We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Welcome”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Seattle
Ranked #7 of 104 Hotels in Seattle
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 12 August 2014

Arrived late in the evening - but the staff was very friendly and helpful. We had dinner in the attached restaurant and although there was a problem with the order, it was quickly and pleasantly fixed with a personal visit from the Chef to ensure everything was in order. Without question, we had breakfast there the next day.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Edmund M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMatthehotel, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Monaco Seattle, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2014

Thanks Edmund, great to know that even though you had a late arrival you had the same warm welcome we shoot for with all our guests. The experiences in Sazerac are always a good time, and the attention to detail is important to us, delighted you could meet our brilliant and handsome Chef Jason even if it was done after an error on our part. Please come back now that you have had breakfast and dinner - give lunch a try!
Tom.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,437)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,102 - 1,108 of 2,437 reviews

Reviewed 12 August 2014

When you arrive off a 25 hour plane journey you just want somewhere to lay your head. When you arrive off said long trip with two children in tow you had better hope efficient service awaits and whisks you to your room. At the Hotel Monaco Seattle the service was superb from the moment our car pulled up at the front door. They went one better than just giving us a bed, our suite had the dreamiest bedding we have all slept in for a long time. When finally we woke the next morning the Starbucks coffee dispenser in the Lobby was a welcome touch, the kids loved the hot chocolates too. We were in Seattle to sightsee and the hotel is centrally located which made walking and public transport a breeze. We ate in the restaurant one evening and were lucky to get a table. It seems to be a popular spot with the locals which is always a good sign. We would not hesitate to stay here again.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Monique v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMatthehotel, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Monaco Seattle, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2014

Hey Austrailia. yep I have made that flight as well and the delight of getting to your room after you get off that plane can not be measured. We will check a guest into the room anytime we can, if the room is available. I just spoke with the desk today and they had a guest very upset that their room wasnt available at 10 in the morning, the challenge is getting those other folks out! we are thrilled that you and the family had a great time, we are perfectly situated to discover this beautiful city, there are 3 other Kimptons here in Seattle, so get on that plane and come back for more!
Tom.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2014

I recently stayed at the Hotel Monaco on a business trip and just fell in love. The location was perfect for sight-seeing and everything that you want to see while in Seattle is walking distance. The Hotel Staff was friendly, helpful, knowledgeable and fun. Loved Taryn! The staff was able to help me extend my stay and I really enjoyed myself because this hotel is so comfortable. I also learned the Hotel Monaco is also pet-friendly.... This is a major plus. Great place to stay and really enjoyed myself!

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mybebe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMatthehotel, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Monaco Seattle, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2014

Hey Charleston! what a great note, thanks so much. you are right, Taryn is brilliant and great asset to the Monaco we are lucky to have her! Getting each guests stay right is important to her and I am thrilled she hit all the marks with you!
Tom.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2014

Had a two day business trip in Seattle which worked out well with my wife's birthday. She chose this hotel because of its great location and reviews. When we arrived, our vehicle and luggage were taken cared automatically. At the front desk we were greeted by Brynn with her big smile and helpful information. Very professional and warm, she took her time showing us on a map all the locations and the myriad questions we had. In our room/suite, the management had left a battle of Champagne, chocolates, balloons, and a stuffed otter for the wife. A very nice touch and totally unexpected. BTW, this is a pet friendly place and you can ask for a goldfish is you are missing your pet. The rooms are large, comfortable and modernly decorated. The bed and pillows (you can ask for feather if wanted) are excellent. Robes and towels went with the level of the hotel. Finally, an iron with a long cord plug and not the useless two footer. Wifi was included in the price and worked well. Smart TV was a decent size and had no problems using our flash drive to watch movies. Our room, 601, had no view, but it was very quiet and dark for a good night sleep. Overall, a very good hotel with great staff in a central location.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Raul S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMatthehotel, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Monaco Seattle, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2014

Thanks Raul! Brynn is brilliant and great fun to work with, thanks for noting her in your comments. We do give it our best to try and make special occasions fun, great to read that you connected with it all. Some of the hotel faces a building on the back side and yep, no view, however we are in the middle of a major city and views are at a premium, i was just in Waikiki and stressed over a lack of view, but hey it was Waikiki. Delighted you had a great sleep and found a little fun, - that is what it is all about.
Tom.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2014

We are very fond of Kimpton hotels and this one was no exception. It's stylish, chic and luxurious without being snooty. The staff was fantastic: they always greeted us warmly when we went through the lobby. And the bellhops were particularly great with help for cabs and directions, given that the hotel was on the Torchlight Parade route and mobs of people threatened to block the entrance and exit of the hotel and neighborhood. Great location with respect to attractions in downtown. Easy walk form the train station from the airport as well as to the monorail that goes to the Space Needle and all the museums surrounding it....and Nordstrom's! The restaurant (Sazerac) was great for breakfast, and we had one dinner there. The only deduction in points would be for having no oysters. Seriously? In Seattle, you're out of oysters?!!! Our room was on the 11th floor which is considered premier, although we could not figure out why it was different from the other floors except for the express elevator. Beautiful and comfortable, the interior design is always pleasing to this former designer. Beds/bedding comfortable and luxurious, well appointed with a Kuerig coffee maker, excellent flat screen, etc. Maid service was great and reliable. The only drawback was the lack of view: the brick wall of the building next door. The only rooms with any sort of view look out on 4th Ave. No water views here. But minor, unless you plan to stay in the room the whole time. Of course with Kimpton you get all sorts of fun goodies like free bike rental, complimentary wine tastings in the lobby at happy hour, and if you are afraid of being lonely, you can arrange for a pet goldfish to be sent to your room. Ha! They think of everything. That's why we're always loyal to this brand.

Room Tip: DO NOT STAY IN 1102! In the middle of the night, our neighbors decided to take a shower and the plum...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank CJABQ11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMatthehotel, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Monaco Seattle, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2014

Thanks Albuquerque - appreciate all the notes and suggestions. btw room 1102 isnt cursed or haunted, there was some air in the pipes and that caused the noise on that floor. Sure pleased that as a Kimpton fan we made the cut! come back soon we are delighted to welcome our fans anytime!
Tom.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2014

My wife and I booked a four day trip to Seattle from Texas. We had a great time at this hotel. The staff was very friendly and provided the support we needed. Everything is kept cleaned and we had no problems. I would recommend advertising the free bike rental when people check in. We didn't know about it until we checked out.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank rsdebate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2014

The room was wonderful, the bed comfortable and the room very clean. The room was decorated in the most wonderful manner which I really did like and it was a generous size as well. The view was lacking...we only could see the office building next door..so that was sad.
The staff was kind and helpful. The hotel was having a problem with the linen service and they we nice enough to offer us a certificate as a form of apology which we used for one of our nights there. That was a very happy surprise. The towels were funny...they were rough and had strings and looked worn..I guess that was one of the problems they were having. We were very impressed with the service in the restaurant there they were kind enough to come up with a couple of requests that was not on the menu for us and room service was good as well.
We would highly recommend this hotel. Also, the location was perfect for walking around downtown to see the sights.

Room Tip: Great location for the Pike Place Market and the water front and easy to walk to other places as we...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelgal1994
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Seattle hotels
Downtown
Kimpton Alexis Hotel
Kimpton Alexis Hotel
#4 of 104 in Seattle
2,116 reviews
Inn at the Market
#1 of 104 in Seattle
2,755 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Grand Hyatt Seattle
#6 of 104 in Seattle
3,276 reviews
The Paramount Hotel
#3 of 104 in Seattle
1,864 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kimpton Hotel Monaco Seattle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kimpton Hotel Monaco Seattle

Address: 1101 Fourth Avenue, Seattle, WA 98101-3003 (Formerly Hotel Monaco Seattle - a Kimpton Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Washington > Seattle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Seattle
#3 Green Hotel in Seattle
#6 Luxury Hotel in Seattle
#6 Business Hotel in Seattle
#7 Romantic Hotel in Seattle
#16 Family Hotel in Seattle
Price Range: £128 - £430 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Kimpton Hotel Monaco Seattle 4.5*
Number of rooms: 189
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kimpton Hotel Monaco in Seattle is a 4-diamond luxurious, yet playful property that embraces the spirit of international travel in sophisticated style. Walk through the doors and escape into a world of sensory indulgence. Kimpton Hotel Monaco, with its warm welcome and exceptional service, is within walking distance of Westlake Center, Pacific Place, Pike Place Market, Benaroya Hall and many other iconic attractions. Guests can enjoy hosted wine hour featuring local Washington wineries every night in our lobby between 5-6pm. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Southall Travel, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Kimpton Hotel Monaco Seattle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Monaco Seattle Kimpton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing