We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“feel the history”
Review of Inn at Queen Anne

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Inn at Queen Anne
Ranked #73 of 104 Hotels in Seattle
Reviewed 20 January 2012

The most attractive point is its history! Living in it, you can feel the history of past time. Honestly, it does not look like a hotel, it just looks like my own apartment, very familiar. There is a small kitchen in the room. The surroundings are also nice, many restaurants and a supermarket.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank pangzi_z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kdotto, Manager at Inn at Queen Anne, responded to this reviewResponded 13 March 2012

Thank you for your review! We're so glad you felt at home with us and enjoyed the historic charm of the Inn at Queen Anne, as well as the vibrant neighborhood. We hope to see you again next time you're in Seattle!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,086)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

880 - 886 of 1,086 reviews

Reviewed 10 January 2012

I loved the Inn at Queen Ann so much that I was very sad to leave my room in the morning and happy to come back at night. The rooms are very basic but very, very comfortable and very, very, very clean. I am very particular when it comes to cleanliness and the Queen Ann met and exceeded my standards. The rooms have a kitchenette that comes in handy, and there's a 24-hour nice supermarket one block away. The building is very old. It looks nice but it's by no means fancy. The location is very close to some of the most famous sights in Seattle, such as the Space Needle and Kerry Park. The neighborhood has a ton of good restaurants and (dive) bars that make for an authentic Seattle experience. It is, however, a bit far from downtown. Only ten minutes if you take the Monorail but half hour walking. A cab ride is about $6.

I will definitely stay here again next time I visit Seattle. I would also recommend the Queen Ann to anyone traveling on a budget who still enjoys a comfortable and clean room.

Room Tip: Request a view of the Space Needle.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank CloCloCloClo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2012

NB: If you are "sleep in after a long night out" kind of person, there is a large construction site right across the street from the hotel. And they start up at 7:30 AM on weekdays. We got up about that time every day, so no big deal for us but take note!

If you are the type of traveler that stays at three or four star hotels, skip this place. The bathroom fixtures are ancient, the shower heads low, the water pressure lower, and the heating & cooling is out of the 1950s (steam radiators and window AC units). If you must stay in the neighborhood, try the Mediterranean, which is a block away. It is no 3 star hotel but it is a step up in comfort.

If you are a veteran of hostels or public houses, the large rooms, kitchenette, and nice staff will make your stay at the Inn pleasant. (The wi-fi is free but clunky.) There are two large grocery stores nearby, so you can do a lot of cooking if you wish; otherwise, the area abounds in ethnic eateries and pubs.

This is an old, fairly rundown place in a funky neighborhood. You are right next door to a cheapo hamburger joint that attracts people looking for a $4 dinner (Dick's). While there, I've seen more than one person pay for lunch with quarters and dimes. If you don't want to rub elbows with the hoi polloi, then you are better off staying at the Roosevelt or Red Lion downtown and taking the monorail to Seattle Center/Key Arena, etc.

So, bottom line? We come to this neighborhood every year or two from the Midwest. We usually stay at the Mediterranean but I got a Priceline flight & hotel deal at the Inn. Would I stay here again? Maybe, depending on the price differential, etc. I'd sure consider it.

Room Tip: No elevator, so if you don't want to lug bags, ask for ground floor. Also, ask to be placed awa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank MadisonGrog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2012

very old and steam heat which made it very hot and hard to sleep. Not like pictured on the web

Room Tip: unless you want just a clean place to stay I would not recommend
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank terriped
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2011

Great neighborhood hotel in charming Queen Anne district. Many local restaurants around. Staff very friendly; high-end local bath products provided; free wi-fi in the rooms is very reliable; 24 hour grocery store around the corner and in-room kitchens made up for no breakfast in the hotel. Cons: 10 minutes walk from the monorail to downtown; shower head is too low for average height adults; bathroom facilities need renovation; street noise.

Room Tip: Book online through their website
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mparadies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 December 2011

I'm usually a pretty postive reviewer but sorry can't do it on this one.

My buddy's bed had hair it in, lots of hair, shower did not work at all... and there were men's shaving rements all over the bathroom. Basically it I think it must have used to have been a building full of bachelor suites made in the 70's.. they slapped a bit paint on it and tried to pass it off as a hotel.

I was going to complain but when I got to the front desk in the morning there was a huge line of people all complaining.

The courtyard is very quaint and the location is good but you can definitely stay at a nicer hotel in Seattle for around the same price.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank tkarmy31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 December 2011

A heritage hotel was a nice clean hotel. The rooms had a little kitchen which came in very handy. Staff were very friendly and helpful. Close by everything. Spec needle is walking distance 15mins approx. Downtown is just a short monorail ride after a 10-13min walk.

  • Stayed: November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lusana L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Seattle hotels
Magnolia / Queen Anne
Mediterranean Inn
Mediterranean Inn
#30 of 104 in Seattle
1,583 reviews
MarQueen Hotel
#53 of 104 in Seattle
1,236 reviews
Northgate
Comfort Inn & Suites Seattle
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Belltown
The Loyal Inn
The Loyal Inn
#61 of 104 in Seattle
809 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn at Queen Anne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn at Queen Anne

Address: 505 1st Ave N, Seattle, WA 98109-4523
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Washington > Seattle
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
#8 Best Value Hotel in Seattle
Price Range: £55 - £224 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Inn at Queen Anne 2*
Number of rooms: 67
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This quaint, historic hotel is in the center of the vibrant Queen Anne neighborhood, near downtown Seattle. Located directly across from the Key Arena and within walking distance to the Space Needle, Pacific Science Center, Olympic Sculpture Park, monorail and close to both cruise ship terminals. Our small Seattle hotel features fully equipped kitchenettes in every room, free WiFi, a beautiful garden courtyard, and friendly personalized service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Inn at Queen Anne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn At Queen Anne Hotel Seattle
Hotel At Queen Anne
At Queen Anne Seattle

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing