We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Renovated room, I5 noise, limited continental breakfast”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Seattle Downtown Area
Ranked #36 of 101 Hotels in Seattle
Certificate of Excellence
Modena, Italy
Level 6 Contributor
115 reviews
113 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
“Renovated room, I5 noise, limited continental breakfast”
Reviewed 26 July 2014

I had an executive room on the top 34th floor.
Normal size, king bed, desk with USB and multiple sockets.
A sort of armchair with no armrest and no footstool (but the room setup makes it difficult to watch tv from the armchair).
Safe, 37" TV and empty refrigerator, complimentary purified water.

There is a gift shop at reception with minibar items and there are vending machines at odd numbered floors for beverages.
It is a bit disconcerting that if you are on floor 32/34 you see signs about vending machines at 31/33 but you cannot access those floors with your key (executive floors require key); so you have better going to 29.

Both the room and the bathroom appear recently renovated; very good lighting in the bathroom.
It is strange that a renovated bathroom (and on executive floor) does not have a walk-in shower, but there was the "traditional" tub with fixed head and curtain.

Wireless is complimentary for Priority Club members and it worked well (I had to ask for the code, which was not given at check-in).

The bed was comfortable but external sound insulation is pretty poor and the adjacent I5 assures constant noise night and day.
I must say that the constant humming is less disturbing than the regular city traffic, yet sound insulation might have been way better.

I used room service for dinner: the menu was sufficiently varied and the food was good.
The executive lounge on 32nd floor has a view to some skyscrapers to the south and the I5 (and mountains, weather permitting).
It is small and a bit cramped but I always found an empty (mini) table.
The first day I had breakfast in the restaurant because it opens earlier: it is geared towards the "full american" cook to order approach; the buffet lacks common "continental" items: no pastries, only plain yoghurt.
The second day I had breakfast in the executive lounge ("continental only") where options were few: no danish (croissant and muffin only), no separate sliced melons (fruit salad only), some choice of packaged fruit yoghurts.
Everything very essential and no-frills, but maybe the cramped space does not allow for more.

Location was good for a short walk to the shopping streets and centers or for moving by car.

Of course there is valet parking but if you prefer self parking, there is the 24h Olympic garage at Seneca crossing 5th.
I always found a space but not very easily. If you have to carry trolleys, levels B/D are best because there is the elevator; the others require a flight of stairs down to B or D.
From the "ground" floor you still have a few steps down anyway.

Conclusion: from Crowne Plaza I usually expect a 4 star experience.
I think that all considered (including the steep rate) this is a comfortable hotel but it comes a bit short, this is why I am assigning 3 "tripadvisor" stars.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alberto P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
crister, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Seattle Downtown Area, responded to this review, 28 July 2014
Dear Alberto P,
Thank you for being and IHG Rewards Member and for taking the time to write a very comprehensive review of your stay with us. We recently renovated all of our public spaces and our guestrooms and bathrooms and it was great to read you found the hotel comfortable and the location good. We truly value the opinions of our customers and we apologize that we did not fully meet your expectations. We appreciate your comments regarding the breakfast buffet and Club Lounge breakfast items and will review your feedback with the Executive Chef. We are consistently undergoing changes to improve our overall service and products available to our guests. Being centrally located in the heart of the city one can sometimes experience noise from our urban location and regret any inconvenience this caused during your stay. Thank you again for your comments and we hope you will give us another opportunity to serve you if your travels bring you back to Seattle.
All the Best,
Cristy Smith
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,472 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    552
    624
    205
    67
    24
See reviews for
284
417
114
410
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (367)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2014

This hotel was a great value. The valet parking was a little confusing to figure out where to go, but but convient after that. The hotel is very nicely updated and had a very helpful staff. The room was huge and had a great view of the city. It came with all of the ammentities you would expect in a nice hotel. It was very worth the price. We recently stayed at the Edgewater hotel for 2x the price, and this was a far nicer hotel! Great Location for fun Seattle activies. Due to steep roads you may need a taxi to get around.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Solshn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
crister, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Seattle Downtown Area, responded to this review, 23 July 2014
Dear Solshn,
Thank you for the 5 star review. We really appreciate your feedback about the helpful staff and the huge room with the great view of the city. Seattle terrain is hilly and relatively compact city with most of the favorite attractions within easy walking or transit distance. The seven hills of Seattle is an unofficial designation of several hills that historians claim the city of Seattle was built on and around. As a general rule of Seattle, the hills go east/west. While north/south is more typically fairly flat. Sections of Seneca are steep, so if you are heading down to the waterfront or the Pike Place Market we recommend walking north on 6th avenue then turn west when you reach Pike, which has the least incline. We appreciate your business and hope to serve you again.
Kind Regards,
Cristy Smith
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2014

I have stayed at this property many times and have never been disappointed. Almost all staff members (except in the Club breakfast room) have a great "can do" attitude. Access on and off I5 is good. The rooms and lobby have recently been renovated before it was overdue like so many hotels. Located within a 10-15 minute walk to almost anything worth visiting in the downtown area makes it an excellent stay for a ballgame, shopping, restaurants, etc. I will be back.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SDM12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
crister, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Seattle Downtown Area, responded to this review, 23 July 2014
Dear SDM12,
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. It was great to read you have stayed with us many times and have never been disappointed. We appreciate your business and look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel the next time you are in downtown Seattle.
Warm Regards,
Cristy Smith
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent UK
Level 6 Contributor
96 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2014

Stayed for 2 nights before our cruise. Hotel check in was quick and easy. Stayed on 27th floor overlooking motorway but had no noise. Room was lovely and spacious. Bath with shower in. The fridge was empty to store our own drinks. Was that cold my bottle of water actually froze. You also had about four different pillows n your bed and could choose which one you like and order more. I just used the four we were given. Tip: sign up to IHG rewards before you go and when you check in tell them you are a member and you will get free internet. The only downside is it is a very steep walk from the seafront up to the hotel. More so walking up Senacre st to the hotel than walking up any of the others. Nearly killed me in the heat !!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NevardA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
crister, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Seattle Downtown Area, responded to this review, 23 July 2014
Dear larma,
Thank you for staying at the Crown Plaza Hotel and for taking the time to write a review. It was great to read we met your expectations and you found the room lovely and spacious. Seattle is a relatively compact city with most of the favorite attractions within easy walking or transit distance. Seattle terrain is hilly and the seven hills of Seattle is an unofficial designation of several hills that historians claim the city of Seattle was built on and around. As a general rule of Seattle, the hills go east/west. While north/south is more typically fairly flat. Sections of Seneca are steep, so if you are heading down to the waterfront or the Pike Place Market we recommend walking north on 6th avenue then turn west when you reach Pike, which has the least incline. Thank you again for your feedback and we hope to see you again.
Sincerely,
Cristy Smith
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marina Del Rey, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 July 2014

It might seem contrary to rate a hotel very good and then say that I'm never going back, but it's true.

It's a beautiful hotel and our room was spacious and comfortable. Unfortunately, at about 6:AM a dog in an adjacent room began crying and barking incessantly for the next hour. Obviously his/her owners had left him alone in the room and he was having none of it.

When I inquired at checkout if the hotel allowed dogs, I was told "Yes, we are a progressive, pet friendly hotel." So be it -- just one without me as a guest.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Blaine L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
crister, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Seattle Downtown Area, responded to this review, 16 July 2014
Dear Blaine L,
Thank you for taking the time let us know about your recent experience. We appreciate your comments about the hotel being beautiful and the room spacious and comfortable. It was very disappointing to read about your experience with the dog barking. We provide guidelines for our pet owners to follow and I regret they were not followed. Thank you again for your comments and we hope to have the opportunity to earn your confidence back and show you the type of service and accommodations we pride ourselves at providing.
Regards,
Cristy Smith
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belmont, North Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
394 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2014

Wow what a view! Both of the water and the Space Needle. It is very near Pikes Market but we took a taxi because of the up hill walk back to the hotel. The hotel is modern and our room was large with all of the comforts of home including makeup mirror, bath robes and mini refrigerator. We ate at the restaurant for dinner and it was very good with large portions. We also had the buffet breakfast and enjoyed the selections. The valet was able to locate cabs for us quickly and the front desk staff were friendly and helpful. We enjoyed our stay.

Room Tip: Ask for an upper floor with view of the space needle.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank deborah r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
crister, Manager at Crowne Plaza Seattle Downtown Area, responded to this review, 14 July 2014
Dear Deborah,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay. We are happy that you found the hotel modern and our rooms well appointed. Our chef will be delighted to hear that you enjoyed both breakfast and dinner in our restaurant and that our menus offered a great selection. Thank you again.

Regards,

Tarig Ghandour
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bandar Seri Begawan, Brunei Darussalam
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2014

I had a very good 6-night stay at this hotel, and commend the staff for their service. From check in to taxi booking upon departure, they were highly professional. Location worked for me too, with just a short walk to Pine and Pike Avenues.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 429_Andrew_429
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
crister, Manager at Crowne Plaza Seattle Downtown Area, responded to this review, 14 July 2014
Dear Andrew,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review about your recent stay. it was good to read that you found our staff to be highly professional and service oriented. Our location is ideal for both the business and leisure travelers, being close to all the attractions and businesses.

Best regards,

Tarig Ghandour
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Seattle hotels
0.2 mi away
Sheraton Seattle Hotel
Sheraton Seattle Hotel
#34 of 101 in Seattle
4,295 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hilton Seattle
Hilton Seattle
#56 of 101 in Seattle
1,035 reviews
0.1 mi away
Kimpton Hotel Vintage Seattle
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Seattle
0.3 mi away
Grand Hyatt Seattle
Grand Hyatt Seattle
#7 of 101 in Seattle
3,082 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Fairmont Olympic Seattle
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Seattle Downtown Area? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Seattle Downtown Area

Property: Crowne Plaza Seattle Downtown Area
Address: 1113 6th Ave, Seattle, WA 98101-3002
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Washington > Seattle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Luxury Hotel in Seattle
#30 Business Hotel in Seattle
#33 Romantic Hotel in Seattle
#35 Family Hotel in Seattle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Crowne Plaza Seattle Downtown Area 4*
Number of rooms: 416
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Crowne Plaza Hotel - Seattle offers a superb location in Downtown Seattle, close to everything great in the Pacific Northwest. A few blocks from the Crowne Plaza Hotel - Seattle, you can explore the historic Pike Place Market or the new Seattle Central Library; catch a Mariners game at Safeco Field or a Seahawks game at Qwest Field in Pioneer Square. Walk two blocks from the Crowne Plaza Hotel - Seattle to your meeting at the Washington Convention & Trade Center, then indulge yourself at hundreds of downtown stores, including Westlake Center and Pacific Place shopping malls. Explore the local waterways on an Argosy Cruise or on any of the major cruise lines. Click on the Packages tab for some great options to help you see it all!The Crowne Plaza Hotel - Seattle also puts you in the heart of the city s amazing arts scene, including the beautiful 5th Avenue and Paramount Theatres, Seattle Art Museum, and Benaroya Hall. The Space Needle stands just minutes away, casting its long shadow over Key Arena, the Pacific Science Center, the Experience Music Project and McCaw Hall, home of the Seattle Opera and the Pacific Northwest Ballet. Plus, the Crowne Plaza Hotel - Seattle is just four miles from the University of Washington with its Meany Hall and Husky Stadium. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Southall Travel, IHG, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Crowne Plaza Seattle Downtown Area reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Seattle Downtown Area Hotel Seattle
Seattle Crowne Plaza

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing