We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good Seattle Kimpton option”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Seattle
Ranked #8 of 100 Hotels in Seattle
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
San Francisco
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Good Seattle Kimpton option”
Reviewed 16 August 2014

I stay in all three of the Seattle Kimpton hotels with some frequency. The location of the Monaco is good if you're working/visiting downtown or Pike Place. The service is generally good, though I have had a couple poor front desk experiences. Sazerac has good food and is usually quite busy.

Room Tip: The Monte Carlo suites are nothing too special except they have a thick curtain dividing the bedroom...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMatthehotel, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Monaco Seattle, responded to this review, 4 September 2014
Thanks Michael, wonder what your desk experiences were? sometimes you need to share those with the good ole GM to get it solved. I am sorry but I disagree - the Monte Carlos have great layout, floor space and 2 TVs perfect for a family and oh so worth the little extra cash. yes there are 3 Kimptons here but wait for it... number 4 coming along soon (watch out Duggars, we will be 18 and counting soon) in November we welcome the Palladian at 2nd and Virginia so you have yet one more reason to keep coming back.
Enjoy!
Tom.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,293 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,573
    529
    134
    36
    21
See reviews for
434
851
136
508
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (444)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed 12 August 2014

Arrived late in the evening - but the staff was very friendly and helpful. We had dinner in the attached restaurant and although there was a problem with the order, it was quickly and pleasantly fixed with a personal visit from the Chef to ensure everything was in order. Without question, we had breakfast there the next day.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Edmund M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMatthehotel, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Monaco Seattle, responded to this review, 13 August 2014
Thanks Edmund, great to know that even though you had a late arrival you had the same warm welcome we shoot for with all our guests. The experiences in Sazerac are always a good time, and the attention to detail is important to us, delighted you could meet our brilliant and handsome Chef Jason even if it was done after an error on our part. Please come back now that you have had breakfast and dinner - give lunch a try!
Tom.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
37 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2014

When you arrive off a 25 hour plane journey you just want somewhere to lay your head. When you arrive off said long trip with two children in tow you had better hope efficient service awaits and whisks you to your room. At the Hotel Monaco Seattle the service was superb from the moment our car pulled up at the front door. They went one better than just giving us a bed, our suite had the dreamiest bedding we have all slept in for a long time. When finally we woke the next morning the Starbucks coffee dispenser in the Lobby was a welcome touch, the kids loved the hot chocolates too. We were in Seattle to sightsee and the hotel is centrally located which made walking and public transport a breeze. We ate in the restaurant one evening and were lucky to get a table. It seems to be a popular spot with the locals which is always a good sign. We would not hesitate to stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Monique v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMatthehotel, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Monaco Seattle, responded to this review, 13 August 2014
Hey Austrailia. yep I have made that flight as well and the delight of getting to your room after you get off that plane can not be measured. We will check a guest into the room anytime we can, if the room is available. I just spoke with the desk today and they had a guest very upset that their room wasnt available at 10 in the morning, the challenge is getting those other folks out! we are thrilled that you and the family had a great time, we are perfectly situated to discover this beautiful city, there are 3 other Kimptons here in Seattle, so get on that plane and come back for more!
Tom.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charleston, South Carolina
Level Contributor
24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2014

I recently stayed at the Hotel Monaco on a business trip and just fell in love. The location was perfect for sight-seeing and everything that you want to see while in Seattle is walking distance. The Hotel Staff was friendly, helpful, knowledgeable and fun. Loved Taryn! The staff was able to help me extend my stay and I really enjoyed myself because this hotel is so comfortable. I also learned the Hotel Monaco is also pet-friendly.... This is a major plus. Great place to stay and really enjoyed myself!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mybebe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMatthehotel, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Monaco Seattle, responded to this review, 13 August 2014
Hey Charleston! what a great note, thanks so much. you are right, Taryn is brilliant and great asset to the Monaco we are lucky to have her! Getting each guests stay right is important to her and I am thrilled she hit all the marks with you!
Tom.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
198 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 156 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2014

Had a two day business trip in Seattle which worked out well with my wife's birthday. She chose this hotel because of its great location and reviews. When we arrived, our vehicle and luggage were taken cared automatically. At the front desk we were greeted by Brynn with her big smile and helpful information. Very professional and warm, she took her time showing us on a map all the locations and the myriad questions we had. In our room/suite, the management had left a battle of Champagne, chocolates, balloons, and a stuffed otter for the wife. A very nice touch and totally unexpected. BTW, this is a pet friendly place and you can ask for a goldfish is you are missing your pet. The rooms are large, comfortable and modernly decorated. The bed and pillows (you can ask for feather if wanted) are excellent. Robes and towels went with the level of the hotel. Finally, an iron with a long cord plug and not the useless two footer. Wifi was included in the price and worked well. Smart TV was a decent size and had no problems using our flash drive to watch movies. Our room, 601, had no view, but it was very quiet and dark for a good night sleep. Overall, a very good hotel with great staff in a central location.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Raul S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMatthehotel, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Monaco Seattle, responded to this review, 13 August 2014
Thanks Raul! Brynn is brilliant and great fun to work with, thanks for noting her in your comments. We do give it our best to try and make special occasions fun, great to read that you connected with it all. Some of the hotel faces a building on the back side and yep, no view, however we are in the middle of a major city and views are at a premium, i was just in Waikiki and stressed over a lack of view, but hey it was Waikiki. Delighted you had a great sleep and found a little fun, - that is what it is all about.
Tom.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2014

We are very fond of Kimpton hotels and this one was no exception. It's stylish, chic and luxurious without being snooty. The staff was fantastic: they always greeted us warmly when we went through the lobby. And the bellhops were particularly great with help for cabs and directions, given that the hotel was on the Torchlight Parade route and mobs of people threatened to block the entrance and exit of the hotel and neighborhood. Great location with respect to attractions in downtown. Easy walk form the train station from the airport as well as to the monorail that goes to the Space Needle and all the museums surrounding it....and Nordstrom's! The restaurant (Sazerac) was great for breakfast, and we had one dinner there. The only deduction in points would be for having no oysters. Seriously? In Seattle, you're out of oysters?!!! Our room was on the 11th floor which is considered premier, although we could not figure out why it was different from the other floors except for the express elevator. Beautiful and comfortable, the interior design is always pleasing to this former designer. Beds/bedding comfortable and luxurious, well appointed with a Kuerig coffee maker, excellent flat screen, etc. Maid service was great and reliable. The only drawback was the lack of view: the brick wall of the building next door. The only rooms with any sort of view look out on 4th Ave. No water views here. But minor, unless you plan to stay in the room the whole time. Of course with Kimpton you get all sorts of fun goodies like free bike rental, complimentary wine tastings in the lobby at happy hour, and if you are afraid of being lonely, you can arrange for a pet goldfish to be sent to your room. Ha! They think of everything. That's why we're always loyal to this brand.

Room Tip: DO NOT STAY IN 1102! In the middle of the night, our neighbors decided to take a shower and the plum...
See more room tips
Green Features: They even have a program that pays you $5 a day (hotel credit) to cancel your maid service. Great!
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CJABQ11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMatthehotel, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Monaco Seattle, responded to this review, 13 August 2014
Thanks Albuquerque - appreciate all the notes and suggestions. btw room 1102 isnt cursed or haunted, there was some air in the pipes and that caused the noise on that floor. Sure pleased that as a Kimpton fan we made the cut! come back soon we are delighted to welcome our fans anytime!
Tom.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2014

My wife and I booked a four day trip to Seattle from Texas. We had a great time at this hotel. The staff was very friendly and provided the support we needed. Everything is kept cleaned and we had no problems. I would recommend advertising the free bike rental when people check in. We didn't know about it until we checked out.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rsdebate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Seattle hotels
Inn at the Market
#1 of 100 in Seattle
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,588 reviews
Downtown
Kimpton Alexis Hotel
Kimpton Alexis Hotel
#3 of 100 in Seattle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,989 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Grand Hyatt Seattle
#7 of 100 in Seattle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,907 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kimpton Hotel Monaco Seattle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kimpton Hotel Monaco Seattle

Property: Kimpton Hotel Monaco Seattle
Address: 1101 Fourth Avenue, Seattle, WA 98101-3003 (Formerly Hotel Monaco Seattle - a Kimpton Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Washington > Seattle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Seattle
#3 Spa Hotel in Seattle
#5 Luxury Hotel in Seattle
#6 Business Hotel in Seattle
#7 Romantic Hotel in Seattle
#17 Family Hotel in Seattle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Kimpton Hotel Monaco Seattle 4.5*
Number of rooms: 189
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kimpton Hotel Monaco in Seattle is a 4-diamond luxurious, yet playful property that embraces the spirit of international travel in sophisticated style. Walk through the doors and escape into a world of sensory indulgence. Kimpton Hotel Monaco, with its warm welcome and exceptional service, is within walking distance of Westlake Center, Pacific Place, Pike Place Market, Benaroya Hall and many other iconic attractions. Guests can enjoy hosted wine hour featuring local Washington wineries every night in our lobby between 5-6pm. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, Ebookers, Southall Travel, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kimpton Hotel Monaco Seattle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Monaco Seattle Kimpton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing