We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Belltown at it's best”
Review of Ace Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Ace Hotel
Ranked #58 of 101 Hotels in Seattle
Certificate of Excellence
Montreal, Canada
1 review
“Belltown at it's best”
Reviewed 8 September 2011

If you haven't yet stayed at one the Ace hotel's (Seattle, Portland, New York), you should. Simple rooms with special touches like the decor or the sweet little radio/IPod dock. Seattle's version is located right in Belltown and within walking distance of everything worth seeing.
They also seem to have cornered the market on hip front desk people with an ear to the ground on what's happening in Seattle.

Room Tip: FYI - ACE has euro style bathrooms, ie shared. But they are clean, large and there are plenty.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JRolland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

439 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    196
    162
    42
    28
    11
See reviews for
48
206
62
29
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (103)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, UK
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 September 2011

We stayed for 2 nights last week, reception staff were friendly, helped us up and down the stairs with our bags (there is no lift, so pack light!)
Parking is expensive, we found the best deal to be the hotels, though they did have free parking outside on the street from 8pm - 8am.
Breakfast is great, toast, waffles, cereal, yoghurts and fruit. They didnt have any english breakfast tea which is a really minor complaint almost not worth mentioning, but would have been nice. Not everyone likes spice chai or earl gray :)
The room was basic, but good for the price. It was a bit noisy over the bar and I havent slept in a single bed for a long, long time! Ipod docks and free internet a bonus.
Bathrooms were always available and clean, and they give you nice robes. Sharing was not a problem, never had to wait.
So for the price, it was a really good stay.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shininglight151
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
99 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2011

Expecting a boutique hotel = small and oriented around the client.

Found a hotel with many inconveniences that was not worth the money.

+ clean, good location

- had to lift luggage up staircase
- reception desk unmanned during night
- coffee machine had to be used on the floor (effectively)
- tiny desk space
- slightly shabby room
- no wardrobe space - just open rails
- underpowered noisy air-con
- uncomfortable desk chair
- bathroom amenities stuffed in tiny cabinet
- not enough towels (and they are stored in the toilet!)

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Ray A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle-upon-Tyne, England
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2011

Excellent hotel. It may only be rated 2 star but it provided us with excellent service from friendly staff in a relaxed atmosphere. Who could ask for more? Any concerns we had about the shared facilities were quickly dispelled and it was actually a positive thing not having the loo, shower etc en suite. Recommend this hotel to travellers looking to engage with Seattle life.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Doctore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Illinois
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2011

This place is well run and well maintained. The staff is excedingly friendly and helpful. The breakfast was fine, nothing special, though the coffee was better than your average hotel coffee. Location is excellent, and close to two great restaurants -- Local360, and Nora or Zola or something like that. Also a very fine coffee shop/bakery right across the street. Rooms are small, clean and efficient. The shared baths are kept very clean, and the hotel provides nice fluffy robes for guests. Clientele is not all hip and beautiful -- we're in our 60s!
Even if their website shows no vacancies, it's worth a phone call because they don't put all their rooms up online.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lreynold1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cleveland, Ohio
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 142 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2011

I stayed here for less than 12 hours (late check-in and early flight) with my boyfriend. We both really liked it. I had stayed at the Ace in Portland and been to the one in NYC. This is worlds apart, there's no hip bar or coffee place or really much of a lobby. The rooms were just right, nothing unnecessary, comfy beds, friendly staff. The neighborhood had some bums loitering around, but it wasn't super sketchy. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jgodic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 10 August 2011

Well I've never written a review and had to for this place. What a cool establishment. I mean they seem to have thought of it all. Really cool place I'll stay in next time I'm in Seattle! Cheers!

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Seattle hotels
Belltown
Inn at El Gaucho
Inn at El Gaucho
#33 of 101 in Seattle
440 reviews
Belltown
Belltown Inn
Belltown Inn
#50 of 101 in Seattle
1,001 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Georgetown Inn
#17 of 101 in Seattle
525 reviews
Belltown
Hotel Andra
Hotel Andra
#10 of 101 in Seattle
2,037 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ace Hotel

Property: Ace Hotel
Address: 2423 First Ave., Seattle, WA 98121
Region: United States > Washington > Seattle > Belltown
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #58 of 101 Hotels in Seattle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Ace Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Ace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing