We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bad Service Bad Room Bad Kharma”
Review of Ace Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Ace Hotel
Ranked #61 of 105 Hotels in Seattle
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 March 2005

Generally i'm not a picky traveller, and i've stayed at the ace several times in the past 2 yrs but the this last visit will be the last. The Ace is a great concept, hipper than thou warholian installation a la auberge. Knowing that some rooms are better than others I reserved well in advance and requested one of the deluxe rooms in the back. When i arrived they'd given the room to someone else offering the excuse, "well, the previous guest decided to stay an extra day", and the front desk person was very rude and put out by the whole exchange. The room i ended up with was small dark and very noisy. It was impossible to sleep or enjoy staying in the room as you could hear everthing from the adjacent rooms. Nothing like listening to "Cops" blasting from the room next door at 1AM, or hearing your neighbors snoring, coughing, flushing their toilet, and wondering how much they could hear as well. Unless you're twenty something and planning on partying all night and coming home and passing out aka leading the psuedo rock star life style i suggest stearing clear. There are plenty of other places in the area to stay.

  • Stayed: February 2005, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank thelaughingdog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (461)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

408 - 414 of 461 reviews

A TripAdvisor Member
SF, CA
11
Reviewed 5 October 2004

Our room was in the center of the hotel and was architecturally interesting (our headboard was a floor-to- ceiling plate glass shower wall) we had a patio, but no window. It was quiet quiet quiet. We could sleep late and take a nap in the afternoon. We were close to bumbershoot, a good but slow cafe for breakfast, good coffee across the street. Nice - relaxing - recommended.

  • Stayed: September 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
318
Reviewed 23 September 2004

The single rooms in this hotel are so sparse (which is intentional, I know) and ugly that it seemed like we were trapped in a hospital - all white walls, sink basin in room, small rectangle shape.
The beds are hard as rocks, the blankets are rough, and it's really noisy.
This is the most overrated hotel I've ever stayed at, and I'm a fan of 'modern' stype hotels.

7  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Denver, CO
12
Reviewed 6 September 2004

Two old ladies, returning from an Alaskan cruise, drove up to the Ace Hotel in a cab. After having wrestled with eight pieces of luggage for several days, they were dumbfounded to see that the hotel is a walkup.

No problemo. A couple fellas got the luggage both in and out of the hotel in fine form. The only thing the ladies had to do with their pieces of luggage was sit on them in order to zip them back up.

Soooooo......staff was helpful in every regard, rooms were clean and interesting. Thoughtful of the maid to leave the ladies a package of M&Ms instead of the Kama Sutra book and a condom.

2  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
san francisco, ca
16
Reviewed 5 May 2004

My first stay at the ace was good: hip sublime minimal ... unfortunately it's been downhill from there. My second and third visits proved to be frustrating, irritating and uncomfortable. The rooms have been small, dark, with hollow sheet rock walls seperating the rooms. You can hear everything .... EVERYTHING. The neighbors on one side left their tv on all night (it's probably still on), the ones on the other side came home around 2AM had loud sex and then spent the rest of the morning puking in the bathroom (another reason not to opt for a shared bath). There is no service except for there front desk where you'll find a terse urban hipster with multiple peircings reading a magazine and chatting on her cell phone who makes it known that you are a bother. The place has great possibities, unfortunately they are not realized. After 3 visits I give up.

6  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
NY, NY
12
Reviewed 31 March 2004

I stayed at The Ace for 5 days this March and really liked it. It was clean, very accessible to nearby restaurants (some pricey ones though so be aware), and had a nice staff. They were helpful in suggestions on where to eat and one nice woman helped my boyfriend and I down the stairs with our luggage which wasn't necessary but very nice of her. I really liked the decor of the room too. It was simple but perfect if you're used to non-fussy places. The shared bathrooms were clean and the maids cleaned the room up nicely every day. I didn't encounter any noise problems but that is because when I booked the room, I specifically asked for a quieter side that did not face the noisey street. It was quiet and pleasant and I'm a light sleeper. The Cyclops downstairs had good food and a fun atmostsphere. One drawback I would say is that it's hard to find an inexpensive place to get something to eat in the neighborhood. Also, going alone to the bathroom at night seemed a bit sketchy because the halls were very dimly lit to look cooler, I guess but I was a little paranoid of going to the shared bathrooms without my boyfriend in the middle of the night. Other than that, I would definitely recommend the place to anyone who wants a fun, no-frills place to stay that's convenient to everything.

  • Stayed: January 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
portland, or
13
Reviewed 17 March 2004

we were totally disappointed. loved the "concept" of the hotel, but the reality was very disappointing. room was dirty: various stains on the walls; unclean and uncomfortable bedding; broken, dirty furniture; bedside table ripped out of the wall and dangling; stains on the carpeting; stuffy and airless; on the up side, the shared bathrooms were clean; the location is good; the staff was nice, although not overly knowlegeable about the area/where to find secured parking.

3  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Seattle hotels
Belltown
Belltown Inn
Belltown Inn
#45 of 105 in Seattle
1,107 reviews
Belltown
Hotel Max
Hotel Max
#37 of 105 in Seattle
2,414 reviews
MarQueen Hotel
#53 of 105 in Seattle
1,245 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Belltown
Inn at El Gaucho
Inn at El Gaucho
#22 of 105 in Seattle
476 reviews
Belltown
The Edgewater, A Noble House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ace Hotel

Address: 2423 First Ave., Seattle, WA 98121
Region: United States > Washington > Seattle > Belltown
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #61 of 105 Hotels in Seattle
Price Range: £99 - £221 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Ace Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Ace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing