We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent service, location, and comfort”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Seattle Downtown Area
Ranked #37 of 102 Hotels in Seattle
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 August 2014

We spent two nights in a corner, top floor (34) club room with 2 double beds. The room had comfortable beds and pillows, mini fridge, large desk with ample plug-ins for our devices, coffee maker, big flat screen tv, 2 bathrobes, ironing board/iron, vanity mirror, rainshower head, a wide array of toiletry products, large plush towels, bottled water, and excellent air conditioning (truly needed on this trip). The large windows provided ample natural light with great views of the city. We had free wifi with our room that was fast and reliable. Being on the top corner floor, there was no noise to speak of. Others noted that the air conditioning was too loud. We did not find this as a problem and the fan could be adjusted to lo, medium, or high. The elevators were fast - almost too fast sometimes as our ears would pop on the way down. The club room was worth the extra value as a continental breakfast was included with access to a meal room on the 32nd floor. The variety of items was good including oatmeal porridge with plenty of toppings, cereals, toast, bagels, pancakes, cheese, cold meats, fresh fruit, salmon, fresh juices, coffee and tea (including 'to go' cups). Appetizers are also provided Thursday to Saturday evenings in this room which we did not have the luxury of trying. The lady in the breakfast room was courteous, helpful, and went beyond her duty ensuring all guests were comfortable. We ate dinner in the second floor restaurant and had exceptional service. While a little pricey, the meal was fantastic. We had the portabella mushroom, seafood plate, and pizza. The location is central which allowed us to walk throughout the downtown core with ease. It is close to all local attractions, pike market place, and downtown shopping malls. The staff were all courteous and helpful. We would highly recommend this hotel and certainly book with this hotel if we return.

Room Tip: Definitely would advise booking a club room (Floors 31-34) worth the extra money.
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Barb M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
crister, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Seattle Downtown Area, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2014

Dear Barb M,
Thank you so much for writing a detailed review about your experience at the hotel. We are thrilled you found the service excellent and that you would highly recommend our hotel. We hope to see you again the next time you are in Seattle.
Kind Regards,
Cristy Smith
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,485)
There are newer reviews for Crowne Plaza Seattle Downtown Area
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

620 - 626 of 1,485 reviews

Reviewed 20 August 2014

Rooms were comfy, clean and roomy. Service was great. Their inside travel person was very helpful with places to see as we were only there for two days before we took our Alaskan cruise. They shuttled us to the ship which help to make out trip so much easier.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Beverly D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
crister, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Seattle Downtown Area, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2014

Dear Beverly D,
Thank you for the great review. We are pleased you stayed with us before your Alaskan Cruise and you had two days to see some of Seattle’s favorite attractions. We hope you will stay with us again if your travels bring you back to Seattle.
Warm Regards,
Cristy Smith
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2014

I recently spent a week at this nicely updated hotel. The location is pretty good, with most major sights and plenty of shopping and dining in easy walking distance (uphill to return though!). My room was large, updated, clean and quiet, with a comfy bed, desk, small fridge, flat screen tv, alarm clock, ironing board/iron, and plenty of electrical outlets. The room had a large window that looked out on the city (other buildings nearby, so my floor - 23 - wasn't high enough to have a great view). Street noise was only noticeable if there were sirens. There's also free wifi for IHG members, which was reliable and fast enough.

My favorite feature: the doors don't slam shut! They are self closing so you don't have to worry about pulling on them closed, but they have some kind of stop that slows them down and closes them securely with a very civilized click. We've all been in other hotels where our fellow guests allow the doors to slam loudly at all hours. Doesn't happen here!

With that said, there are a few things that could be improved. 1> Lighting - it was hard to get enough light in the room. And while the lovely surround lighting on the bathroom mirror made me look much better than reality, it wasn't enough light to easily apply makeup. A lighted magnifying mirror was supplied, but its light was also too dim. 2> The air conditioning fan was too loud. When the air would click on I couldn't hear the TV. Once it cycled off, the TV was blasting. I did hear a few other TVs in the hall so that's probably why people had them so loud. 3> Finally, the hallways, even though it looks like they've been updated, feel a bit old. I'm not sure why, but when I first got off the elevator on my floor I thought "oh no", but once I was in my room it was "oh yes". :)

I didn't try the restaurant or gym, but the concierge, Terry, is wonderful. The rest of the staff was fine. Yes, sometimes the elevators were slow, but it was never a big issue.

Overall a very nice experience at a reasonable cost for Seattle.

Room Tip: Higher floors have better views.
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank flyiad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
crister, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Seattle Downtown Area, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2014

Dear flyiad,
Thank you for being an IHG Reward Member and for posting a review on Trip Advisor. We are pleased we met your expectations and you found the location convenient and the room large, updated, clean and quiet. We think Terry is wonderful also and she will be thrilled to read your review. Thank you again for your feedback and we hope to welcome you back to the Crowne Plaza Hotel in Seattle again soon.
Warm Regards,
Cristy Smith
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2014

Used the Crowne Plaza in Seattle as a base before and following an Alaskan cruise.
Taxi from airport approx 20 minute journey to downtown area.
Well positioned for all local attractions,Seattle downtown area is a steep climb back to the hotel,but return via Pike or Pine streets as these are easier to walk back from the waterfront area,which is roughly a 15/20 minute walk.
Hotel is high rise,and elevators are good.
Concierge in the hotel were friendly and excellent when seeking advice regarding sightseeing tips.
Breakfast was good value, and free bottled water, if required to take out, was available.
Very good rooms,tea, coffee making facilities also in room.
Ideal base, would definitely recommend.

Room Tip: Good views of Seattle from higher rooms.
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HomeVictory
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
crister, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Seattle Downtown Area, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2014

Dear HomeVictory,
Thank you for staying at the Crowne Plaza Hotel before and after your Alaskan cruise. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and found the concierge friendly and helpful. It is especially rewarding to know you would recommend our hotel. Thank you again for your comments. We appreciate your business and hope to see you again.
Sincerely,
Cristy Smith
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2014

We heard that they recently remodeled this hotel..it looks lovely. We shared a suite with my sister and her husband to get an affordable night at a super location. We achieved just that ... Ask for a room with a space needle view .. Then be sure to be in your room at sunset .. It was great from the 29 th floor. The suite was beautiful. The staff was very helpful. Would come again.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
Thank jtbldb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
crister, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Seattle Downtown Area, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2014

Dear jtbldb,
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are pleased you enjoyed our newly renovated hotel and the amazing view of the Space Needle from the room. It was great to read the staff was helpful and you would stay with us again if you came back to this area. Thanks again for your feedback and we hope to see you soon.
Regards,
Cristy Smith
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2014

This hotel is absolutely awesome! The location is exceptional, the service is great, the rooms are clean, comfortable, and quiet, the food service is second to none! But like all downtown Seattle hotels they get you on vehicle parking. While the W Hotel two blocks away charges $55/night to park a car this hotel only dings you $45/night.
If you are "carless" like we were this is a great hotel to strongly consider. 5 minute walk to Westlake Center, where you can get Light Rail to/from Sea-Tac Airport and the monorail to Seattle Center, or buses to pretty much every corner of metropolitan Seattle. 20 minute walk to King Street Station (Amtrak), 25 minutes to Century Link Field (Seahawks football & Sounders soccer), and 30 minutes to Safeco Field (Mariners baseball). If you are coming off the Victoria Clipper - 40 minutes walk with little in the way of hills.

Room Tip: 34 floors, obviously the higher the room the better the view. If possible add the buffet breakfast...
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Ryan K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
crister, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Seattle Downtown Area, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2014

Dear Ryan K,
Wow! Thank you for the wonderful 5 star review. It was great to read you found the hotel absolutely awesome. We appreciate your comments about the location being exceptional, the service great and the rooms clean, comfortable and quiet. We hope to welcome you back to our hotel again!
Kind Regards,
Cristy Smith
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2014

This was my third stay at The Crowne Plaza this year. It never disappoints! I was checked in by a very nice young man (whose name unfortunately escapes me), who recognized me as a returning IHG Rewards customer. I was upgraded to a corner room, club level. I loved my room--nicely appointed with a beautiful view of downtown. Service is the key here, from the housekeeping (room was spotless every day), to the bellman, to the food service personnel. I am always amazed how quiet the rooms are despite the fact this hotel is huge! I never rent a car, as I can walk or take public transportation pretty much anywhere I need to go. There are great employees working behind the scenes, particularly Ray and Kirk. Cristy, the GM, runs a great hotel. She gets it! I look forward to my next visit in December.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled solo
Thank GTMetro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
crister, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Seattle Downtown Area, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2014

Dear Geo T
Thank you very much for staying at the Crowne Plaza Hotel and for being a loyal guest. We are delighted that we are your hotel of choice when you travel to Seattle. Thank you so much for your kind words about the employees. The staff at the hotel are committed to providing excellent customer service and they will be delighted to receive your feedback. We look forward to welcoming you back in December.
Warm Regards,
Cristy Smith
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Seattle hotels
0.1 mi away
Kimpton Hotel Vintage Seattle
0.2 mi away
Sheraton Seattle Hotel
Sheraton Seattle Hotel
#32 of 102 in Seattle
4,409 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hilton Seattle
Hilton Seattle
#59 of 102 in Seattle
1,064 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Seattle
0.3 mi away
Grand Hyatt Seattle
Grand Hyatt Seattle
#7 of 102 in Seattle
3,123 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Fairmont Olympic Seattle
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Seattle Downtown Area? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Seattle Downtown Area

Address: 1113 6th Ave, Seattle, WA 98101-3002
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Washington > Seattle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Luxury Hotel in Seattle
#30 Business Hotel in Seattle
#33 Romantic Hotel in Seattle
#35 Family Hotel in Seattle
Price Range: £158 - £299 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Crowne Plaza Seattle Downtown Area 4*
Number of rooms: 416
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Crowne Plaza Hotel - Seattle offers a superb location in Downtown Seattle, close to everything great in the Pacific Northwest. A few blocks from the Crowne Plaza Hotel - Seattle, you can explore the historic Pike Place Market or the new Seattle Central Library; catch a Mariners game at Safeco Field or a Seahawks game at Qwest Field in Pioneer Square. Walk two blocks from the Crowne Plaza Hotel - Seattle to your meeting at the Washington Convention & Trade Center, then indulge yourself at hundreds of downtown stores, including Westlake Center and Pacific Place shopping malls. Explore the local waterways on an Argosy Cruise or on any of the major cruise lines. Click on the Packages tab for some great options to help you see it all!The Crowne Plaza Hotel - Seattle also puts you in the heart of the city s amazing arts scene, including the beautiful 5th Avenue and Paramount Theatres, Seattle Art Museum, and Benaroya Hall. The Space Needle stands just minutes away, casting its long shadow over Key Arena, the Pacific Science Center, the Experience Music Project and McCaw Hall, home of the Seattle Opera and the Pacific Northwest Ballet. Plus, the Crowne Plaza Hotel - Seattle is just four miles from the University of Washington with its Meany Hall and Husky Stadium. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Southall Travel, IHG, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Crowne Plaza Seattle Downtown Area reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Seattle Downtown Area Hotel Seattle
Seattle Crowne Plaza

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing