We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“When I tell friends of GREAT places I've visited, this hotel tops my list” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Inn at the Market

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Inn at the Market
Ranked #1 of 100 Hotels in Seattle
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
North Charleston, South Carolina
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“When I tell friends of GREAT places I've visited, this hotel tops my list”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 September 2009

Where do I start? Service? Great! Rooms? Amazing! Location? Can't beat it. Right across the street is the Pike Place Market (which overlooks the bay), full of fresh flowers, vegetables, and art cultivated by locals. Haggled for an fantastic glass-blown vase and got a great deal. Walking distance to many restaurants, though admittedly, they do close a little early. If you get room service, try the fresh squeeze orange juice.

When I asked at the front desk for recommendations on where to go/what to do, the lady cheerfully gave me a map and gave me a few points of interest; she even outlined the free public transportation routes for me! Then, when it was time to go, the valet retrieved my car quickly and with pep, even at 4 in the morning, and he offered me tips on the safest places to get gas on the way back. They really take care of their patrons. If I ever go back to Seattle, this is definitely where I will stay again!

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TraverseTheUniverse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,527 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,077
    359
    64
    22
    5
See reviews for
374
1,489
111
203
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (932)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, TX
Level Contributor
46 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 September 2009

I'm mystified by the couple of terrible reviews. The staff at Inn at the Market was very professional with us and the accomodations were very nice. I had booked a Town House City-View Suite for my wife and I as the last stop on a 10-day trip. We both were impressed with the spaciousness of the room(s) and quality of the little touches. Huge flat-csreen TV's upstairs and downstairs, small safe in the room, quiet even with the large windows facing the city streets. The 5th floor deck is wonderful, it would be even nicer if there was more space (impossible) and if the hotel would prohibit smoking (possible). The hotel itself is non-smoking and Seattle is a healthy city. C'mon management...go all the way and make the rooftop no-smoking too! Easy access to Pike Place Market, the first Starbucks and not that far from Safeco and Qwest Fields...great location. We also had them arrange for a town car to SEA and it was ontime and had us at the airport less than 30 minutes later. Granted, it was not a "bargain", but you can't expect Fairmont style for La Quinta prices! All in all, we very much enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank oilguy57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newark, California
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 September 2009

This place is fantastic, yes it's pricey but you are within walking distance of everything you need for your stay. Fine food, the aquarium, shopping, the public market, the Grey Line Bus Tours, the trolley, the city buses, the underground, the monorail and the ferry system. Between 8 am and 7 pm the buses are free if you stay withing the downtown area. Pioneer Square is 9 blocks away. Our room was HUGE (get got the room with two double beds) we had a sink, microwave and refrigerator. Ask for a room above the third floor, we were on the 6th floor and had a spectacular view of Elliot Bay, on the Stewart side of the hotel. The roof top terrace is to die for, we spent about half of our trip just watching the busy habor activities. The staff was fantastic, we will definitely stay there again. We loved this hotel and Seattle. Make sure you ask about the Pike Street Hill Climb and using the elevators in the parking garages to get down to the wharf area easily, this is a must for people with strollers, wheelchairs, the elderly etc.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank RhonnaM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Danville, California
Level Contributor
45 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 September 2009

The best location possible, in my opinion. Right on the marketplace. a short walk to the waterfront and the ferry terminal. Restaurants are close by and the bus system downtown is free! You just can't beat the location. The staff was attentive and professional and he room was spotless with a bed that was fantastic. I would recommend the Inn to any one traveling to Seattle for the first time.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank travelingangler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Asheville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
280 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 September 2009

Super location in Pike Street Market. Fabulous views of harbor and market. Watch the vendors set up the market or the action in the harbor. You are in the heart of Seattle. What you can't walk to, you can ride the free city bus. Clean, beautiful rooms. Get your coffee at the original Starbucks, your french pastry at Le Panier and then head to the patio on the 5th floor for breakfast! Or sip a glass of wine in the evening from the patio as you watch the sun set over the harbor. Great place for a romantic escape.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bumpkin13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
34 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 August 2009

We only stayed one night at the Inn at the Market but the location was perfect. It was easy to walk down to the Pike Place Market to grab breakfast or something to eat. The rooftop deck was spacious with a great view of the market and water. The front desk was friendly and helpful. We had a city view room which had a large bay window but it was quiet. The room was spacious with a sitting area and large armoire with TV as well as a side table by the door with a fridge, coffee maker and pay snacks. The bathroom was great - large, with a floating glass shelf above the sink for storage as well as another table against the wall with more space and a large shower. Overall, it was a great stay in a top notch hotel in the perfect location.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank wundrwomynn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
south carolina
Level Contributor
49 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2009

This was a nicely decorated and well kept inn! The room was comfortable, especially the bed. We really loved the rooftop terrace. It was a great place to relax as we overlooked the market and the bay! The location of the inn was it's best feature! Right at Pikes Market! (Although we thought that the market wasn't as nice as we expected!) We didn't venture out after dark, though, as there seemed to be lots of sketchy characters around!! During the day we enjoyed walking everywhere, from the market to the downtown shopping areas! We enjoyed all the choices of food alongside the market...especially Beechers cheese store's macaroni and cheese!!!!!! Try It!!!! It's WONDERFUL!! In all it was a great place to stay!

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank suehhi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
marketcaptain, General Manager at Inn at the Market, responded to this review, 11 August 2009
Dear Guests from South Carolina:

So pleased to learn you had the opportunity to try Beechers “Mac and Cheese”. Thank you for staying with us and please feel free to contact anyone of us when you return, and we will be glad to assist with any special arrangements. If you are up early (5am to 7am) you can see the milk truck delivering the milk and watch the cheese makers through the windows. There are many activities to do right out our front door, please feel free to check in with our front office team for suggestions.

Best

David Watkins
dwatkins@innatthemarket.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Seattle hotels
Downtown
Kimpton Alexis Hotel
Kimpton Alexis Hotel
#5 of 100 in Seattle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,960 reviews
Grand Hyatt Seattle
#6 of 100 in Seattle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,798 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel 1000
#11 of 100 in Seattle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,938 reviews
Mayflower Park Hotel
#23 of 100 in Seattle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,046 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn at the Market? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn at the Market

Property: Inn at the Market
Address: 86 Pine St., Seattle, WA 98101-1571
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Washington > Seattle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Seattle
#1 Romantic Hotel in Seattle
#1 Family Hotel in Seattle
#9 Business Hotel in Seattle
#14 Green Hotel in Seattle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Inn at the Market 4*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Inn at the Market is the only downtown Seattle hotel located directly in the famous Pike Place Market. Inn at the Market's ivy-covered courtyard is a tranquil hideaway, just steps away from the vibrant atmosphere of Pike Place Market and the Seattle waterfront. Inn at the Market offers Pacific Northwest style and comfort surrounded by downtown Seattle's most acclaimed restaurants and iconic landmarks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Inn at the Market reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn At The Market Hotel Seattle
Hotel At The Market
At The Market Seattle

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing