We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming”
Review of MarQueen Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
MarQueen Hotel
Ranked #53 of 101 Hotels in Seattle
Certificate of Excellence
Springfield, Oregon
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Charming”
Reviewed 6 July 2011

I picked this hotel based on other tripadvisor reviews. It was a wonderful old hotel with lots of character. No surprises, as I knew it was an older hotel. That being said, do not get room #219. It has an awful smell to it, management believes it's from the coffee shop directly below. Could be, but doesn't change the fact that every time you walk into your room it turns your nose. This is a king suite room and beautiful but really never got past the smell. They had upgraded our room for us before arrival. They tried to find another room but all they had was another room above ours which still had the smell or a much smaller double queen. The staff was wonderful, helpful with restaurants and local attractions.

Room Tip: Request a room anywhere but above the coffee shop!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HINDSFEETHIGHPLACES
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,200 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    484
    407
    167
    74
    68
See reviews for
304
431
79
159
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (187)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Oregon
1 review
Reviewed 27 June 2011

It has been a while since I have stayed and I forgot how much i like the location and how wonderful the rooms are. They are so comfy i could stay longer..

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PNCorkdork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Worth, Texas
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 13 June 2011

Big rooms, convienant location to food and nightlife, very friendly and helpful staff. Hotel was very unique.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jbgools
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pooler, Georgia
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2011

Thanks to tripadvisor we found this hotel. It was a Great location...Walking distance to the Seattle Center! (10 minutes) This is where the Space Needle is, I recommend eating dinner here!! Delicious. There are other eateries around every corner. Also Seattle has a great public transportation system. The buses are like clock work. We stayed 2 nights here. The MarQueen at one time was an apartment complex. So your hotel room looks like a small apartment with a kitchen. :) We were only there 2 nights so didn't use it much, but good to have. They also offer a car service which we utilized to take us to the pier 91 and to the airport. Ask about it! It was well worth it. If and when we ever make it back to seattle we will definetely stay at the MarQueen again! Oh, and we faced the busy mexican restaurant we couldnt hear it. So the windows are sound proof. And as far as that bat goes... too crowded!!

Room Tip: If you dont like stairs ask for the 1st floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Brooker430
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2011

I've stayed here twice, both times the staff were fantastic. Were on a budget, so we loved the full kitchen. We used it for breakfast in the mornings, and the occasional snack. My family walked to the attractions, and the restaurants across the street were great. ( surprisingly kid friendly too!) This is an OLD hotel, but beautiful and full of charm. The Wifi reception wasn't great, but it's free. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank anebela
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kelowna BC
Level 5 Contributor
86 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2011

The Marqueen Hotel in the North Queen area of Seattle is a true gem. It is an old building originally built by the Ford Motor Co when they had a Model-T plant in Seattle. It has been tastefully refurbished but retains the character of its past. The staff really understand the meaning of the word 'service' and made us feel as if we were old friends returning for a visit even though it was our first time there.

The room was large with a very comfortable king size bed and two comfortable chairs. It has a separate kitchen, fully equipped, which was very helpful as we wanted to watch the Canucks in the Stanley Cup playoffs on two of the nights we were there. Round the corner is the Metropolitan Market, an up-market supermarket that provided a great selection of hot and cold food for the two suppers we ate in. There are several restaurants within walking distance and they looked fine; we just didn't have the chance to try them.

The hotel is right by Seattle Centre with the Space Needle and the monorail to give easy access to downtown Seattle, Pike Place Market, Pioneer Square and the waterfront. A cab ride is about $8 with tip and there are several buses right to the city centre. Best of all, it is an easy walk into Seattle along 1st Ave. We discovered this coming back one afternoon and found several neat pubs and bars having Happy Hour: a 30 minute walk took us 3 hours!

If you want a change from the sterile chain hotels, do try the Marqueen; it's a step back in time to an era when style and class mattered!

Room Tip: Got a good rate through Expedia
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DavidMJKelownaBC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manaus, AM
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2011

We chose this hotel for our Seattle stay because of trip advisor and it's reviews. YOU WERE ALL SO RIGHT!!!!!! We loved it. The decor was so charming with a little dinette and small sitting area as part of the room. I was so enchanted that I bought a $5 bouquet of tulips to put on a table in the sitting area. Staff was super helpful with attraction directions and public transportation. We were on the third floor and did not mind the lack of an elevator. We overindulged in the fantastic Seattle Cuisine and stair climbing was a good way to exercise off some of the calories. Overall great place to stay on a visit to Seattle!!

Room Tip: Request first floor or climb stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rymarjon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Seattle hotels
Inn at Queen Anne
#74 of 101 in Seattle
1,062 reviews
Magnolia / Queen Anne
Mediterranean Inn
Mediterranean Inn
#32 of 101 in Seattle
1,497 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Magnolia / Queen Anne
The Maxwell Hotel - A Staypineapple Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to MarQueen Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about MarQueen Hotel

Property: MarQueen Hotel
Address: 600 Queen Anne Ave N, Seattle, WA 98109-4012
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Washington > Seattle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #53 of 101 Hotels in Seattle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — MarQueen Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 59
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located on Queen Anne's main street, and just a short distance to downtown Seattle, the MarQueen Hotel is in the center of a vibrant neighborhood close to local tourist attractions. Enjoy some of Seattle's most popular restaurants, nightlife, boutique shops, Pacific Northwest Ballet, Seattle Opera, and Space Needle, right outside our doors. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Southall Travel, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your MarQueen Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing