We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrible indeed!”
Review of Hotel Seattle

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hotel Seattle
Ranked #98 of 101 Hotels in Seattle
Port Coquitlam, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Terrible indeed!”
Reviewed 19 August 2013

First issue ... right from the entrance ... NO Parking! The hotel doesn't have its own parking so one actually ends up paying more because as an out of town guest you have to pay extra at the nearby (3 blocks up the hill) parking lots.

We had two rooms: one our friends and one for us ... both terrible! Dirty, the fabrics look like they are going to shear any moment (curtains, bedding, blankets). The bathrooms ... horror ... everything rusty ... not sure if you can go into the shower with the bare feet ... or touching anything ...

Hallways ... antique ... but not vintage renovated ... antique as in old and dirty and stained ...

Elevator ... must be from the beginning of time ...

I would not recommend this hotel at all ... not even for few hours of sleep ... unless they have the last hotel room in Seattle.

The only good thing is the hotel's location ... right downtown ... but even that advantage cannot beat the deplorable state of this building!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Flanto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

216 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3
    16
    40
    44
    113
See reviews for
27
68
26
34
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Southeastern, Wisconsin, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2013

My daughter and I take a trip to a new destination each year. We're not overly picky about our hotels as we tend to be out exploring, not sitting in a hotel room. We've stayed in places as simple as Motel 6 all the way to The Palace Hotel in San Francisco. However, on our first day in Seattle - me on 3 hrs of sleep and two hours behind due to the time zone change - we had planned to relax after taking in an afternoon Mariners game and going for a bite to eat. Instead, we experienced a great deal of frustration and disappointment. Hotel Seattle is a DUMP! The wallpaper is peeling off the walls, paint is chipping off in other places, there is no screen on the window, no temperature controls on the radiant heating (no air either), a disgustingly dirty carpet, toiletries included are two bad bar soaps and the tiniest bottle ever of "conditioning shampoo" (come prepared with your own toiletries!), a cable cord that's falling out of the wall, and - the best part - a television with NO power button that doesn't work at all, even with the remote. By 7pm (9pm our time) we really just wanted to relax. No such luck. And even better, no manager was available and the maintenance worker was gone by 6pm. Oh! And they were allegedly booked full, leaving us in a room worse than any place I've ever stayed in. We tried to find alternate arrangements but unfortunately the only hotels with availability in the downtown area would have cost an additional $200-300/night. The website claims that some rooms have been newly renovated. There hasn't been a change to the website in months and I truly questions whether or not ANY renovations have taken place. I'm definitely going back to spending the money on a reputable hotel chain; it'll be worth the extra expense!! DO NOT STAY HERE!!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank SeattleSad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Seattle hotels

Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2013 via mobile

Dirty, molding ripped off and wallpaper peeling back, curtain rod sagging, pedestal sink pulling away from the wall, no air conditioning. If you want cheap to save money, stay here. If you don't mind spending a little more, stay somewhere else.
Check-in gal very nice and restaurant downstairs had a good breakfast. It looked clean.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Midsouthgardener
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingsport, Tennessee
Level 6 Contributor
103 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2013

We stayed two nights in Hotel Seattle at the start of our honeymoon. It was terrible. When we came into the room the second night, there was some goo on the wall that had not been there before and we had to change rooms. Both rooms were very noisy (next to the road) and both were dirty. I would not stay here again.

Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank ssreview480
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manhattan, KS
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2013

Take a look at the reviews for Hotel Seattle and you'll see how easy it is to pick on this hotel. I'm staying here now, have been for 4 days, and I could list dozens of "deficiencies" in need of some attention. But I'm here for the chamber music at Benaroya, and you can't beat this location for that. Access to Pike Street Markets and the monorail to the Space Needle are also outstanding. And my cost for a double room with bath is astonishingly low compared with any other hotel in the vicinity. The hearty breakfasts and German specialty lunches at Bernard's downstairs also can't be beat for quality at incredibly low prices. You can ride the light rail in from SEATAC airport to University station and you're a block away from the hotel. Unless you're the fussy type who can't stand anything worn or out of date, just relax and enjoy the "retro" decor. The staff is attentive/receptive, the rooms are clean, the beds are comfortable; in short, the Ritz it's not, but Hotel Seattle offers centrally located, decently appointed quarters at bargain rates.

Room Tip: Traffic noise may keep you awake if you're a light sleeper and want to retire before 11 pm, so i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Arts-Critic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
49 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2013 via mobile

This is purely and simply a below average hotel in an above average location.

The sheets and bathroom were clean but the carpet was badly worn and the shower and window curtains were the same?!

You get what you pay for! The staff were nice and helpful and it's a really good city centre location but your a long way from the ritz. If all you need is somewhere to lay your head you'll be happy but if you want anything more from a hotel then go elsewhere.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ewmagain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hillsboro
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2013

The Hotel Seattle is a dump. The shower would not drain, the toilet would not flush and when we reported it we were told that the maintenance man would not be able to fix it because it was part of a bigger problem. Thankful there was a Starbucks next door that let us use their restroom. The owner of this place will not put a dime into it, it needs to be completely renovated, wall paper coming off the walls, carpet stained so bad you cannot tell what color it is supposed to be, and we felt like we were taking our lives in our own hands in the elevator. No exaggeration this place is horrible, stay away, maybe the owner will step up to the plate and do the right thing. Go around the corner to the executive, we are next year. Got a room for $25 more there.

Room Tip: Dont take a room period.
See more room tips
Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Randy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Seattle hotels
Executive Hotel Pacific
#65 of 101 in Seattle
301 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pioneer Square
Courtyard Seattle Downtown/Pioneer Square
Motif Seattle
#45 of 101 in Seattle
289 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Seattle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Seattle

Property: Hotel Seattle
Address: 315 Seneca Street, Seattle, WA 98101-2999
Region: United States > Washington > Seattle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #98 of 101 Hotels in Seattle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Seattle 2*
Number of rooms: 78
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Seattle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing