We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Hotel!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Seattle
Ranked #8 of 100 Hotels in Seattle
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great Hotel!”
Reviewed 11 August 2014

We are very fond of Kimpton hotels and this one was no exception. It's stylish, chic and luxurious without being snooty. The staff was fantastic: they always greeted us warmly when we went through the lobby. And the bellhops were particularly great with help for cabs and directions, given that the hotel was on the Torchlight Parade route and mobs of people threatened to block the entrance and exit of the hotel and neighborhood. Great location with respect to attractions in downtown. Easy walk form the train station from the airport as well as to the monorail that goes to the Space Needle and all the museums surrounding it....and Nordstrom's! The restaurant (Sazerac) was great for breakfast, and we had one dinner there. The only deduction in points would be for having no oysters. Seriously? In Seattle, you're out of oysters?!!! Our room was on the 11th floor which is considered premier, although we could not figure out why it was different from the other floors except for the express elevator. Beautiful and comfortable, the interior design is always pleasing to this former designer. Beds/bedding comfortable and luxurious, well appointed with a Kuerig coffee maker, excellent flat screen, etc. Maid service was great and reliable. The only drawback was the lack of view: the brick wall of the building next door. The only rooms with any sort of view look out on 4th Ave. No water views here. But minor, unless you plan to stay in the room the whole time. Of course with Kimpton you get all sorts of fun goodies like free bike rental, complimentary wine tastings in the lobby at happy hour, and if you are afraid of being lonely, you can arrange for a pet goldfish to be sent to your room. Ha! They think of everything. That's why we're always loyal to this brand.

Room Tip: DO NOT STAY IN 1102! In the middle of the night, our neighbors decided to take a shower and the plum...
See more room tips
Green Features: They even have a program that pays you $5 a day (hotel credit) to cancel your maid service. Great!
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CJABQ11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMatthehotel, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Monaco Seattle, responded to this review, 13 August 2014
Thanks Albuquerque - appreciate all the notes and suggestions. btw room 1102 isnt cursed or haunted, there was some air in the pipes and that caused the noise on that floor. Sure pleased that as a Kimpton fan we made the cut! come back soon we are delighted to welcome our fans anytime!
Tom.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,264 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,553
    522
    133
    36
    20
See reviews for
432
840
136
499
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (441)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2014

My wife and I booked a four day trip to Seattle from Texas. We had a great time at this hotel. The staff was very friendly and provided the support we needed. Everything is kept cleaned and we had no problems. I would recommend advertising the free bike rental when people check in. We didn't know about it until we checked out.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rsdebate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Franklin, Tennessee
Level Contributor
241 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2014

The room was wonderful, the bed comfortable and the room very clean. The room was decorated in the most wonderful manner which I really did like and it was a generous size as well. The view was lacking...we only could see the office building next door..so that was sad.
The staff was kind and helpful. The hotel was having a problem with the linen service and they we nice enough to offer us a certificate as a form of apology which we used for one of our nights there. That was a very happy surprise. The towels were funny...they were rough and had strings and looked worn..I guess that was one of the problems they were having. We were very impressed with the service in the restaurant there they were kind enough to come up with a couple of requests that was not on the menu for us and room service was good as well.
We would highly recommend this hotel. Also, the location was perfect for walking around downtown to see the sights.

Room Tip: Great location for the Pike Place Market and the water front and easy to walk to other places as we...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelgal1994
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huntsville, Alabama
Level Contributor
218 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2014

We really enjoyed our stay at Hotel Monaco. We purchased it through Priceline and found that for the price and quality it was well worth our money! Very intimate, quiet and swanky boutique hotel. It's central to everything downtown and just down the street from some great restaurants and shopping.

I found our bed really comfortable, room quiet and the design choices fun and inspiring. I'd stay again for sure!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christina T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anchorage, Alaska
2 reviews
Reviewed 8 August 2014

I thought this hotel was great. The staff was friendly and very accommodating. I was upgraded to a Premium King Suite upon check-in. There is a complimentary wine hour between 5-6pm and they give you a gold fish companion for your room. I would have given it 5 stars had there been complimentary water bottles (or a water station in the lobby area) and their wi-fi was better. Overall, I thoroughly enjoyed my stay and will stay again on my next business trip.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RebeccaAnne219
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amman, Jordan
Level Contributor
79 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2014

Stayed for 8 days for business. This is a good hotel in downtown Seattle. It is clean and tidy, but I am not sure about the facilities. For example, the gym is small and poorly equipped. I am not sure why don't they provide complimentary water bottles just like every other hotel on the face of the planet and they charge a fortune for their Italiano bottled water. Service can be lame sometimes and their staff is always busy. I have stayed in better hotels in Seattle like the Hyatt Olive 8.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank YousefOmar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMatthehotel, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Monaco Seattle, responded to this review, 8 August 2014
8 days, heck we should have given you a uniform and put you on the payroll.! Strangely the gym here is one that I use frequently (not that often actually) but for a hotel gym, its pretty well stocked with everything from water, apples to hula hoops. We dont have Italian water so not sure where that comes from, maybe you were at Tulio the best Italian restaurant in the city up the street and saw Italian water there? The staff here tend to be busy providing great levels of service to all our guests which seems to counter the idea that they are lame, but glad that you noted them in your comments, thanks so much for staying with us and I enjoyed reading all the other hotels you have stayed at in Seattle as well, you certainly get around!
Tom.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
144 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2014

Having stayed at a Kimpton in Washington last year I wanted to stay somewhere special for my daughters 21st and chose this hotel. I upgraded when booking and wow it was worth the extra, the room was stunning. The staff were all friendly and couldn't do enough to help. I emailed the hotel to let them know it was my daughters 21st and there was bubbly, balloons and nibbles on our arrival - so lovely. The wine tasting hour was great and thoroughly enjoyed after a long day sightseeing. It was adjacent to all the sights and close to the monorail. Highly recommend.

Green Features: Very eco-friendly. Specialised bins in rooms and other in room options for hotel credit. Seattle is very eco-aware.
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HollyHin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMatthehotel, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Monaco Seattle, responded to this review, 7 August 2014
Happy Birthday! what a great surprise for your daughter and so glad we can be a part of it. We work hard to provide surprise and delight for fun events like this, cant always guarantee champagne and balloons but if we can we do! The hotel has a great number of different types of rooms and suites all of which work for a great event such as this, top it off with dinner in Sazerac and you have a memory.
Tom.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Seattle hotels
Inn at the Market
#1 of 100 in Seattle
2,553 reviews
Downtown
Kimpton Alexis Hotel
Kimpton Alexis Hotel
#5 of 100 in Seattle
1,972 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Grand Hyatt Seattle
#6 of 100 in Seattle
2,840 reviews
Hotel 1000
#11 of 100 in Seattle
2,948 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kimpton Hotel Monaco Seattle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kimpton Hotel Monaco Seattle

Property: Kimpton Hotel Monaco Seattle
Address: 1101 Fourth Avenue, Seattle, WA 98101-3003 (Formerly Hotel Monaco Seattle - a Kimpton Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Washington > Seattle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Seattle
#3 Spa Hotel in Seattle
#5 Luxury Hotel in Seattle
#6 Business Hotel in Seattle
#7 Romantic Hotel in Seattle
#17 Family Hotel in Seattle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Kimpton Hotel Monaco Seattle 4.5*
Number of rooms: 189
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kimpton Hotel Monaco in Seattle is a 4-diamond luxurious, yet playful property that embraces the spirit of international travel in sophisticated style. Walk through the doors and escape into a world of sensory indulgence. Kimpton Hotel Monaco, with its warm welcome and exceptional service, is within walking distance of Westlake Center, Pacific Place, Pike Place Market, Benaroya Hall and many other iconic attractions. Guests can enjoy hosted wine hour featuring local Washington wineries every night in our lobby between 5-6pm. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Southall Travel, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kimpton Hotel Monaco Seattle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Monaco Seattle Kimpton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing