We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simple with a sweet location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Inn at Virginia Mason
Ranked #76 of 104 Hotels in Seattle
Reviewed 22 August 2011

This is not some tricked out fancy hotel with a thousand pillows on the bed and a spa tub.

It is however a comfortable, simple, even plain hotel with a charming small restaurant on the first floor. The rooms are average size. There is a TV. There is no air conditioning, but I got a fan and managed to keep the room very comfortable. This is probably the only real drawback in the summer. There was plenty of room in bathroom, but it lacked counter space. But, the dressing area next to it had a shelf. My room had an OK view out toward the sound. I loved waking up to the sound of seagulls.

The location is terrific. It is just a couple of blocks to the heart of downtown Seattle. I could easily walk to everything. There are 3-4 restaurants/bakeries in the adjacent block. I found FREE parking every night during my stay. The hotel has FREE Internet.

Room Tip: Try for an upper floor with rooms that face out.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Todd2PS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (245)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

202 - 208 of 245 reviews

Reviewed 20 August 2011

We stayed here for 2 nights. When we arrived, there were hairs on the bathroom floor, which we complained about; they were cleaned up. There were also toenail clippings by the night table on one side of the bed; they might have been hard to reach with a vacuum since they were close to the night table, but should have been taken care of. The first morning, the maid walked in without knocking at 7:45 am. She then closed the door and left without even apologizing. We complained to the front desk, and they were responsive, but said that the maids have been specifically told not to do that, so they were frustrated with the maid. When I complained, I noticed a list of other complaints already made that day--and it was only 8:30 am. We also received a wake up call, which we had not requested. (I noticed on the list that someone else, who HAD requested one, had NOT received it.) While the location of this hotel is very convenient, I would not recommend it based on the above. Also, if you have difficulty walking up hills, this is not the place for you, since it stands at the top of a very steep hill (and you do not need to go up this hill to see Seattle attractions).

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rebecca G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2011

Friendly staff. COMFY bed and wonderful food. No fitness center but the location of the hotel was perfect for walking!

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MAGGIEMOR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2011

Parking is at the bottom of a hill that you need to be a mountain goat to climb, No Iron boards, no hair dryers Next to a hospital so you hear the beep beep beep of ambulances backing up all night, No AC and it is way to loud to open windows, Televisions are 20+ years Old

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SBLB_AZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2011

The inn is older, but well looked after. Great if you had business at the hospital next door.
Walking distance to downtown and the Quest Field.
The fold away bed in the suite was uncomfortable , my daughter ended up sleeping on the floor!!.
If you do stay here, I would recommend eating at the hospital canteen,than the hotels. A lot cheaper, better and quicker.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gillybee2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2011

A nice hotel located within less then 10 minutes walking distance from the downtown area. The building has a nice vintage scent. The service was made daily. Free wireless. Nice restaurant. t's a great value for tourists who need a sleeping space.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Damaalvimi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2011

Wonderful gem of a place. Great value and location for going to the Conference Center (I suggest walking via beautiful Freeway Park). Room was spacious, staff was friendly, internet was dependable, and the food was fantastic. The Rhododendron restaurant in the lobby is open weekdays and has good quality at reasonable prices (as well as fun and friendly staff). The inn is attached to Virginia Mason Hospital, so the room service calls down to the hospital kitchen, but the food was actually great and incredibly cheap (milkshakes and personal pan pizza to your room at 10pm for 8 bucks? Sure!) I started ordering room service because it was cheaper than everywhere except McD's and a better value.

Only downside was that it was an old building, and the bathrooms reflected that in the fixtures. Still, for the price, and access to that room service? Excellent value and highly recommended.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank WanderingNeverLost
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Seattle hotels
Baroness Hotel
#77 of 104 in Seattle
106 reviews
Executive Hotel Pacific
#63 of 104 in Seattle
351 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Belltown
The Loyal Inn
The Loyal Inn
#60 of 104 in Seattle
808 reviews
Belltown
Belltown Inn
Belltown Inn
#46 of 104 in Seattle
1,081 reviews
Northgate
Comfort Inn & Suites Seattle
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn at Virginia Mason? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn at Virginia Mason

Address: 1006 Spring St, Seattle, WA 98104-1216
Region: United States > Washington > Seattle
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #76 of 104 Hotels in Seattle
Price Range: £94 - £167 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Inn at Virginia Mason 2.5*
Number of rooms: 79
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Historic Inn at Virginia Mason welcomes you with style and warm hospitality. Nestled in the quiet residential neighborhood of First Hill, not only is the Inn at Virginia Mason convenient to First Hill medical facilities it is just a short walk from downtown Seattle shopping, the financial district and the Convention Center. Tastefully designed and reasonably priced rooms await your arrival. Select Suites feature wood burning fireplaces, whirlpool baths and city views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Inn at Virginia Mason reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn At Virginia Mason Hotel Seattle
Hotel At Virginia Mason
Virginia Mason Inn
At Virginia Mason Seattle

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing