We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Modern, hip perfection” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ace Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Ace Hotel
Ranked #56 of 100 Hotels in Seattle
Certificate of Excellence
Houston
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Modern, hip perfection”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 September 2010

My boyfriend and I recently stayed at the Ace hotel for 2 nights while vacationing in Seattle. I was initially afraid of the shared bathroom concept, but the perfect reviews from everyone proved to be true and I'm glad I listened. There was never anyone in the hallways or in the spotless bathrooms. If you understand and appreciate good, modern design, this hotel is for you. My boyfriend and I both even appreciated the music playing quietly in the bathrooms... our kind of music! The front desk was friendly and wouldn't let me carry my bags up the stairs. The waffles at breakfast are delicious and the whole hotel has a fun feel to it. We stayed in a plush, private hotel in Vancouver on the same trip and my boyfriend and I both prefered the fun vibe of the Ace to that hotel. The rooms have everything you need and deliver it to you in a quirky and unique way.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ldaniels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

425 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    191
    157
    38
    28
    11
See reviews for
48
195
61
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (99)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hartford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
113 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2010

Loved this place. Nothing I didn't need, but everything I did. Everything is spotlessly clean and comfortable; the folks at the front desk are young and very helpful; the included breakfast was delicious (granola, yogurt, hard-core coffee, etc). Only downside is that the area (1st and Wall) can be a little sketchy late at night; during the day and evening, it's fine. If you're looking for a cushy place with a lounge and and bar, this isn't it. Additional note - it's on a main bus line, taxis run by frequently, and it's walking distance to Pike Place Market and Seattle Center.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tandrys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San diego
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2010

First time staying at the Ace, Seattle, but not the last. I was a bit apprehensive about booking a room without a private bath – the first time for this arrangement. But no need to worry. There are numerous, sparkling clean bathrooms close to all the rooms, so that you are not wandering the halls in your bathrobe, which the hotel supplies. Breakfast is included and it is not the usual high-fat, high-sugar Motel 6 variety. Lots of healthy choices, as well as fresh made waffle batter for DIY waffles. The rooms are very clean and moderately-sized. The location is ideal -2 blocks from the waterfront, a short walk to Pike’s Place Market or the Space Needle, as well as being in the no-pay city bus zone. The stairs to the front desk are a bit daunting, especially if you have a heavy suitcase or impaired mobility (no elevator), but the front desk person will gladly help with your bags. But the BEST thing about the Ace is the staff. Ed & Shane are professional, helpful, friendly and knowledgeable. Lots of good advice on where to eat or have a sunset drink (don’t miss the Kingfish Café). After two nights at the Ace, we felt like family.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank shebiba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
san diego
Level Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2010

It's not a boutique hotel at all, and it's not a Marriott or chain-like in any way. This will satisfy all of your hipster yearnings, from the modernist furnishings to the lack of elevators and boxed water. Good beds, sheets, pillows, towels, and a very happening neighborhood if you want to party with the twenty to thirty-somethings. Breakfast is in the basement and is self serve, including make your own waffle. The coffee is not strong enough, but it's all you can drink. We would stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank onebackwardglance
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AUSTIN
Level Contributor
76 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2010

Simple, modern, & idealistically located in downtown Bellvue Seattle. The staff was friendly. There was a very nice complimentary breakfast (yogurt, cereal, coffee, make-your-own waffle) and Pike's Market is about a 10 minute walk from there. The rooms are small but so is the price for a great location! Not too bad for the cost.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank QUYNH73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2010

From the outside this hotel doesn't look like much, but everything inside was almost perfect. My GF and I were travelling with our two Chihuahuas and were reluctant to leave them in the room alone for a few hours. As it turned out, they were pretty well behaved, and didn't cause any problems. All the staff were very polite, considerate and understanding. The room we were in faced Wall St, so it was a little noisy at times. This didn't bother us much, but it may bother others as there is no A/C so you pretty well have to leave the windows open on a warm day. They do have a small fan to help with that as well. Rooms and (shared) bathrooms were very clean.

As far as the location goes, it was very central. About a 6 min walk to the Space needle, and about 10 min walk to Pike Marketplace. Also, a lot of great restaurants and shops in the area too.

The breakfast Ace provides was awesome! You can make your own waffles, or if you prefer, there is yogurt and granola, milk and OJ, and coffee.

Overall, I'd rate this hotel a 5/5.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank a_4lb_Chalupa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Jose, CA
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2010

My wife & I spent an evening recently at this hotel. The Belltown location affords you the opportunity to visit Pike Place, the waterfront district, numerous top-notch restaurants, and lots of shops. The austere decor, limited room furnishings, and cozy room measurements might be a potential put-off, but the helpful staff, great location, can't go wrong room pricing, and full Continental breakfast might win you over; it did us! Worth a try next time you visit Seattle.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank maddogSJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Seattle hotels
Belltown
Belltown Inn
Belltown Inn
#52 of 100 in Seattle
4.0 of 5 bubbles 927 reviews
Belltown
Inn at El Gaucho
Inn at El Gaucho
#37 of 100 in Seattle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 420 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Belltown
Kimpton Palladian Hotel
Kimpton Palladian Hotel
#20 of 100 in Seattle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 380 reviews
Belltown
Hotel Max
Hotel Max
#30 of 100 in Seattle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,135 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ace Hotel

Property: Ace Hotel
Address: 2423 First Ave., Seattle, WA 98121
Region: United States > Washington > Seattle > Belltown
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #56 of 100 Hotels in Seattle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Ace Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers and Odigeo so you can book your Ace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing