seattle, responded to this review, 27 June 2014
Hey Minneapolis, I watched the news this morning and saw the incredible rains happening out there, odd you would come out here for the sun! Simon sends his best regards and thanks you for that copy of Jaws you left him. you are correct of course, joining the perks program is always the way to go. kimptonhotels.com is the key.! speaking of keys, walking through the door in the lobby is the key to a great meal, Sazerac will never disappoint!
Tom.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Seattle hotels
Inn at the Market
#1 of 100 in Seattle
2,553 reviews
Downtown
Kimpton Alexis Hotel
Kimpton Alexis Hotel
#5 of 100 in Seattle
1,971 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Grand Hyatt Seattle
#6 of 100 in Seattle
2,836 reviews
Hotel 1000
#11 of 100 in Seattle
2,948 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kimpton Hotel Monaco Seattle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kimpton Hotel Monaco Seattle

Property: Kimpton Hotel Monaco Seattle
Address: 1101 Fourth Avenue, Seattle, WA 98101-3003 (Formerly Hotel Monaco Seattle - a Kimpton Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Washington > Seattle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Seattle
#3 Green Hotel in Seattle
#5 Luxury Hotel in Seattle
#6 Business Hotel in Seattle
#7 Romantic Hotel in Seattle
#17 Family Hotel in Seattle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Kimpton Hotel Monaco Seattle 4.5*
Number of rooms: 189
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kimpton Hotel Monaco in Seattle is a 4-diamond luxurious, yet playful property that embraces the spirit of international travel in sophisticated style. Walk through the doors and escape into a world of sensory indulgence. Kimpton Hotel Monaco, with its warm welcome and exceptional service, is within walking distance of Westlake Center, Pacific Place, Pike Place Market, Benaroya Hall and many other iconic attractions. Guests can enjoy hosted wine hour featuring local Washington wineries every night in our lobby between 5-6pm. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Southall Travel, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kimpton Hotel Monaco Seattle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Monaco Seattle Kimpton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing