We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Staff & Location”
Review of Inn at the Market

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Inn at the Market
Ranked #1 of 100 Hotels in Seattle
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Dallas Texas
Level Contributor
72 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
“Great Staff & Location”
Reviewed 30 July 2014

We selected this property based on the glowing Trip Advisor(TA) recommendations; once again thanks to TA, we made a great choice. We stayed one night prior to a cruise departure.

Staff at check-in (Eric on front desk, Trevor the bellman) could not have been nicer and more welcoming. As everyone as already mentioned, the location can't be beat, especially if you are focused on spending time at the Pike Place Market or visiting some of the nice restaurants near the waterfront.

The terrace roof is a nice place to enjoy the sunset as many have mentioned. Rooms are pricey and really nothing special. Ours was on floor 4, street side; it was quiet and comfy but that's about it. Staying at this property is more about the location and friendly staff and on those criteria, it scores high.

Taxi fare from the airport is $45 to $50 depending on traffic, and from the hotel to Pier 91, the fare is around $20.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank richard1s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dwatkinsgm, General Manager at Inn at the Market, responded to this review, 1 August 2014
Dear Guest - thank you for taking a moment to recognize Eric and Trevor, I will be certain to share your kind words with them and the team.
Best
David Watkins
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,584 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,129
    364
    64
    22
    5
See reviews for
384
1,518
111
213
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (948)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kansas City, Missouri
Level Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2014

The best location in the area. Right next to the market. We had a 'partial ocean view' and could see the market sign. The rooftop patio is great and usually not busy. The service from the front desk was average but the service from the guys who parked the car and brought our bags up was amazing. Restaurant, shopping, salon - right downstairs. Free Valet parking with a 'package' (we did the fish package and it paid for itself!) Quiet rooms!

Room Tip: Get a partial ocean view - less money than a full ocean view and still a great scene from the window...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kassierunyan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greensboro
Level Contributor
391 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2014

Right in the middle of Pike Place, beautiful views of Puget Sound, walking distance to great bars and restaurants ..... almost next door to the original Starbucks..... the list goes on and on...one of the best in Seattle.

Room Tip: Try for a room with a balcony or outdoor space.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GSO-Mike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dwatkinsgm, General Manager at Inn at the Market, responded to this review, 29 July 2014
Dear Guest - thank you for highlighting our location for the readers of tripadvisor, we are in the heart of it all here in Pike Place Market.
Best
David Watkins
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lexington, Kentucky
Level Contributor
62 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2014

We stayed with Inn at The Market in July 2009 after returning from an Alaskan Cruise which ported out of Seattle. We fell in love with this boutique hotel just steps from the Pike Place Market and vowed someday to return. We celebrate with a special travel destination every 5 years of our marriage, this being our 35th anniversary. We returned from a week visiting the Hawaiian Islands and chose to stay in Seattle to help adjust with the 6 hour time change from home. After our airline made multiple "adjustments" to our originally purchased trip, we were losing a day of our trip in Seattle. We stayed 3 nights but only had 2 days. Our arrival into Sea-Tec was not until 9pm. We contacted Inn at The Market via e-mail several times for various questions, one being transportation from the airport to the Inn. Maria was very prompt with responses and giving her honest opinions in regard to our questions. We strongly desired to save $$ by taking the Link Light Rail system ($11 vs $100+ Round trip), however, we were concerned about safety as we were arriving into the city at 10-11pm pulling luggage. Maria stated she had not felt unsafe in the city, but as you would with any large city, be aware of your surroundings and don't make yourself an easy target. She sent us a link to the Seattle government page with tips and suggestions on staying safe in the city. We are always ready for an adventure and have used public transportation in other large cities. It took approximately 50 minutes to ride from the airport to the final stop, Westlake Station. It is quite a hike from the airport to the Link, so on our return trip we rented a luggage cart for $5 which was so much better. We exited the Link station to the right up onto 3rd & Pine. It was right across the street from a fast food restaurant where several questionable young people were gathered, but we had no problems. It was a short 2 block walk to our destination. We had to ring a bell at that hour because the door was locked. We were immediately welcomed and permitted to enter. A lovely fire was burning in their gas fireplace in the lobby. We had to giggle as we were arriving from Hawaii! We were kindly greeted by the front lobby staff and quickly registered and given directions to our room. We were on the 8th floor with a city view.

I could not begin to describe how lovely our room was. It was so atheistically pleasing. As clean as home, well maintained, bright, yet offered room darkening draperies. Floor to ceiling bay windows overlooking the busy streets below. The air was quiet and comfortable. The bathroom & shower were out-of-this world! It was well lit and included a magnifying mirror. There was a nice double closet with plenty of area for luggage, shelves, and hangers. Hanging inside were 2 plush bathrobe and his & her slippers. Perfect after a long rough day of traveling, but it didn't stop there. They have Hypnos beds (meant nothing to us...until we were ready to sleep)...absolutely the most comfortable bed we have ever slept on! There was a Keurig machine on the lighted bar with both coffee and tea options. Much to our surprise there was a most delicious dessert with a sweet note from the staff wishing us a happy anniversary!

On our final evening, we stopped at Beecher's for some cheese curds, picked up a bottle of Flying Fish Riesling, and some fresh organic cherries at the market. We made our way to the 5th floor open deck to enjoy the sunset! Mt. Rainer was visible on this evening and displayed beautiful pink & purple hues as the sun went down. Romantic (even though there were lots of others there, too). We could not have pre-planned a better end to our wonderful vacation.

I have gone on way too long, but I am trying to convey that this is a perfect place to stay. Located only steps from the market, many shopping, and dining locations. Room service is available during certain hours, and offer the best 3 egg omelet large enough for 2! This is what you expect when you pay this type of rate. Over the top service, kind greetings, and honest concern that everything is going well for you.

We will return to Seattle again and we will stay at Inn at The Market! You should, too!

Room Tip: Others have said lower floors are disturbed by street noise (it is a large city) and others have sta...
See more room tips
Green Features: This is an Eco friendly hotel offering options on towels and bedding.
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Two-Touring-The-US
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dwatkinsgm, General Manager at Inn at the Market, responded to this review, 29 July 2014
Dear Guest - thank you for returning to celebrate you anniversary after 5 years, we will look forward to welcoming you back in the near future, thank you for summarizing some key points for the readers of tripadvisor.
Best
David Watkins
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arlington, TX
Level Contributor
30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2014

This was our 2nd stay at Inn at the Market and glad we picked it again. On our first trip to Seattle we stayed here and it was perfect. This time around didn't disappoint. Upon arrival, we received a complimentary upgrade to a Parlor Suite (from our booked Partial Water View room.) It was a great large room on the 4th floor with sweeping views of the water. The front desk and housekeeping services were on point as usual. They turned down our bed as well as the sofa bed for our son each night and left chocolates. We didn't have any issues with noise at the hotel and barely noticed anyone else there. And as always the location is perfect! We walked almost everywhere.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank T_McGee123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clio, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 July 2014

I'm still here...enjoying my stay at this amazing transformed Inn! I couldn't wait to "gush" about what a wonderful surprise I received when I walked into the lobby...beautiful! I was here ten years ago, enjoyed my stay that time, but I'm so impressed with the renovations! My room is just stunning..love the new shower...don't want to leave the room! I have a prime view of the Bay and the Market...perfect!! Very hard to move out of the comforty chairs over looking the entire scene! The staff is excellent...and so very helpful! I bought a gorgeous bouquet of flowers at the market...and they delivered a vase before I hardly even asked...! Plus a lovely card and cupcakes for my birthday waiting for me when I arrived! I just can't say enough about the transformation! Always has been a great place to stay in a great location...but this "new" Inn at the Market is truly spectacular!!! Thank you!!! (A room facing the Bay....a must!!!)

Room Tip: As mentioned above....Bay side rooms a "little" pricey...but so worth the money (save up...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dawn H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sterling Heights, Michigan
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2014

The Inn at the Market is in an optimal spot to explore downtown Seattle. Not only does it have a great location, it also has great accommodations. The rooms and bathroom were spacious and very clean. The staff was always happy, energetic and willing to help with anything. I will say that if you book, I recommend doing one of their packages. We chose to the Pike Place Fish Experience package. It was a blast. They had everything taken care of for us when we checked in (gift card, book, letter). We walked down to the market and they're completely friendly there as well. We talked with the fishmonger for a bit and he let us know that we weren't held to any specific time and that we can just show up whenever we wanted and they'd toss us a fish. It's great fun, and they really take care of you. The hotel staff was great in that they remembered the day we said we were going to do it and asked if it was fun, and checking in with us to make sure it lived up to our expectations. It's not a chain hotel, so if that's the expectation you'll be disappointed. When we come back to Seattle, this is top of the list for places to stay. The only thing I would recommend is, if you are coming/going to the airport, use the Light Rail system. It's only a few blocks from the hotel and it is considerably cheaper than a taxi. It's not a confusing system either and it's a clean transport ride.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Richie N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Seattle hotels
Downtown
Kimpton Alexis Hotel
Kimpton Alexis Hotel
#4 of 100 in Seattle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,987 reviews
Grand Hyatt Seattle
#7 of 100 in Seattle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,896 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mayflower Park Hotel
#22 of 100 in Seattle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,097 reviews
Hotel 1000
#12 of 100 in Seattle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,966 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn at the Market? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn at the Market

Property: Inn at the Market
Address: 86 Pine St., Seattle, WA 98101-1571
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Washington > Seattle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Seattle
#1 Family Hotel in Seattle
#1 Romantic Hotel in Seattle
#9 Business Hotel in Seattle
#14 Green Hotel in Seattle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Inn at the Market 4*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Inn at the Market is the only downtown Seattle hotel located directly in the famous Pike Place Market. Inn at the Market's ivy-covered courtyard is a tranquil hideaway, just steps away from the vibrant atmosphere of Pike Place Market and the Seattle waterfront. Inn at the Market offers Pacific Northwest style and comfort surrounded by downtown Seattle's most acclaimed restaurants and iconic landmarks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Inn at the Market reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn At The Market Hotel Seattle
Hotel At The Market
At The Market Seattle

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing