We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Falling apart - unsafe!”
Review of Hotel Seattle

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Seattle
Ranked #99 of 104 Hotels in Seattle
Reviewed 16 November 2013

My partner and I have stayed at a lot of budget accommodation for the same price, and there are several things that usually are still good regardless of how cheap it is: the building is safe and it is reasonably clean. This place was neither; it was falling apart. Everything is smashed up (mirrors in the corridors) and the lift sounds like it could break and plummet to the ground at any moment; it was also next to our room so the sounds that it made kept us awake. The sink was almost off the wall in our bathroom. The bathroom and walls had stains and marks all on them - it would have been impossible to even make it look clean as it was past it. The pipes looked like they were falling apart and the radiator made dodgy sounds too.
The staff were nice but they weren't very helpful with regards to things that you think they should know like how much the phone costs in the room, and they couldn't print our flight confirmation for us. The breakfast next door (extra money) was very nice.
Overall, we couldn't relax in here. We left early and luckily we got the money back for the two nights we didn't stay. I don't think this place should be still open, as it wouldn't pass health and safety!

Room Tip: Don't go!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
13  Thank MarieClare85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (224)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

91 - 97 of 224 reviews

Reviewed 15 November 2013 via mobile

I'm a well traveled individual that has stayed at some pretty shady places, but I have to say this may be the nastiest hotel I've ever stayed at. The mattress is at least 32 years old and squeaks terribly, the sheets, comforter and blanket are from the late 70's/early 80's(luckily I didnt bring a black light), the walls and wall paper are deteriorated and delaminated from water damage(surely there is a mold problem), the carpets are disgusting, the front desk person was quite rude, parking is an extra $37 per day!!!, the ice machine doesn't work, no cable, no iron or iron board, no wi-fi in the rooms (only the lobby), an old crap CRT TV... This place is an outright sorry excuse of a hotel and one should look elsewhere if you plan on staying downtown. You'd be better off mustering up a sleeping bag, tent, some cardboard boxes and make yourself a camp site in an alley; buy yourself a fifth of vodka to keep you warm. At least you could complain to the other alley dwellers about your miserable sleeping conditions and enjoy the company.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
5  Thank DetroitsOwn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2013

Being greeted by the pungent smell of marijuana as soon as we stepped into the lobby should have been enuf to turn around and look elsewhere, but since we paid for the room in advance we proceeded....BIG MISTAKE!!....No parking(parked 2 blocks away for $$$$$). cracked mirrors in the hallway,tiny room, sink and vanity not attached to the wall, commercial stem handle flush toilet, no hair dryer, ice machine not working, 2 tiny flat pillows(had to roll the bedspread up to use as pillows), only 4 channels on WAY outdated tv( only 1 clear channel), no coffee maker( restaurant in basement did not have to-go cups for coffee, thank goodness for Starbucks on the corner) , no clock radio, no wall decor, radiator style heater that turned on & off at will , thread bare curtains(not drapes) on bowed rickety curtain rod, lots of street noise, rusty hinges, paint flaking off vent pipe in bathroom, askew towel rack....I could go on & on....DON'T SPEND A PENNY TO STAY HERE!

Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
6  Thank Meredith I I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2013

Went to a conference in Seattle for 3 days, needed a cheaper hotel that was close enough to walk. Hotel Seattle is good for single travelers, I would not recommend for families. Booked a small room with double bed, was very basic but fine for my purposes. There was no where to put anything on the bathroom vanity, weird. Also as other reviews have stated it was cold and you have no control over your heat. Bring a sweater, ask for an extra blanker, not the end of the world. Good location and Seattle is awesome. You get what you pay for and this hotel is adequate if you are not expecting a whole lot but want to decent service, okay room and good location.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank kelcarib
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2013

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank SotaTale
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 7 October 2013

Everything people say is true. The place absolutely needs refurbishment - our room was clean, but some things (like bathroom, sheets, floor) are so old there is no way to get all the stains out and make things look clean. Our room was spacious, had a fridge and a microwave (no utensils, cups, etc.). Wifi in the lobby only - no privacy, no table.
No breakfast, but there are many Sarbucks near by, and everything else is within a walking distance. Underground station just around the corner - easy to get to the airport.
I would not mind staying here again.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Danijela S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2013

worst dump I've every stayed at. it was cold and rainy in Seattle. the room had NO HEAT! Was told the first time I called to the front desk "Don't worry, it's on a timer, it'll come on later.", then 2 hours later (after huddling under the covers), "it might come on later, some rooms are colder than others." After another hour, personally went to the front desk and was told "Nothing I can do for you. I can give you another blanket, or check you out." this after full payment done (no reimbursement), or the offer of another room that 'might be colder than the one you're in'. It was stormy and cold and wet out, the heat NEVER came on once all night. we couldn't wait to get out of there this morning.

Room Tip: NEVER book this hotel at any price.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank PortMoodyKarenr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Seattle hotels
Downtown
Panama Hotel
Panama Hotel
#88 of 104 in Seattle
191 reviews
Executive Hotel Pacific
#63 of 104 in Seattle
365 reviews
Inn at Virginia Mason
#76 of 104 in Seattle
246 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Inn at Queen Anne
#74 of 104 in Seattle
1,087 reviews
Northgate
Comfort Inn & Suites Seattle
Belltown
Belltown Inn
Belltown Inn
#46 of 104 in Seattle
1,091 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Seattle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Seattle

Address: 315 Seneca Street, Seattle, WA 98101-2999
Region: United States > Washington > Seattle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #99 of 104 Hotels in Seattle
Price Range: £62 - £132 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Seattle 2*
Number of rooms: 78
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Seattle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing