We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hip 'n down-to-Earth”
Review of Ace Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Ace Hotel
Ranked #56 of 103 Hotels in Seattle
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 May 2014 via mobile

The ACE in Seattle is centrally located in the urban hotspot neighborhood Belltown. The rooms are quaint, comfortable, and each styled and designed in a simple artistic motif. Many rooms offer shared bathrooms but don't let that give you the impression they're not a classy experience. There are several bathrooms from which to choose, all very clean, roomy, and equally stylish.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Phillip E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (455)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

191 - 197 of 455 reviews

Reviewed 24 May 2014

Stayed a couple of days and picked the original Ace Hotel because it was $100 a night and needed something simple and local. Knew about the shared bathrooms and was fine with it. It was not an inconvenience. Like the other Ace Hotel, everything is designed and thought out. My single room was spacious and comfortable. The staff helped me up the stairs with my bags, gave me some recommendations and provided an umbrella. Location: within walking distance to downtown, space needle, museum area and Pike Place market. Depending on where you are going, could be 5-7 minute walk to bus stop. What's keeping it from a 5 star: walls are thin, so you hear everything, and few quirky design things, like the bed being way low, and shower room being a little big, with the hook to hang your robe way to far from the shower.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ccc1138
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2014

I can almost hear the chatter of the maritime workers that used to occupy this space many years ago. Each room is simple, clean, quiet and most of all safe and comfortable. The halls are long narrow, dimly lit, but in a comforting way. The walls and woodwork are all painted white so the one stainless steel shelf, 3 wooden shelves and stainless steel sink just all fit together to create a mood in the room that says authentic, loved, and appreciated for what it is. On our floor, there are 5 or six large walk-in showers and the body wash, shampoo and conditioner they supply in large containers in the showers do the job just fine, even on long hair. The bathroom floors and shower floors are all white tile and are amazingly spotless. The floor is slick when wet, though, so be careful if you are traveling without shower shoes. The floor coverings in the hall are locker-room ready - indoor/outdoor and nobody wears shoes to pop from the room into the bathroom or shower. The hotel supplies nice robes too so everyone seems to just wear that to walk from your room to the shower - no bid deal. There are plenty of power outlets for all your devices. The room has a comfortable rocking chair and a desk and chair as well. There is no A/C, so on warm sunny afternoons the huge windows that actually open to the outside cool the room in no-time. There is also a small, but powerful, table fan that keeps the air moving just fine. There is a small TV with cable if you have any down time. 2 other amenities - a Britta pitcher and a hair-dryer. The rooms are large enough to spread out all the gear for 2 people, and not be tripping over anything.

There are lots of stairs to climb, but Seattle is so full of hills and everyone walks everywhere, so what's 2 or 3 flights of stairs anyway. Breakfast is in the basement. The granola is high quality, and they have yogurt to put on top. There are also breads, a toaster, and the waffle-maker. More importantly, they have COFFEE! And it tastes great. They also keep half-and-half in a thermos, which is wonderful if you like your cream. There are also washers and dryers, but we wash out hiking clothes in our room and set them on the window seal to dry.

Location doesn't get any better than this. The water front is just out the back and down the street a block. There are literally a hundred well-deserving bars and restaurants within 5 minutes of the hotel, so need to have a car. And the Pike Place Market is about a 10 minute walk away and is an absolute gem - clearly a great experience I will never forget.

The hotel staff are all nice, courteous, and very willing to help you anyway they can. They made me feel at home the moment I walked in the door. They will gladly get you a clean set of towels or whatever else you might want. We didn't need house-keeping services the entire time we were there. But it is available and no additional charge.

Despite being in the heart of everything, the area and the hotel are quiet, even at night. Sleeping with the window open is not a problem for those of us not used to noise. No cab drivers honking horns, no ambulances, no noisy pedestrians. Really more of a neighborhood feel.

Because of the culture of this hotel, and because of the location, I wouldn't stay anywhere else. It just happens to be one of the most reasonably priced hotels in Seattle, which is the icing on the cake.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the same level as the reception area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GuitarWaterGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2014

My cousin and I were here for a quick get out of LA trip. The manager greeted us on the first day( Super Professional and accommodating). And so was the other workers at the front desk as well. They even gave us a room with two bds instead of having to share one. Bathrooms were clean, they have Soy milk! and The waffles... You have to try them for yourself. Waffles each morning was like a piece of heaven. Located right in the heart of DT. I would def stay here again

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Katharine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2014

Wow, I loved this place. Cozy and clean. The room had a very cozy and fresh feel to it, the lobby was very inviting, and the staff...super friendly! The breakfast was also delicious. I highly reccomend this place. The bathroom was a shared one, but they were private and very clean. I also liked how they had soft music playing inside. The shower was great, and they have nice smelling soaps you can use. After travelling in central america for four months, this was a great luxury for me.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sheena M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2014

I really enjoyed Ace Hotel, as a previous backpacker at hostels who has now grown out of that I was still looking for a good deal and Ace Hotel is it. Great rates for shared bathrooms (of which their are MANY and all sparkling clean. The room was clean and charming, the staff pleasant and the breakfast FANTASTIC - there are waffles and so much more!

It's in a great location, near downtown, only 15 min. walk to Pike Market and on the main street.

Only one flaw, this historic building has thin walls.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank StephanieMayo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2014

A small hotel is a great location. within walking distance to most places you would want to see in Seattle. Very clean and well put together. It is a place for adults, nothing really there is keep a child busy. The watering hole at the bottom of the stairs also is a pretty good, local place with good food and drink.

Room Tip: Parking in the neighborhood is very expensive, but they will help you. If you are just there to see...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wayne L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Seattle hotels
Belltown
Inn at El Gaucho
Inn at El Gaucho
#25 of 103 in Seattle
457 reviews
Belltown
Belltown Inn
Belltown Inn
#48 of 103 in Seattle
1,067 reviews
Belltown
Kimpton Palladian Hotel
Kimpton Palladian Hotel
#20 of 103 in Seattle
509 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Belltown
Hotel Max
Hotel Max
#36 of 103 in Seattle
2,375 reviews
Belltown
The Edgewater, A Noble House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ace Hotel

Address: 2423 First Ave., Seattle, WA 98121
Region: United States > Washington > Seattle > Belltown
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #56 of 103 Hotels in Seattle
Price Range: £90 - £208 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Ace Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Ace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing