We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location,a little peculiar, functional and clean.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Inn at Virginia Mason
Ranked #77 of 105 Hotels in Seattle
Reviewed 6 May 2014

This was primarily a business trip for me at Virginia Mason Hospital. So staying close to the hospital cannot be any more possible than this example I think! I agree with the other reviews about the building/rooms being old. It is well maintained both functionally and cleanliness wise. Sure you’ll find some peculiar cosmetic items: chipped tile, different era furniture, but it’s all clean and functional.
I found my room to be spacious with a comfortable queen size bed, flatscreen, coffee maker& hairdryer. The thermo stat was responsive, the wifi connected easily and worked as expected, and the bathroom was fine.
The location of this hotel was great for reaching downtown attractions and Capitol Hill by foot. For example, I strolled to the Space Needle in approximately 30 min. I then strolled to Pikes Place and then back up to the hotel.
Parking is probably the biggest drag; I parked at the bottom of the hill (9th & Spring) and just left the car there until I left.
I would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: The vending machine had organic choices or at least items made with all pronounible ingredients.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank funtobeme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carol G, General Manager at Inn at Virginia Mason, responded to this reviewResponded 8 May 2014

Hi Traveler, So nice to hear your comments about your recent stay! We've been able to make a few upgrades this past year and it sounds like it helped make your stay more enjoyable. We hope to welcome you again in the near future. The Seattle Mariners and Sounders FC are in full swing, the farmers markets are up and running, boating season has begun. . .always plenty to see and do in Seattle. Safe travels!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (249)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

150 - 156 of 249 reviews

Reviewed 27 March 2014

We've stayed here twice in the last year and been very happy with it both times. The location is outstanding, especially if you want to get to downtown or Pike/Pine street restaurants by walking or the Capitol Hill area by bus. Super easy. When we were with family who aren't the walkers we are, we also had an easy time getting around with cabs.

The cafe downstairs has good food at really reasonable prices and it open quite early (great if your body is on eastern time). You can get a nice hot breakfast or just something simple like yogurt and toast. On the weekends when the cafe is closed it's just a block to a friendly breakfast cafe.

You're just down the street from The Sorrento Hotel where you can luxuriate with live music and a cocktail in the evenings.

Rooms are clean but not fancy. The bed is comfortable and our rooms have always been quiet and restful. We'll definitely be coming back.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank ANB315
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carol G, General Manager at Inn at Virginia Mason, responded to this reviewResponded 8 May 2014

Thank you for your comments! Clean, not fancy, quiet and restful. . .what a great way to describe your stay. We're glad you enjoy our First Hill neighborhood here in Seattle and we look forward to welcoming you on a future visit to Seattle. Until then, safe travels!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2014

Our 2 night stay at The Inn met or exceeded our every expectation. I would give the hotel 4 and 1/2 stars if I could, with deductions only for a couple of minor cosmetic defects in the bathroom.The hotel is old fashioned, not the Ritz, not glitzy but homey. It is attached directly to Virginia Mason hospital so a patient can walk directly into the Inn without going outside at all. The building was originally a fairly elegant apartment building on First Hill . The reception was efficient, located next to the small cafe downstairs. The room was fine. Nice queen sized bed. Somewhat slow internet connection, but adequate. We had absolutely superb room service meals at an incredibly low price. Everything fresh and tastefully delivered 1/2 hour after ordering. Rooms are a terrific value with a discount for hospital patients when book directly through the web site. A great place to stay if one has a hospital or clinic appointment in the many facilities in or around the Virginia Mason complex. Congratulations to the management and staff. Added bonus of a roof top terrace on the 9th floor.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bassman46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carol G, General Manager at Inn at Virginia Mason, responded to this reviewResponded 3 March 2014

Good Morning Port Townsend, Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. We are happy to hear you enjoyed your visit. Nice, comfortable, historic and terrific value are exactly what we are striving for! Please consider us your home away from home on your next visit to Seattle. Safe travels, Carol

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2014

Was faced with another emergency for my wife and not knowing the area had no choice but to stay at the Inn. Although the establishment was cleaner, still found debris on the window sill that should have been removed. Thermostat was totally inoperative, as a result room was much to warm for comfortable sleeping. Tub would was impossible for my wife to utilize, old fashioned high sided, to high to step over. Hotel added a $50 charge to credit card bill in case of "damage". We are both in our late seventies, and couldn't have done much more damage than was already there. Wife was admitted to hospital and I had time to find another for my second night there.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ChehalisMasterChief
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carol G, General Manager at Inn at Virginia Mason, responded to this reviewResponded 3 March 2014

Hello again - We appreciate your comments and work hard to provide a comfortable setting for all guests. I'm sorry the room was too warm and the tub too high. . .these are both issues of a 1920's building. We haven't made any structural changes to the building and don't have plans to in the near future. It sounds like you found a better hotel more suited to your travel preferences. Best of luck in your future travels.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 December 2013

We were arriving in Seattle and wanted to spend the first night downtown within walking distance of our favorite restaurant. This turned out to be an excellent choice made with the help of reviews in Trip Advisor. The hotel was within easy walking distance to Pike Place - easy because it was all downhill. And yes, there are hills in Seattle. We returned by a different route that seemed less steep. The hotel was fine - clean and well appointed with comfortable beds. There was an interesting roof garden that provided a view of downtown. The dining facilities were closed the next morning, but it was an easy walk to an excellent Starbucks for both coffee and breakfast sandwiches. There was a companion hotel across the street that was not mentioned in the reviews. Recommended for comfort and location.

Room Tip: Try the rooftop for coffee when weather permits.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TravelGuySTL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carol G, General Manager at Inn at Virginia Mason, responded to this reviewResponded 22 January 2014

Hi Travelers - Thank you for your comments. It's nice to hear that you enjoyed our hilly location! First Hill is a great neighborhood, on the fringe of the bustling shopping and dining areas of downtown Seattle but quiet enough to feel like you're just off the beaten path. Please come back and visit us again soon. . .go Seahawks!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 November 2013

The hotel is located close to the medical center on a quiet street. The hotel building is old, and the rooms are old style hotel, but the rooms have been outfitted with a good bed. The room and bathroom were clean. As mentioned by other reviewers, the walls are not well insulated, so it may be the luck of the draw on peace and quiet from your neighbors. However, if you are looking for an inexpensive place that provides just a place to sleep, this would be a candidate.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SeaCatSailor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carol G, General Manager at Inn at Virginia Mason, responded to this reviewResponded 22 January 2014

Thank you so much for your comments. Old style lodging experience is what we offer and we're glad you enjoyed our price, location and historic charm. Please come back and visit often. . .go Seahawks!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2013

needed a room close to the hospital and this fit the bill. price was fair. elevator has that old time feel (very small) but the entire building is unique in this way. staff very helpful and roomservice worked out just right with fair prices

Room Tip: old motel charm right in downtown with café in lobby
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank flaminswede
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carol G, General Manager at Inn at Virginia Mason, responded to this reviewResponded 16 October 2013

Thank you for your review. Old time charm, old-style building. . .that's our Inn! We're happy you enjoyed our stay. Please consider us your home away from home any time you need to be in the area. Safe travels!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Seattle hotels
Baroness Hotel
#78 of 105 in Seattle
107 reviews
Downtown
Panama Hotel
Panama Hotel
#87 of 105 in Seattle
192 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Executive Hotel Pacific
#63 of 105 in Seattle
374 reviews
Mayflower Park Hotel
#16 of 105 in Seattle
2,354 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn at Virginia Mason? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn at Virginia Mason

Address: 1006 Spring St, Seattle, WA 98104-1216
Region: United States > Washington > Seattle
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #77 of 105 Hotels in Seattle
Price Range: £107 - £174 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Inn at Virginia Mason 2.5*
Number of rooms: 79
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Historic Inn at Virginia Mason welcomes you with style and warm hospitality. Nestled in the quiet residential neighborhood of First Hill, not only is the Inn at Virginia Mason convenient to First Hill medical facilities it is just a short walk from downtown Seattle shopping, the financial district and the Convention Center. Tastefully designed and reasonably priced rooms await your arrival. Select Suites feature wood burning fireplaces, whirlpool baths and city views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Inn at Virginia Mason reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn At Virginia Mason Hotel Seattle
Hotel At Virginia Mason
Virginia Mason Inn
At Virginia Mason Seattle

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing