We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Customer service done right”
Review of Inn at the Market

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Inn at the Market
Ranked #1 of 100 Hotels in Seattle
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Gig Harbor, Washington
Level Contributor
47 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Customer service done right”
Reviewed 18 June 2011

We live here about an hour outside Seattle. We occasionally stay downtown for an evening event instead of driving home late. We were in town to go to the symphony and the next morning my husband had a meeting. We were first in need of assistance when my husband needed a seam in his suit pants mended. I stopped by the front desk on our way out asking for a needle and thread. They sent up the most little amazing sewing kit to the room. The next morning my husband got up and at 7 am there was NO hot water for a shower. I called down to the front desk and they said they were just aware of the problem and were working on it. He didn't have time to wait, so had to take a very cool quick shower. He mentioned it to the front desk on his way out and they said they would adjust the bill but not any more. When I checked out ( after getting a hot shower at 9) they had taken our room charge from $255 down to $99. I was surprised and delighted and appologized again for the inconvenience. They couldn't solve the problem in time for his shower, but they made up for it the way a first rate hotel should. We will definitely be coming back.

  • Stayed June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jvenneberg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,588 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,132
    364
    65
    22
    5
See reviews for
384
1,521
112
213
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (948)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tucson
Level Contributor
285 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2011

We stayed at the Inn at the Market for one night before a cruise. We chose room 810 for the view and were not disappointed. Another reason for picking that room was space. We were on a 2-week trip with varying clothing requirements so we needed room for 4 large suitcases. Our luggage nearly disappeared in the closets and alcoves which kept the room looking tidy. The view of Puget Sound was outstanding. The hotel is attached to our favorite Seattle restaurant, Campagne, right at Pike Public Market and near good shopping. Very safe neighborhood for walking in the evening. We were also happy that an AVIS lot was close to the hotel so that we could drop off our car and walk downhill with our luggage.

Room Tip: 810 or the two directly below it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Penny N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
marketcaptain, General Manager at Inn at the Market, responded to this review, 16 June 2011
Dear Guest:

Thank you for making the Inn The Market your hotel of choice, room 810 does have a fantastic view. We have 2 rooms that share their own deck, these are known as our Deluxe Deck rooms. Enjoy the rest of your summer.
Best
David Watkins
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rutland
Level Contributor
95 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2011

When we arrived at this wonderful hotel, we were greeted with those magic words "we have upgraded you"! This was to room 414 and it was one of the best rooms I've ever stayed in.
The whole hotel oozes class at a reasonable price and all the staff were friendly and efficient. I will always return here when in Seattle and suggest you do the same!

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DavoRutland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gloucestershire, England
Level Contributor
348 reviews
187 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 381 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2011

We were delighted with our choice. Following Trip Adviser reviews paid off once again.

The hotel is ideally located directly across from the market in the middle of a busy and interesting area. In spite of this, it's quiet and a haven of peace, particularly on a warm afternoon when a couple of hours sitting comfortably on the roof terrace is a great break from the hustle and bustle down below.

Our 5th floor, water view rooms were spacious and clean. The beds were remarkably comfortable and the huge bathroom functional and well appointed. We weren't too fussed about the clingy shower curtain but this is a small niggle in proportion to everything else.

Free wifi internet, complimentary daily newspapers and efficient reception/bellhops/housekeeping staff all contribute to making this a great place to stay. We'd recommend The Inn on the Market without question!

Room Tip: Go for a view of the water!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank elegantraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
marketcaptain, General Manager at Inn at the Market, responded to this review, 15 June 2011
Dear World Wide Traveler:
Thank you for your great review, I see you have posted many experiences and your feedback is appreciated.
Thank you
David Watkins
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wisconsin
Level Contributor
84 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2011

From the minute I made reservations to the time I left, the hotel was nothing but accomodating! The room was large and had a view of the water and the bathroom was huge! Lots of room for two people!

The Inn is in the middle of the Public Market place and so you are close to restaurants, clubs and shopping. Also close to the new library and other attractions. The staff was very friendly and very, very helpful in setting up tours for me and all of their suggestions were great. Cannot say enough about this hotel! From the outside to the room to the hallways, it was very clean and at night very quiet. The deck area was a nice plus - a great place to sit and watch the boats in the Sound and have a glass of wine.

Only downside is that they do not have a shuttle service from the airport or train station - that would have made it perfect. One thing to note - if you are travelling with someone elderly or has some disability that calls for a wheel chair or walker, the hotel is on a hill which means if you go to the Market,you will have to climb a steep grade back to the hotel. However, we just walked slowly and did ok.

  • Stayed June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wistraveler09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
marketcaptain, General Manager at Inn at the Market, responded to this review, 15 June 2011
Dear Guest:
Thank you for staying at the Inn at The Market and for writing into Tripadvisor to share your great stay. For readers that may be visiting us and traveling from the airport, the light rail train from Seatac airport is a great way to get here if you are traveling light, the Westlake Station is only 3 blocks from the hotel. There is an option if you are traveling with a wheel chair to access the hotel from 1st avenue and not having to go up and down the hill to get in and out of the hotel. (I do apologize that we did not offer this to you when during your visit) Please make the front desk associates aware that you would like access from 1st avenue. If you are planing on returning in the near future please feel contact me at dwatkins@innatthemarket.com and I will be happy to assist.
Best
David Watkins
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
33 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2011

This luxury hotel is a gem tucked into the center of the Pike Place Market. The hotel is quiet and smart. The rooms are spacious. The roof deck provides a spectacular view of the market and Sound. This is definitely the place to stay.

Room Tip: AAA discount and prices vary by day of week
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Birdie2050
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2011

Water view and market access superb. Clean and comfortable. Good WiFi access.
Staff if asked will help.
We had three major problems which point to sloppy management: 1. Our room had a noisy smelly restaurant exhaust working overtime just outside the window. 2. Front desk advice on public transport was belatedly and reluctantly provided and was extremely inaccurate causing much trouble. and 3. Security: Our room was found locked open on our return after a late night out.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jim6851
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
marketcaptain, General Manager at Inn at the Market, responded to this review, 9 June 2011
Dear Guest:

Thank you for sharing your comments with readers of Tripadvisor and I do apologize for the manner in which you were treated, I am following up with the team. If you are planning on returning to the area in the near future, please contact me and I will ensure your next visit is memorable.
Best
David Watkins
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Seattle hotels
Downtown
Kimpton Alexis Hotel
Kimpton Alexis Hotel
#3 of 100 in Seattle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,990 reviews
Grand Hyatt Seattle
#7 of 100 in Seattle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,907 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mayflower Park Hotel
#21 of 100 in Seattle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,102 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn at the Market? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn at the Market

Property: Inn at the Market
Address: 86 Pine St., Seattle, WA 98101-1571
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Washington > Seattle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Seattle
#1 Romantic Hotel in Seattle
#1 Luxury Hotel in Seattle
#9 Business Hotel in Seattle
#14 Green Hotel in Seattle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Inn at the Market 4*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Inn at the Market is the only downtown Seattle hotel located directly in the famous Pike Place Market. Inn at the Market's ivy-covered courtyard is a tranquil hideaway, just steps away from the vibrant atmosphere of Pike Place Market and the Seattle waterfront. Inn at the Market offers Pacific Northwest style and comfort surrounded by downtown Seattle's most acclaimed restaurants and iconic landmarks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Inn at the Market reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn At The Market Hotel Seattle
Hotel At The Market
At The Market Seattle

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing