We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exactly what we wanted!”
Review of Ace Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Ace Hotel
Ranked #61 of 105 Hotels in Seattle
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 December 2012

Clean, hip, minimal yet stylish room. Helpful staff. Great location- can walk to just about everywhere. A must if you enjoy night life and excellent small restaurants. A much more urban setting than the more touristy shopping areas of Seattle. This is a great hotel for couples, as they value your privacy (no housekeeping unless you ask for it). Love the downstairs 'kitchen' where you can get coffee / tea or snacks 24hrs a day. Appreciated the free wifi, and the little extras. Parking, if needed, is about 2-1/2 blocks away and that was the only downside when I needed to check out at 4am and walk in the pouring rain in the dark! Also, pack light as they don't have an elevator, you will be carrying your luggage up and down those stairs.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fmjmclark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (461)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

259 - 265 of 461 reviews

Reviewed 4 December 2012

Comfortable and accommodating. The Ace Seattle was a good place to call home for two nights. A location slightly off the main circuit - but close to many places to experience: Pike Place Market and Space Needle, for sure. But don't miss Olympic Sculpture Park and Chihuly Garden and Glass and a walk along the water's edge. Found the room comfortable and efficiently arranged. Solo traveler so it didn't feel to small or tight. Happy to have a desk and free wifi along with sink in the room. Shared bathrooms were clean and never crowded, so it made that aspect of the Ace very easy. Breakfast is similar to many with granola, yogurt, fresh fruit and make-it-yourself waffles along with Stumptown coffee. Liked the space a great deal - a converted building with high ceilings and good feel.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Phil L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 November 2012

This was our second stay at an Ace (Portland previously). Exactly what we expected it to be. Reclaimed, renovated old character building in quirky Belltown. Great location, easy walk (5-ish blocks) to Pike Place Market, Space Needle, etc. yet lots of interesting restaurants, bars in the neighbourhood.

We got a deluxe room in the back corner (#119) that had a view of the side street and a partial water view. There was a funny divot in the old floor under the carpet. I was finally taller than my girlfriend! Comfortable bed, flatscreen TV, leather couch, free wifi. Rudy's Barber Shop toiletries. The sink didn't have much surrounding counter space.

Note: The windows are double pane but the nature of the old openings means the windows don't fit perfectly which means you will hear traffic noise more than you would expect.

Friendly staff, apparently a free waffle breakfast downstairs.

Its not perfect, but I'd take it's character over some generic mega-chain any day.

Room Tip: Room 119 is a corner unit with partial water view and street view. NW facing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank misterbitterpants
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 November 2012

My boyfriend and I have spent many nights at the Ace Hotel over the years and I couldn't be fonder of the place. That said, we hadn't been there in at least a year when we realized our keys were locked inside my apartment sometime last month. It was after midnight and the resident manager had apparently gone to bed, so we walked into the Ace and were immediately checked in to a simple room with windows overlooking Wall St at the reasonable nightly rate of $89.00. Check in was quick, simple and casual.

I was sad to see that the chess board in the lobby was gone, but they do have a computer available for guest use and a hip selection of complimentary magazines. Our room did not have a private bathroom, just a sink. The shared bathrooms were clean, white and spacious and there was never a line to use them.

The complimentary breakfast is quite possibly the best thing about the Seattle Ace Hotel. It's self serve, available from 6-11am and delicious. The breakfast room is accessible to guests at all hours and is equipped with a snack machine, coffee, a microwave, dishes and a coin op washer and dryer.

There are a couple rooms that are really cool, 116 features a spinning glass mirror wall between the bathroom and bedroom as well as a private terrace (if I recall correctly) and 128 (as well as others) has a sexy glass wall between the shower and bedroom. Many of the rooms feature Shepard Fairey type stencils on the walls and minimal, modern furnishings.

Room Tip: Two of my personal favorites are rooms 116 and 128.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lael_Lael
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 November 2012

We always hear so much hype about the Ace Hotels, so we finally stayed at THE one. For downtown Seattle the location was perfect for us ~ on the edge of center and a little off the beaten path. The size of the hotel was perfect as well - small. No fuss no muss service - meaning no bell person trying to aggressively take our bags, but the men working the front desk were kind but not intrusive. The room was small, that's no big deal in our book. We liked that we had a big window.

Unfortunately it was kind of downhill from there. The bed was a full - my tall man's feet hung over the end. We had read these reviews about the rooms being so clean - they didn't seem very clean to us. Kind of grimy and in fact, the room seemed like it was time for an update, everything was worn, especially in the bathroom. But the worst part of this hotel is it is not sound proof. You can hear EVERYTHING. Every time a person moves it echoes throughout the floors and walls, every creak in the floor, every shower running, every toilet flushing, everyone blowing their nose - everything. We were lucky to hear everyone coming home late at night and felt bad knowing in a few hours we would be waking them all up when we got up at 3:30 am to go to the airport.

We really wanted to like this hotel because it is very much us, but what isn't is very not us. We expected a bit more than there was in terms of quality. If the Ace took care of the noise, upgraded the interiors, and got better beds, we would be back. But I think next time we'll head somewhere else.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bealocal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2012

This was our first time at the Ace Hotel in Seattle. We walked in at 8pm on a weekday and they were able to provide us with a room for two evenings. I love the attention to detail at this hotel. From the lovely soap, to the make-it-yourself waffles in their breakfast, we felt cared for down to every last detail. The staff were very helpful and the location was excellent. We found it an easy walk to Pike Place Market and a variety of shops and restaurants. It felt great to stay in a hotel that isn't cookie cutter.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sarah K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2012

Had a great stay The hotel is just a short walk from the ferry dock (we were coming from Victoria). The staff helped us navigate around. Everything seemed to be within walking distance from the hotel..Pike's Market, the Space Needle area,etc. We even walked to the transit station to catch the train to the airport. No car rental!! Everything was very neat, clean and organized..and a great breakfast . Would definitly come again.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank claire s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Seattle hotels
Belltown
Belltown Inn
Belltown Inn
#45 of 105 in Seattle
1,107 reviews
Belltown
Hotel Max
Hotel Max
#37 of 105 in Seattle
2,414 reviews
MarQueen Hotel
#53 of 105 in Seattle
1,245 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Belltown
Inn at El Gaucho
Inn at El Gaucho
#22 of 105 in Seattle
476 reviews
Belltown
The Edgewater, A Noble House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ace Hotel

Address: 2423 First Ave., Seattle, WA 98121
Region: United States > Washington > Seattle > Belltown
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #61 of 105 Hotels in Seattle
Price Range: £99 - £221 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Ace Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Ace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing