We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Location!”
Review of Inn at the Market

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Inn at the Market
Ranked #1 of 104 Hotels in Seattle
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 21 October 2009

We stayed at the Inn at the Market for the first few nights of our honeymoon. The staff knew that it was our honeymoon and when we got in there was a little fudge cake and the nicest note waiting on us in the room! The flight left us frazzled and it was above and beyond of them to give us a little treat. What a perfect way to start a honeymoon! The location was also great! We tried to save a little money by not getting a water view room and that worked out perfectly because of the guest balcony that we used everyday. The balcony of the hotel looks over the Puget Sound and the market. You can even see Rainier and the Olympic Mountains in the distance. Our favorite part of our trip was cuddling up with a bottle of wine and fresh fruit from the market and watching the sunset. The location was great, the staff was nice and the rooms were clean. You would have to have outrageous expectations to not fall in love with this hotel. I would recommend it to anyone staying in Seattle.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank roberae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,743)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2,503 - 2,509 of 2,743 reviews

Reviewed 16 October 2009

Having read the reviews on TripAdvisor, our expectations were high. After staying for 3 nights, we felt the hotel was definitely overrated. Location is good, view on roof is fantastic (the great weather helped). Rooms are okay (though we requested a room away from the street noise and did not get it). Valet staff went above and beyond. However, we did experience issues with Maid Service and Concierge. Several times the maid knocked once then barged into the room (early in the morning, no less). On two occasions we phoned the Concierge service for restaurant advice, they said they would phone back and never did. In the spirit of a boutique hotel, they did not have evening/late night dining or room service. I would recommend to friends, but with some caveats.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank paoztraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
marketcaptain, General Manager at Inn at the Market, responded to this reviewResponded 20 October 2009

Dear Guest:

Thank you for sharing your experience, I have reviewed your comments with both our housekeeping and concierge team. I do apologize for these service shortfalls and we will work hard to be sure these issues do not reoccur. Please feel free to contact me at dwatkins@innatthemarket.com if I or any other associate may be of assistance.

Best

David Watkins

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2009

The rooms in this hotel were very nice - large and modern with a comfortable bed (although the bathroom needed a better shower and more counter space). The staff was friendly and helpful. The location was very convenient for fisrt-time visitors (across the street from the Pike St. Market and near many good restaurants and shops). The hotel terrace was GREAT...a wonderful place to sit with a bottle of wine and a book and spend an afternoon relaxing or watching the sun set!!

For people that like the smaller, one-of-a-kind hotels in large cities...this is a very good choice!

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Traveldog86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2009

This is a wonderful hotel! We have stayed here for the past several summers and always enjoy our stay. Skip the townhouse suite unless you have a large group. If you can, splurge on a deluxe waterview room. If you cannot, book a cityside room and be sure to use the rooftop terrace! Bring a glass of wine and watch the ferries and ships come and go. The location is terrific. The staff is low key and efficient.

Stayed: August 2009, travelled with family
Thank LovesGreatHotels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2009

After reading many, many reviews on this website, I contacted the manager directly to see if he could assist me in making plans for a short 2 night stay in Seattle for our wedding anniversary. He promptly responded with an offer that I couldn't pass up!
This past weekend my husband and I stayed at the Inn in one of the town house city view suites. The hotel & staff were amazing! We absolutely loved this hotel and will for sure be back in the future! I have already told many friends and family that next time they're in Seattle, this is "the" place to stay!
When we first arrived, there was an anniversary card and a special dessert for two waiting in our room! It was delicious and such a nice gesture! Typically we would go out for a nice anniversary dinner where ever we happen to be. At the Inn, there was a set of dishes for two in our room, so both nights we decided to get takeout and bring it back. Fixed up our plates and headed to the deck on the 5th floor. Amazing view and plenty of space! Even though there were other guests out there, everyone had their own space and it was wonderful!
The room was very spacious and super clean! Two big flat screen tv's... bay windows that look out on two different streets, one with partial market/water view. The location couldn't be more ideal! Steps from Pike Place Market which is always one of our favs when in town for a visit.
Thank you Mr. Watkins & thank you to your staff! We really enjoyed our stay at your hotel and can't wait to come back! This was definitely an anniversary to remember!

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SeasideJenni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
marketcaptain, General Manager at Inn at the Market, responded to this reviewResponded 29 September 2009

Dear Guest:

I am very pleased you had a great time visiting Seattle and thank you for staying with us. For other trip advisor readers if you are celebrating something special be sure to mention it during your reservation.

Best

David Watkins
dwatkinsgm@innatthemarket.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2009

We stayed here for a few days a couple of weeks ago and found the service to be very prompt, the bed comfortable and room clean. The location was great but I was harassed one night by a persistant homeless man looking for a handout, while walking near the market after dark. When I did some internet research I learned that Seattle has lax laws toward panhandling, and that the panhandling is sometimes "aggressive". I also learned that that some of Seattle's services for the homeless are located in the market area. That being known, we avoided walking back through that area in the evenings and were were not harassed again there. This has nothing to do with the hotel but I think it's important to let people know to exercise caution in the market place after dark, especially since the hotel is adjacent to the Pike Market.

We thought the rooftop outdoor sitting area would have benefitted by a fireplace or at least a few heat lamps.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank whisperingpalms
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
marketcaptain, General Manager at Inn at the Market, responded to this reviewResponded 29 September 2009

Dear Guest:

Thank you for your comments and I am sorry that you experienced the pan handling. The Hotel and Downtown Association are working with the City of Seattle to try and address the situation.

Best

David Watkins

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2009

Where do I start? Service? Great! Rooms? Amazing! Location? Can't beat it. Right across the street is the Pike Place Market (which overlooks the bay), full of fresh flowers, vegetables, and art cultivated by locals. Haggled for an fantastic glass-blown vase and got a great deal. Walking distance to many restaurants, though admittedly, they do close a little early. If you get room service, try the fresh squeeze orange juice.

When I asked at the front desk for recommendations on where to go/what to do, the lady cheerfully gave me a map and gave me a few points of interest; she even outlined the free public transportation routes for me! Then, when it was time to go, the valet retrieved my car quickly and with pep, even at 4 in the morning, and he offered me tips on the safest places to get gas on the way back. They really take care of their patrons. If I ever go back to Seattle, this is definitely where I will stay again!

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TraverseTheUniverse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Seattle hotels
Downtown
Kimpton Alexis Hotel
Kimpton Alexis Hotel
#4 of 104 in Seattle
2,099 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Grand Hyatt Seattle
#6 of 104 in Seattle
3,246 reviews
The Paramount Hotel
#3 of 104 in Seattle
1,839 reviews
Belltown
The Edgewater, A Noble House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn at the Market? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn at the Market

Address: 86 Pine St., Seattle, WA 98101-1571
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Washington > Seattle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Seattle
#1 Romantic Hotel in Seattle
#1 Luxury Hotel in Seattle
#9 Business Hotel in Seattle
#14 Green Hotel in Seattle
Price Range: £170 - £363 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Inn at the Market 4*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Inn at the Market is the only downtown Seattle hotel located directly in the famous Pike Place Market. Inn at the Market's ivy-covered courtyard is a tranquil hideaway, just steps away from the vibrant atmosphere of Pike Place Market and the Seattle waterfront. Inn at the Market offers Pacific Northwest style and comfort surrounded by downtown Seattle's most acclaimed restaurants and iconic landmarks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Inn at the Market reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn At The Market Hotel Seattle
Hotel At The Market
At The Market Seattle

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing